We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as good as it looks” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Tynte Street Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
alice springs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not as good as it looks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

this hotel whilst having good size room, clean etc gets let down in several areas.
firstly, when you arrive there , say from the airport in a cab, to find you actually have to go into another part of town to book in, was really annoying.secondly, staying on the second floor, and finding no elevator, so having to drag numerous peices of luggage up stairs.
thirdly, really bad sound proofing, anyone outside your room is noisy, doors banging, and under a flight path, where at 6.30 am, every five minutes for an hour a plan goes overhead..not good.
majestic rooftop in frome st, 10/10, majestic tynte st.. 2/10

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieinchina43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Tynte Street Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear aussieinchina43

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. Yes there is no reception on site. The booking confirmation tries to be very clear about this however we will look at reviewing this so there is no confusion. Check in is via our sister property Old lion Apartments which is are on Jerningham St (1km away). If you need assistance we do have staff available to via intercom or phone from the Apartments.The issue of the door has been resolved we are glad to say however the flight path is out of our control. And once again thank you for your comments.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    41
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
30
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed here with my 3 year old daughter. It was a studio room-comfortable and clean;there was a big gap between the bed and the wall and we could not move the top of the bed against the wall.The room was old but clean and tidy.
We were on the ground floor and every time the main door closed it was loud and disturbing.
The location was good and the parking was at the rear. Lots of restaurants and cafes in the vicinity.We had to collect the keys prior to check in at the Majestic Lion Apts 5-10 min drive away from Tynte Apts.There is not reception on site. All in all a decent play to stay.

Room Tip: REquest a room away from the main door to avoid hearing the loud bang every time it closes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_Vaughton, Manager at Majestic Tynte Street Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear NKRR

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am glad you found our apartments clean and comfortable. Based on your feedback we have had our maintenance team address the issue of the main door and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest Regards,
Greg Vaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

I'm writing this review as I can here the main access door closing again..I have resigned myself that I will not get a decent nights sleep tonight, but thankfully I have a nice room, comfy couch and a LCD widescreen TV to keep me amused. I think I might be OK after 1am when people may have gone to bed. The room is nice, clean and check in was easy..regarding which..make sure you read your documentation as it is a 10 minute walk away to do so. I dont tend to whinge, but I tbought I would make others aware of the downsides to what is a decent self contained apartment. Recommended only if location is important to you, as for me, it was.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Nice and clean, spacious and close to OConnell St, which has loads of eateries, bars and everything that you need. Very nice safe area. Would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

The reception staff had a couldn't care less attitude.
The cleanliness of the apartment left a lot to be desired, there was clothing in the wardrobe left behind from a previous occupant, the kitchenette floor was filthy and it looked as if the bed cover hadn't been cleaned either. The carpet and sofa's could do with a wash as well. The level of equipment was average, not what you would expect from "luxury" apartments.
The apartment was in a great location in North Adelaide lots of cafe's bars and restaurants in the area. It is a pleasent 20 minute walk to the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SOOPERHOOPSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Having stayed at a number of apartments this would have to be one of the best.

Position in North Adelaide is just brilliant - walked everywhere. Restaurants within metres of the apartment.

Clean as any we have stayed in everything was supplied when we arrived.

Check in is a little complicated but if you have a car it is'nt a hassle at all.

Very little noise at all.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orient18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

This is my usual stopping place in Adelaide because of the location and the fact that the apartments have big rooms with a kitchen and laundry facilities. I have noticed that the room is not quite as clean, and particularly the carpets - if you are barefooted you will have blackened feet very quickly. The new flat screen TV is a nice improvement and there are a few extra digital channels if you press the A/D button on the controller. Can't really fault anything overall, though and will stay there again as usual.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cham3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
O'Connell Inn
O'Connell Inn
#29 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#35 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
1.4 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#14 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Tynte Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tynte Street Apartments

Property: Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Address: 82 Tynte St | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Tynte Street Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Tynte Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing