We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right in the thick of it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We visited Adelaide in January 2009 to see the Tour Down Under cycling event. We did EXHAUSTIVE research online and settled on the Majestic Rooftop Garden Hotel. We stayed in a Superior Suite (Room 117) for 10 nights and paid $204 a night, which was excellent value. It’s a corner room with a fire exit on one side and, as there are no common walls to other rooms, it makes for a peaceful stay. The street below tended to be a bit noisy at times, but double glazing made a considerable difference.
The Majestic turned out to be a great choice, particularly for its central location near Rundle Street, the cleanliness and size of the apartment, and the standard of the fitout. Lovely bathroom and nice kitchen. The service was very obliging and cheerful. The valet parking for our hire car was worth the $23.50 a day. (It’s worth noting that the other parking provided for $14.50 a day is actually public parking in the street behind the hotel.)
The faults were few and minor: the television was outdated, and the remote control poorly functioning. The couch is a fold-out bed, and was not very comfortable to sit on.
We can highly recommend three nearby restaurants: Café Brunelli, Eros and Amalfi.
In summary, I doubt we could have done better.

Stayed: January 2009
3  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2009

This hotel was selected for us when we booked a package deal to attend the Tour Down Under. It was a great choice! Very new and modern - only 5 years old in a great location. Close to Rundle Mall, restaurants, cafes, pubs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had (#315) had a king size bed, great bathroom where the bath opened into the main room by sliding Japanese style doors. Each room had a balcony for smokers or if you wanted a break from airconditioning. Couldn't fault it. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed 4 nights in the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel January 2009. We found the experience very pleasant. The staff were warm and friendly, the room was lovely and we enjoyed our stay. We had one meal in the attached restaurant which was delicious and served by helpful and very professional staff. The view overlooked a carpark so was nothing to speak of but that did not concern us at all.
Location is one of the best, a short walking distance to the main shops, cafes and restaurants. Also within easy walking distance to public transport.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Enjoyed a week at this hotel in at Executive deluxe room. not much of a view on to an office block but we were ok with this as the hotel is in the middle of town, so we weren't staying there for the view. Internet was not included in the rate which is diappointing because at the price we paid for an executive deluxe we thought it would be and you had to pay a dear daily rate. Room was lovely, nicely furnished, 2 double wardrobes with mirror doors, well stocked mini bar, tv, a reasonable size and with a lovely bathroom. Spotlessly clean, comfy beds and nice white linen.
We would have liked a pool as we were staying a week but they don't have one. Location is good as you are at the end of the main shopping precinct so it is easy to walk into town to catch trams or buses. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a guest laundry which is useful if you are travelling for a few weeks. Ate in the restaurant for dinner and found the food a little disappointing in flavour and the waiter had a condescending attitude so we didn't eat there again. We found Brunellis italian restaurant around the corner and it was fab for breakfast, lunch and dinner, good food, big portions and cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank M90_AMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Stayed at the Majestic for two nights. We booked a standard room and were upgraded to a suite. Newly refurbished handsome rooms, well equipt and comfortable. Staff efficient and friendly and hotel in central location just around the corner from a very good selection of restaurants (Eros Ouzeri - great food). "Roof garden" an overstatement, share the roof with A/C units and view of multistory car park.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Michnoquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

My wife & I stayed here on two occasions (4 nights) in November 2008.
We found the staff excellent, the rooms very comfortable & nicely decorated, & the location great for sightseeing on foot with loads of great restaurants within a five minute walk. Wish we had more like it in Canada.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveller44-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

The Majestic is OK, nothing to fault but at the same time, nothing particularly stunning about it either. The location is good, Adelaide is a very easy city to find your way round and after a 7 hour drive through Victoria and South Australia we got to it very easily without any hassle and without the help of sat nav, (certainly something that you couldn't do in must UK cities!). The room that we had was very spacious and well designed with a balcony area for us remaining smokers. Unlike the room though the hotel itself somehow feels cramped, the reception area feels quite closed in as do the corridors, it almost feels like the building was designed to fit in with the small amount of building land available: I guess that is often the case but it just felt noticeable here. The staff we came across were again 'OK' but not as warm and welcoming as the other places that we had stayed on our journey in Aus. The Roof Garden itself is really nothing to rave about and the Gym is probably the smallest I have ever seen, but I suppose at least they had one. If you are looking for a hotel in Adelaide that has good sized rooms and a good location within walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants then the Majestic would be ideal, but if staying somewhere that feels really special is crucial for you as part of a good holiday experience then perhaps give somewhere else a try.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetKezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $96 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing