We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great rate and a great location. I will be back”
Review of Oaks Embassy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Embassy
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Was double booked and they upgraded without asking. Nice room, location was excellent and good value. Loved the heated pool, spa and steam room. Only negative was the lack of taxis that dont arrive when booked or otherwise. They are further up the road at the Mecure.. so walk up 400 metres and you should get one. I gave up my taxi to a couple and a gentlemen so they could make their flight on time....The Oaks needs to get rid of the cab company they ring for you..Only small thing was that it was very noisy on Thurs and Friday night owing to the location being so centrally located to Hindley st. The Hotel was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 658 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

I've stayed several times in this hotel, both in 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom apartments. The 1 bedder is fine. I stayed in one on the top floor and it had lovely soaring ceilings. The 2 bedroom is fine also, but I stayed with a colleague and got the smaller bedroom. The smaller bedroom has no window and one of it's walls are frosted glass looking out to the lounge area. The major problem with that is there is no curtain or blind to block out light. So if your colleague watches tv or stays up late in the living room area, you have no choice but to suffer the light streaming into your room. The other notable fact is if you're travelling with other people, make sure your rooms are on the same floor. This hotel gives you an elevator security tag that only lets you press the button of your floor. So if you want to go to a mate's room, you have to go down to reception and meet him there, then go back up. That was one of the reasons my company no longer puts us up there. All other aspects are fine. Parking is good. Location is good with the Casino and restaurants close by. A nice coffee shop about 10 metres away. The rooms were quiet. Beds were firm. Kitchens were fully stocked as you'd expect. Supermarket within 1km as well as many other shops.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great location directly across from the Adelaide Convention Centre and close by to Casino and Rundle Mall. Rooms are clean, comfortable and modern with a well equipped kitchen. The rooms are also spacious and with a balcony. The downstairs restaurant served good meals and reasonably priced. Staff were helpful and friendly. Given the price (rooms booked through a discount hotel website) it was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfish2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Had a great stay, had a girls weekend,staff were very nice and always helpful, great location close to everything. Had a 2 bedroom apartment, Room was very nice, clean, would stay again next time we are in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coraline67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Room #1302
I wanted a big apartment for the night as it was my birthday & we wanted to invited friends over for dinner. When I booked the apartment, I went into The Embassy & asked to view the rooms. I viewed a 3 bedroom apartment (which I would have booked, but they were booked out) & was told that the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom executive was the same. Upon checking in one week later, the room we got (deluxe) was 2 bedroom but only one bathroom (very small bathroom & kitchen unlike the one I had viewed). I was very disappointed, & contacted reception as soon as we got to the room. However, they informed us that that was the room we had booked (which it wasn't). I had a copy of the receipt, however the receipt didn't specify which room we booked, only the price. It was another $80 to upgrade, so we decided not to pay the extra. Although the kitchen wasn't as big as we had thought, we were still able to entertain our friends which was good.
The apartment wasn't too bad, however the windows & glass doors were covered in filthy dirty greasy finger marks, which I cleaned off with a face washer. It was clear that the previous guests had children as their paw prints were everywhere!
The bathroom was very small. The jets in the bath were a joke. I had a 'spa' in the bath & after a few minutes of having the jets blowing, the bath filled with tiny specs of (what looked like) mould which I could see was on the inside of the jets. Not nice....
The bed was comfy, and the master bedroom had a flat screen tv on the wall.
The kitchen was well appointed with smeg appliances. However (as mentioned before) the kitchen was smaller than the room I had originally booked. We needed lots of bench space for preparing meals, so it was a bit small for us to cook in.
There were 2 balconies’ however one couldn't be used as it was so small & housed the aircon box. The other was a good size with a small table & 4 chairs. The apartment faced North Tce, so the views were good, especially at sunset....the apartment had nice big windows so you could enjoy the views at night.
When I booked the room, I asked if there was an i-pod player/radio & was told that there was not any in the room. However there was a micro-stereo in the apartment which I could use with my i-pod, which was a bonus. It would have been helpful if reception knew what facilities the apartments had, so that I didn't have to lug my laptop (for music) unnecessarily.
One staff member worth mentioning is Andrew who works at reception (tall, handsome young man from India). After asking if I could view the rooms (and having the female manager say no as they were too busy), Andrew asked me to wait until after he served the customers, then he took me up to view the rooms. He was really helpful & I was impressed by his service, thanks Andrew.
I am still not sure why I ended up with a different room from the one I booked. I have stayed in Oaks apartments before (at Glenelg) and had a similar experience. We booked into the Liberty apartments & was told when we checked in that they had doubled booked the room, so they moved us over to the Pier, which wasn’t as nice. It appears that they have a policy of double booking rooms, then moving people to a different property if everyone on the day checks in. However, I have also stayed at Oaks apartments in Melbourne & never had a problem.
I would stay at The Embassy again, however next time, I would re-confirm the room that I booked so that there were no last minute surprises!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzaboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Went to Adelaide overnight for a friend's wedding and decided to stay here as the Oaks Horizon was not available for one night stays.

This was such a disappointing hotel. The room stunk, was very tired and had a little balcony which had a huge wall in the middle of it blocking all views and general light. The location is good, however, there are plenty of other hotels around this area to choose from. The only positive was the staff at reception. They were very friendly and helpful.

Very disappointing as I have stayed at the Oaks in Melbourne previously for an extended stay for work and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaterinaPetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is an extremely good hotel in the main downtown area. All amenities are available, local travel services are good.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AusTraveller033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#19 of 55 in Adelaide
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Quest on King William
Quest on King William
#21 of 55 in Adelaide
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Embassy

Address: 96 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#28 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $115 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Embassy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the central business district on North Terrace and just a short stroll from Adelaide’s shopping precinct, the casino and convention centre you will find Oaks Embassy. Oaks Embassy is one of Adelaide’s most contemporary apartment buildings offering spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments complete with laundry facilities and executive apartments featuring private spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Embassy Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Embassy Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing