We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice one!”
Review of Jack Ruby

Jack Ruby
Ranked #319 of 1,597 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice one!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Started off with whisky sours then shared some buffalo wings and sliders. Loved the atmosphere. It was busy but not loud. Menu is great so hard to pick from.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EBFeasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Book ahead!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great food, good atmosphere. A bit noisy making it difficult to have a conversation with the person right next to you. Recommend booking well in advance as I tried to make a reservation 2 hours ahead of dining on a Saturday night with no answer on the phone, we decided to walk in and they were able to accommodate us by offering us the bar. I had the deep fried mac and cheese balls - delish! As well as onion rings, also great. A little more on the pricy end but food was worth it. Looking forward to going back and booking ahead!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esc9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“On the decline?”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Have been to Jack Ruby a few times now, the most recent was a bit average unfortunately. Got the wagyu beef burger which came out on the rare side (which I don't mind but the menu says medium rare) with a serve of almost cold fries. A friends burger which was ordered at the same time didn't come out & had to be re-ordered. Although staff did try & rectify, the feeling I'm getting from Jack Ruby is that they are starting to believe their own hype & more interested in looking 'hip' than impressing with their food & service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It must be a joke!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The food is terrible! burger at Hungry Jacks is exquisite comparing to what I had.Price? Joke! $19 for the worst burger I've had in my life( with a handful of fries),wine the most expensive , the service terrible, toilets dirty . The menu ? it's not even a menu because menu offers some food that is a chef's pride.Don't waste your time going there, you will be as disappointing as 17 of us are. Will never set my foot there ever again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elvira N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden away, really good food”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stumbled across this restaurant and have to say was really impressed, it is themed around an american bar and grill.
The staff were really friendly, polite and helpful. We went on a Saturday night and it was very full however this didn't detract from the service or food that I received.
I order what is called route 66 for $45 which is a selection of foods off the menu.
The amount of food I received was massive so make sure you are hungry if you order this off the menu. Overall would recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Ruby also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Goodwood, Adelaide
 

Been to Jack Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing