We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

National Wine Centre of Australia
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.25*
and up
Ultimate Adelaide City and Hahndorf Tour
Ranked #25 of 204 things to do in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the edge of Adelaide's stunning Botanic Gardens the centre combines eye-catching architecture with smooth functionality to create an exciting tourism venue which showcases the Australian wine industry. Awarded the Best Tourism Initiative at the 2013 Hotels Industry Awards for Excellence, the National Wine Centre is an architectural treat but what it holds inside is the real attraction. The complex features outdoor terrace areas with views of the centre's courtyard and Botanic Gardens.Guests can complete their experience by tasting fine Australian wines, or enjoying a meal from our seasonal a la carte menu in the ground floor Cellar Door. Discover all there is to do at the National Wine Centre, perfect to accommodate everyone from the complete novice to the wine connoisseur!
Renmark, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have just visited the wine centre and recommend a visit on day when you have time to enjoy all it offers, we had lunch and we were very happy with our meals and the friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank renmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    102
    48
    23
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A fun way to spend a Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited last Sunday.

The venue is great - I have actually attended a formal function there last year.

We did the educational self guided walk around and found it interesting.

I loved "creating" my own Silver Medal Shiraz!

We later did the premium wine flight offered by the Concourse Cafe and really enjoyed it.

Great venue - good concept and a nice way to learn about wines and wine making in general.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
623 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“This place could be good but overall give it a miss”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We sent our English friends there to see if they liked it as they were insistant about visiting. a few years ago we went ther and were greatly disappointed with the whole set up and guesswhat it hasn't changed. I must admit that the food and wine that is served there is of good quality but there are always too many meeting there each time we go. The parking is non existant which is probably undergoing some change. Overall this place isn't quite what it says it should be. Give it a miss

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting conference venue”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Architecturally arresting but did not contain noise coming from concurrent workshop sessions effectively. Good catering, accessibility and nice facilities.

Helpful?
Thank bleazy_dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Edward, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't Bother or....”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

At least check out whether the exhibits are all open on the day you wish to visit. We walked over there expecting a lovely hour or so only to find a huge conference (or more than one perhaps) in full swing. We could access only the first exhibit room and the entrance of the second. All other areas were closed due to a 'private function' for the entire day. Annoying to say the least and a disappointment for sure. Lovely place but I am as confused as JAD9999. All in all, don't waste any valuable time you may have for Adelaide.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Wine Centre of Australia also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Mitcham, Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to National Wine Centre of Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing