We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stayed at the Majestic for three nights. Really nice hotel, great central location, but still quite. Previous reviews are correct in that the view from many of the rooms is not that great - the car park across the road, but please, who sits in the hotel room looking out the window. We found the hotel to exceed expectations, our only problem was the room was freezing, and the heater just would not heat the place up. Brad on the front desk was great, offering to move us to another room, extra blankets etc. Unfortunately as it was a Saturday the air con could not get fixed until the Monday. We put up with is as we were not in the room all that much anyway (it turned out the thermostat was broken). Brad was great in ensuring we had a great stay.

Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perthguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    619
    98
    27
    9
See reviews for
116
888
117
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

This place was great value. Great rooms. Central location. Got excellent service from "Jade" (No i am not her friend, relative, etc....) I would definitely return. As a side note, went to Gouger Street Cafe and it was terrible! I would not recommend it.

Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank W_url_d_Trav3Lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Stayed one night in a small room on the first floor with no view whatsoever. The room was adequately appointed - and the king size bed was comfortable. Small bathroom with lovely tiling was a strange angled shape. The windows are double glazed so there was no problem with street noise.

Our package included breakfast served between 7.30 and 9.30 - a bit restrictive for those who'd like to sleep in. The breakfast was poor. We arrived at 9am to find that most items had run out. When we asked for another waffle we were told it was the last one. Same with the bircher muesli. Standard bland hot food - scambled eggs, baked beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, packet hash browns, and some meat. Good filtered coffee but if you want a latte you have to pay extra. Fortunately the one type of danish pastry was fresh and delicious. The 'fresh' fruits looked like they've been sitting around all week - very unappealing.

Overall we were not blown away like some reviewers. The location is not the best in town - would prefer being closer to the river or on the Square for more charm and character. The hotel is overrated - we expected much more than a small adequate hotel on the fringe of the city. The only plus is that it is cheaper than most but I think next time we'll pay a few extra dollars for a more memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovetojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

checked other reviews before booked this hotel. the room is small. thwe window is very small. but the benifit is clear. the room is very quite. i had very good night sleep. next day, another thing happened. i picked up a juice from mini bar. supprised find it's three month overdue! and another beverage's due dayis 2008. i informed front desk next and when to bussiness. come back find all the overdued beverage are still there! before i left, i finformed the manager again. i don't know if they changed them. the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dentdoc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

The Majestic Roof Top Garden Hotel is located in the better part of Adelaide, close to Rundle Street which has Sunday Markets and a great night life.

As far as the hotel goes, the room that we had was quite large and furnished beautifully - they had obviously taken a lot of care. The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

In the room, the bathroom is sparkling clean and has a bath with opening bifold windows (can't explain them) and it overlooks the room. Very romantic. The buffet breakfast has a lot to choose from.

I have stayed in many hotel's in Adelaide and I can't say it is the best. The roof top garden is not a lot to talk about. But overall the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveholidaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed here after experiencing three miserable nights at the Grand Chifley on South Terrace. We were so pleased with our overall stay here-- albeit only one night. The location is perfect-- right off Rundle St. mall, where there are numerous restaurants and bars. The front desk staff were friendly and check-in and out were flawless. As many of the other reviewers stated, the rooms are very well appointed. It was a fun novelty to be able to take a bath and watch the TV in the room at the same time. It was also nice that while there was a terrace-sort enclosure off the room, that it was double-windowed/shut off to keep the noise from the street out of the room. The hotel corridors are lovely and have a Japanese feel to them. No complaints on anything here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Good, new, modern, well designed room. I was on the top floor - doesn't make much difference which side of the hotel you are on as the view is the same in both directions - a multi-story car park (but not really ugly ones). Interesting bathroom with windows over the bath opening onto the room (and you can watch television if you like from the bath). Shower was ubermodern with one of those glass doors which manages to flood the floor...

Roof Top Garden is pleasant but you probably wouldn't spend much tiem there. .
Very small gym - two bikes and a treadmill but adequate.

Breakfast was excellent - downstairs restaurant. Good variety and delicious options (including an excellent bircher muesli with proper maple syrup option).

Tariff was highish - $190 all up (and they charge for interstate papers).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clearair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing