We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we thought!!”
Review of Fire Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fire Station Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Adelaide B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2010

after hearing so much about this place we thought we would give it a try. stayed in the Loggia Suite ?. very small cramped room with so much furnature in it. . set up for romance so we were told so no "utilitarian" kitchen is provided. possibly no where to put it. the "concept" is for dining out or having a meal served in your room by room service without lifting a finger ?. not too sure how they would get in as we were instructed to obviously leave & enter , we were on foot , via the rear carpark remote controll door. this meant carrying a cigaret packet sized remote around in my pocket all night. how rustic and romantic. did it for me. how hard would it be to supply a key for the front door ?(imagine paying $200 plus for a room at the Hyat and being told to use the stairs and back entrance car park).

Entering this way would be more ROMANTIC when returning from a wonderfull meal than negotiating up the back alley wondering when and if someone was waiting in one of the dark alley ways ajoining it. Then waiting outside next to the garbage bins whilst the remote door slowly opens to allow you in. Damb Romantic feeling. something everybody should experiance.
Spa was ok. nothing to rave about. old. bed was very soft. too soft for our liking but others may enjoy it. Tiles/Grout in the spa area could do with the cleaners getting down and doing some scrubbing. my partner is a professional cleaner for some very wealthy clientel and was slightly taken back by their condition. minor problem but if you are going to rave about the house keeping !!.
Quiet location until the Jumbos start taking off and landing. early wake up. aircon could do with some attention. rattles as does the fridge.

instructions were ok. i needed to make 2 calls to verify things not mentioned on the paperwork supplied. no offence but we will spend our next $200.00 plus p/n elsewhere in adelaide. im sure we can find a spa room with room service and a key to the front door. surely that cannot be too hard to supply. do the other occupants also exit and enter via this way. A possible upgrade on the remote if this is too hard then. my remotes i have for my car and garage are both 1/8 the size of this one put together. you can only take the old rustic feel so far guys. try carrying it around all night in your pocket just to get that romantic feeling yourself. im sure you can improve here. Cheers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank driller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

Recently, after a function in Adelaide, we decided to make a night of it. We chose the Fire Station Inn, due to its novelty and sheer Classiness. We stayed in the luxurious Residency Penthouse apartment in one of the 2 bedrooms which are large, light and beautifully equipped with a smattering of gorgeous Australian antiques.
The comfortable king size bed meant we had an excellent sleep.

In the morning we awoke to find light streaming in from the French doors and windows exposing a pristine L shaped family room environment.
We were so impressed by the fastidiousness of our hosts Rodney and Regina Twiss, that it was not long before we returned to the North Adelaide Heritage Group to try out another of their unique accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiColton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Please take no notice of the last review!
We stayed here for just one night in August 2008 - as part of a 5 week round the world tour - and it was far and away the best hotel we stayed in in that time!
We steayed with our two children and we were all completely in awe.
It is the ground floor of the old Fire Station - and in the room is a 1940's fire engine - it really is stunning
There is a kitchen corner with fridge, coffee making facilities, milk shake maker etc etc. The bathroom is stunning - a huge spa bath and everything immacultely clean with big fluffy towels and really nice toiletries provided.
There are lots of take away menus provided in the room and they all deliver. We tried the thai which was very good.
In the room there is a niform and lots of hats and fire engine related toys and nik naks - it realy is such good fun! Rather than describe it - best to look at our photos!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank eek-i-saw-a-mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We were booked to stay at the Fire Station Inn for 4 nights. On arrival we could not beleave how dirty the property was. I phoned our travel agent and said that we were not happy spenting NZ$1,500 per night on this very dirty accommodation. Some of the sheets had not even been changed from the previous quests. The towels were so dirty that you would prefer not to use them!! It didn't take alot of photos sent back to our Travel Agent to prove that this property was, indeed, a complete scam. We moved straight to a 5 star hotel in central Adalaide for well under NZ$900 (which included a beautiful buffet breakfast). This property is a complete rip-off.

Stayed: April 2007
10  Thank 2X4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaideheritage, Manager at Fire Station Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2008

This guest was booked on Easter Sunday by a Queensland Travel agent for 4 nights with 2 adults and 6 children.
The guests arrived many hours before check in time of 2pm.
They were personally greeted by the host and escorted to their Penthouse apartment where our housekeepers were finishing off from the previous guests departure. Generally guests are not permitted to enter before the housekeepers are entirely finished.
But the sight of 6 children softened the host’s heart and so he welcomed them in immediately as he believed that they had just come in from a long flight.

After welcoming and thoroughly briefing the guests about the facilities and also the cafes and restaurants in the area, he also took the family to show them our famous Fire Engine suite, as he thought the children would like to see the Fire Engine.

The host then waited until they departed from the apartment just in case they may have further questions or enquires or perhaps further assistance.

They were last seen walking towards the restaurants of O’Connell Street.

Well over 24 hours later our office was informed by, surprisingly a New Zealand travel agent, that the guests had departed on Easter Monday morning as they were not happy.
At no time during their stay had the guests telephoned our office to report any items or to ask for further assistance.

The comment “Surprisingly a New Zealand agent” refers to the fact that the booking was placed to our company through a Queensland (Australian) agent. Management believes that our tariff which was given to the Queensland agent was further marked up and then resold at a higher rate to the New Zealand agent without our knowledge or authority. We only learnt that a New Zealand agent was involved after the guest had left when we received a telephone call from the New Zealand agent.

Later that day, on close inspection nothing could be found amiss by management. The Head housekeeper had nothing out of the ordinary to report from her service earlier that day and had presumed by the lack of luggage that the guests had gone to Kangaroo Island for the day (many overseas guests do this day trip to Kangaroo Island in this manner)

It remains a mystery to this day as to what transpired on that fateful Easter Sunday. As the Fire Station Inn has had thousands of beautiful accolades from guests all over the globe, recorded in our guest books which are left in the master bedrooms of our apartments for guest comments.

Regardless Management decided to conduct a through review of ‘best practice’ and also to investigate and enhance the quality control methodology.

Therefore the action taken by management immediately afterwards was to

1. Employ a different housekeeping contractor to recheck the apartment to the minutest detail.

2. Remit half the money back to the Queensland agent to show good faith, even though this contradicted our stated and published trading terms.

3. Review the existing cleaning contract which was awarded to a best practice housekeeping team

Management highly regards the reputation of our company which has been earned over the past 20 years with over 60,000 satisfied guests.

Lastly it must be said that the guests were given a Welcome note on arrival which states, “Our Housekeepers take great pleasure in preparing for your stay, if however you require anything at all no matter how minor or trivial, please do not hesitate to ring our office. (This is a free call for our guests 24hours a day). We pride our selves on our service to our clients and we would like you to have a pleasant stay so we ask you to please contact us if anything is required or needs attention”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Esthubea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 55 in Adelaide
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buxton Manor
Buxton Manor
#6 of 15 in Adelaide
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Franklin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Station Inn

Address: 80 Tynte St | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Adelaide
Price Range: $174 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fire Station Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fabulous Fire Station Inn, located in the heart of Cosmopolitan North Adelaide with its huge selection of open air Cafes, Restaurants and Hotels is a luxurious boutique style accommodation of three non-smoking suites featuring the World Famous Fire Engine Suite, the luxurious Loggia Suite and the 5 star Residency Penthouse Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fire Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing