We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, walk to most places.”
Review of Quest On Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest On Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was very very spacious.
It had a small table with 4 chairs and 2x2 seaters.
Fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, oven, stove top, microwave also tea, coffee and sugar replenished daily.
There is a washing machine and dryer and also a guest laundry located on the ground floor
The bed was two single beds pushed together, but I wouldn’t have known that if I did go digging to have a look; I was quite surprised as the bed was very comfortable, we both gave the bed 9/10.
The room overlooked a pub next door, but we didn’t hear any noise coming from it unless we were outside on the balcony.

You can purchase a breakfast pack for $10, which includes cereal, milk, orange juice and an energy bar from reception.
Coles is over in Grote Street; to get there, from the front of the Quest go directly across the road, then turn right into Pitt Street or Trades Hall Lane, its only about a 3 minute walk.
Internet access was available: 1 day $13.95 (400mb), 3 days $41.85 (1.2gb), 7 days $70.00 (3.0gb) 31 days $280.00 (12.0gb) I didn’t use it due to the expense so I can’t comment on the speed.

Parking is at the car park next door. Instructions are: hold your pass flat against the yellow ticket button, do NOT press the button or take a ticket as you will be charged. After holding your card against the machine for approx. 5 – 10 the boom gate/roller door will open. Park only on 3rd floor, if full then proceed to 4th floor, do not park in the reserved bays.
Take the elevator down to ground, go outside turn left and take the next entrance that takes you into the hotel.
Check with reception if you are not sure what to do as you could be charged $25 by the car park and you will not be refunded by the hotel.

We really like the apartment, the down side was the really strong smell in the room. It had a chemical smell which we assumed was caused by the fact that the place has only recently opened.
Would stay again, hoping the smell had gone.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand how the car park works or get hit with a non refundable fee.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernsie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Quest On Franklin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 601 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Brand new Quest apartments in heart of Adelaide. Nearly 20 levels with good views of Adelaide foot hills on Franklin Street side of building. Within walking distance of Rundle Mall, and a bit further if you want to venture to the Torrens River, the Adelaide Cricket Ground and the Museum. Only a short walk to the tram to Glenelg Beach and the Adelaide Bus Station. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Great for self catering, there's a Woolworths store about 10-15 minutes walk away. Rooms are spacious (depends on what room you have though - usually Quest have studio rooms and 1 and 2 bedroom apartments). We had a 1 bedroom apartment. Cupboards are well stocked with pots and pans and crockery and cutlery. There's a full size fridge, microwave, stove top, oven and dishwasher. There is floor to ceiling glass windows (not great if you suffer from vertigo) and a smallish balcony. Corridors from lift to room were a bit stuffy, but room itself had air conditioning - very welcome in hot weather. The apartments would be great for extended stays.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room on Franklin Street to get good views of Adelaide
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A new hotel started in April 2013. So everything seems new.

My husband and I stay in a studio room with balcony for a week. A wonderful view from balcony. The room size is not really spacious but comfortable for only 2 people. In the studio room, you'll get all the same facilities except washing machine and dryer but we can still use the ground floor common machines and dryer. Make sure everything is all done before 11pm OR they will lock the laundry room. Then you might need to wash or even collect your clothes the next day.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. They always greet you with smiles. Whenever you encounter any problem, just go to them. They will try to solve the problem for you. Appreciate their help.

The Location is really convenient to explore Adelaide. Just opposite the hotel, there is a bus station. The Kangaroo Island trip depart from this bus station. The Cycling SA that offer free bicycle to explore the city area is located just next to the bus station. The China town, Coles(Supermarket), Central Market, Rundell Mall are all within walking distance. If you don't like cycling, then you may walk around.

Our room package included breakfast, we tried both the public cafe and Primo Cafe. Their breakfast are delicious but a bit boring to eat the same cooked breakfast + hot drinks every morning. Perhaps, they should offer other food for the guest who stay longer instead of eggs, bacon, bread.

The WIFI is not free of charge. If you purchase a week plan, you'll pay AUS 70 to get 3G internet. 3 days plan and a day plan cost higher. If possible, try to book "The Room Advantage Package" earlier. Then breakfast and WIFI are all free of charge.

The only down side for me about this hotel is the house keeping. They always didn't top up the toiletries in my room even if the bottle is already empty. The hair on the floor also just left onto the floor without cleaning. It happened once when we return to the room. There are lots of shoes print everywhere in the bathroom and kitchen area. I'm not sure are the cleaning or dirtying the room. Other than this, everything seems wonderful. Will still return to this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer view to the city.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HweeYinLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

These apartments are part of the Quest group and this particular apartment block looked and felt new. Designed initially for the business traveller, Quest Serviced Apartments are just as appropriate for the leisure visitor as well. The one bedroom apartment we stayed in was quite spacious and had all the facilities you would want. The well thought out kitchen area had a cooker, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster. There was a dining table and 4 chairs and a comfortable seating area with TV and music player. The bedroom was not overly large but quite adequate and it felt bigger than it was because of the floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom was impressive with a walk in shower (no bath) and clothes washing/drying machines. There was also a balcony with small table and two chairs and a great view of the city with the airport and ocean in the distance. The apartments are serviced each day (except Sunday). The staff are as friendly and helpful as it's possible to be and they are prepared to go the extra mile for you. The location is handy for Victoria Square, where you can take the excellent tram all the way out to Glenelg and the beach - well worth a visit. If you are travelling between certain stops within the city the tram is free. Chinatown and its restaurants are nearby and the choice is extensive. The famous market (essentially food) is on the next block and is worth a visit even if you are not buying.

This is a good place to stay if business or pleasure takes you to Adelaide - would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend you give it try.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Apart from being overpriced , the balcony faced west which you couldn't use inthe arfternoon , just too hot , lifts extremely slow ( for new lifts ) one crabby person on the desk ,dryer and washing machine hard to , no pool . And no on sight parking , wouldn't stay there again .

Room Tip: Don't get a balcony on the western side in the extreme heat ,
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nerida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We hired a two-bedder and loved it! The kitchen and laundry facilities were spotless and the rooms were spacious and stylish. The central markets and Chinatown are literally a five minute walk away and there is plenty of street parking around the building (although we chose to go with the $18 per night parking deal Quest has going with the Carpark next door). The staff were friendly and helpful and the small on-site gym was accessible on demand. Only downside was that our apartment was a lower level one that faced the street so we had a little more noise possibly than higher levels, but we'd stay here again in a shot, and will be recommending it to friends and family. One of the best accommodation options in Adelaide's CBD.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Indie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great amenities, customer service and clean spacious rooms. Only down side was the work on the building at 6:30am. Waking up to constant drilling bright and early is NOT cool. Quite inconsiderate to the guests. Maybe start at 9am? Instead of of 6:30- 9am!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestbob1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest On Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest On Franklin

Address: 74 Franklin St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: $128 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest On Franklin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This outstanding property is finished to the highest of standards and offers the latest in luxury apartment living. Centrally located, Quest on Franklin is walking distance to Adelaide’s key attractions like the Central Markets, Victoria Square, Rundle Mall and the Adelaide Convention Centre. You’ll be spoilt for choice with Adelaide’s largest selection of restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest On Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing