We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little cafe”
Review of Troppo

Troppo
Ranked #2 of 82 Coffee & Tea in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

So glad we took the recommendations of other reviewers and bypassed the markets to this funky little cafe. The atmosphere is great. Beautiful brekky, excellent coffee and very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank KMils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Cafe With Character”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had breakfast here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Quirky and comfortable atmosphere - I didn't want to leave! Menu is exciting and always changing. I had waffles with cinnamon, cream & apples and my partner had chilli eggs and bacon. My waffles were tasty and fluffy, and I kept having bites of my boyfriend's eggs because they were so full of flavour. My mocha was done just the way I like it and it looked pretty too. I love the saucers and mugs they use - so colourful and unique, just like the tables. Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kait85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome coffee”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Have eaten here numerous times and the varied menu due to seasonal, local and fresh produce keeps it interesting.
The coffee is made by baristas who know how to love the bean and texture the milk professionally.
Always a favourite of mine for a quick take away coffee and end up with a delicious little something that was too tempting to leave.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Cosy find in centre of Adelaide”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Had a spontaneous girls lunch at work and wandered across Whitmore Square in Adelaide to Cafe Troppo. It will be cosy said our mate. This is a happening little gem. Yes it's cosy, but we squeezed in on a Friday. Emphasis on fresh organic local produce and fair trade coffee. Mates loved the salad with pumpkin, rice and other goodies. Smelt great. Bagette was good with local tomatoes and cheese. Seems to be known for it's pizzas. Short menu and check out the specials board. Outside made of recycled materials. Atmosphere cosy communal. We'll be back.Check out the menu http://cafetroppoadelaide.com/le-menu/

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011travel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great coffee, great atmosphere, great prices...”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

...what's not to like? I took my family here for coffee and breakfast just before they closed for the Christmas break. The atmosphere was great, very laid back but the staff were focused on looking after their customers. We had 2 young children with us and they were well catered for and not regarded as a "hassle". The coffee was awesome, that lovely hint of treacle or caramel that has you ordering a second (or third!) cup.
We all had breakfasts that arrived in a reasonable time. The flavours were great, the owners and chefs obviously work hard to offer lovely dishes that are a perfect combination of tastes and textures. It's the sort of cafe where everyone wants to try what everyone else is having, which we did! I had a pleasant surprise when paying the bill, despite the extra coffees. Will definitely return next time I visit Adelaide.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELBeeDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troppo also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Troppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing