We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on Frome(Adelaide)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Hotel Richmond(Adelaide)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Ibis Adelaide(Adelaide)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    • Free Internet
    Reviews (2,308)
    Filter reviews
    2,308 results
    Traveler rating
    1,316
    808
    141
    33
    10
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,316
    808
    141
    33
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrundle streetgreat locationbotanic gardenskangaroo islandself parkingcar parklovely hotelmini barshort walkroom was spacioushotel restaurantgood sizecentral locationart galleryreception staffgreat roomvisit adelaide
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2,025 - 2,030 of 2,308 reviews
    Reviewed October 23, 2008

    Adelaide suffers from a real lack of good quality hotels. The Majestic Roof Garden, in relative terms, is one of the best. This is probably because it is fairly new. It is generally comfortable, in a reasonable location, staff are friendly and helpful, and most of the fittings are in good condition. However, the bed was overly solid (I was informed in another review that this is what international customers want...), the breakfast is ridiculously overpriced ($30.00 - why do some hotels persist with this?), the towels were tiny, and the climate system was loud and intense (either hot or cold). So, that's why it doesn't get five stars. A colleague was staying at the Stamford (where I used to say), and reminded me of how tired the fittings and general feel of her hotel was, in comparison to the Majestic. So, all things considered, the Majestic Roof Garden is recommended, but only because it is in Adelaide, and there isn't a lot of choice.

    • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    Thank Risky_Rat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 20, 2008

    I stayed at the Majestic Roof Garden Hotel for one night in October 2008. I was travelling alone, for business. I know Adelaide quite well and have stayed at a few hotels around town.

    The Majestic Roof Garden is a lovely modern hotel. But a little sterile. I was a bit disappointed with my room, no balcony as everyone else has described. The bathroom was very new and clean - however, I did expect better then generic bath products for the price. The bed was very hard and I found it difficult to sleep on - and I like a firm mattress. The aircon was efficient but noisy.

    My advice around breakfast would be that if it is included in your room price, great. If not, $24 was a bit steep for what you got.

    The location is great for restaurants, bars and shops. It cost about $20 for a cab from the airport at peak hour, which is excellent compared to my home town.

    And I was looking forward to a quiet relaxing drink on the much promoted roof garden, but it was closed for a private function!

    This is a good 4 star hotel. If you can get a good deal, worthwhile staying here. Have to say I preferred the slightly worn Stamford Plaza to this one - better breakfast, warmer rooms and great staff.

    • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    Thank Flipfeet11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 8, 2008

    Great hotel and excellent price for the wonderful service. The hotel staff is very knowledgeable and helpful with touring information. Jason Wright the food and beverage manager guided us to a wonderful winery in the Barossa. The hotel even has laundry facilities at no charge for guests. Would definitely stay here again.
    Great location also.

    Stayed: September 2008
    Thank manuel95
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 16, 2008

    Staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. However the best attraction of this hotel is the location. A short walk to Rundle Mall and loads of restaurants. Close to buses and trams and about five minutes away from Budget Rent-a-Car.
    And the king size bed is incredibly comfortable!

    • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    2  Thank sueaussie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 30, 2008

    We were looking to book a holiday adventure in Adelaide and happened upon the Majestic. We read several reviews, but really booked the hotel blindly. We could not have picked a better hotel! From location to room to guest services everything was top notch.
    The location was ideal, just steps away from Rundle Street, convenient to the restaurant and shopping districts, but still far enough away to be quiet and relaxing to return to at the end of a busy day.
    The room was fantastic. It was big, spacious and luxurious. The bed was soft and comfortable; the furniture was comfortable and well-placed, so as not to appear crowded. There was not a window as such, but sliding doors to the enclosed balcony, which had large windows. We were there in the winter, so we did not enjoy the use of the balcony, and our view was out over a service street, but it was still a nice area.
    The bathroom was large and spacious, with a tub and a separate shower. The shower was nice and large, with the soap dish well away from the water. The tub was large and deep, though we ran out of time before testing it out. It had a nice “window” which you could open to the bedroom area, which would have been perfect for a long relaxing soak.
    The front desk staff was friendly, cheerful, welcoming and helpful, especially in arranging for taxis.
    As we were there in the winter, we did not make full use of the rooftop garden area, but we did have a look at it. The views are breathtaking and the picnic table there would be an ideal place for an afternoon tea, or a drink before dinner. The area was not quite as large as I had imagined, but still it was a lovely spot.
    Overall Positives: location, location, location; size of room and layout, including bathroom.
    Overall Negatives: poor electrical outlet placement for use of tea kettle -- there is not one in the bathroom or near the minibar area, in fact the tea kettle in general was not easy to use, with the tea & coffee, kettle, wet area and power all in different places. Sink design -- there was no way to use the bathroom sink without getting the vanity wet; it’s a pretty sleek design, but not very practical for its use. No furniture on the balcony -- that was quite surprising and disappointing; it may have been that it was wintertime, but still, it would have been nice to have a couple of chairs and a small table on the balcony. No posted hours for the hotel restaurant/bar. When we went to check out, we had planned to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant and were disappointed to find that it had just closed -- at 9:30 in the morning.

    Would we go back? In a heartbeat.
    Would we recommend the Majestic Roof Garden to friends? Absolutely without a doubt.

    • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    5  Thank ellieannef
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews