We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean. However the best attraction of this hotel is the location. A short walk to Rundle Mall and loads of restaurants. Close to buses and trams and about five minutes away from Budget Rent-a-Car.
And the king size bed is incredibly comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sueaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2008

We were looking to book a holiday adventure in Adelaide and happened upon the Majestic. We read several reviews, but really booked the hotel blindly. We could not have picked a better hotel! From location to room to guest services everything was top notch.
The location was ideal, just steps away from Rundle Street, convenient to the restaurant and shopping districts, but still far enough away to be quiet and relaxing to return to at the end of a busy day.
The room was fantastic. It was big, spacious and luxurious. The bed was soft and comfortable; the furniture was comfortable and well-placed, so as not to appear crowded. There was not a window as such, but sliding doors to the enclosed balcony, which had large windows. We were there in the winter, so we did not enjoy the use of the balcony, and our view was out over a service street, but it was still a nice area.
The bathroom was large and spacious, with a tub and a separate shower. The shower was nice and large, with the soap dish well away from the water. The tub was large and deep, though we ran out of time before testing it out. It had a nice “window” which you could open to the bedroom area, which would have been perfect for a long relaxing soak.
The front desk staff was friendly, cheerful, welcoming and helpful, especially in arranging for taxis.
As we were there in the winter, we did not make full use of the rooftop garden area, but we did have a look at it. The views are breathtaking and the picnic table there would be an ideal place for an afternoon tea, or a drink before dinner. The area was not quite as large as I had imagined, but still it was a lovely spot.
Overall Positives: location, location, location; size of room and layout, including bathroom.
Overall Negatives: poor electrical outlet placement for use of tea kettle -- there is not one in the bathroom or near the minibar area, in fact the tea kettle in general was not easy to use, with the tea & coffee, kettle, wet area and power all in different places. Sink design -- there was no way to use the bathroom sink without getting the vanity wet; it’s a pretty sleek design, but not very practical for its use. No furniture on the balcony -- that was quite surprising and disappointing; it may have been that it was wintertime, but still, it would have been nice to have a couple of chairs and a small table on the balcony. No posted hours for the hotel restaurant/bar. When we went to check out, we had planned to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant and were disappointed to find that it had just closed -- at 9:30 in the morning.

Would we go back? In a heartbeat.
Would we recommend the Majestic Roof Garden to friends? Absolutely without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ellieannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Stayed for 1 night in Dec 2007 - late posting. We overnighted here after flying from Kangaroo Island - we hadnt been to the city before and were surprised how small the centre is - the Majestic is well situated and provided clean comfortable rooms at a very good price - we didnt eat there so couldnt comment re that , but were shocked that the roof garden of the name doesnt really work as a feature - you cannot eat or even have a drink up there and this seemed like a missed opportunity. I can only guess that the other Adelaide hotel choices arent up to much as this ranks no 1 - we really werent too excited by it but it suited us fine for a bargain stopover before flying out.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Lovely hotel to use as a base when exploring Adelaide. I couldn't fault it

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UK_Patch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

me and my wife had stayed at this hotel on easter season.

we had booked for 3nights and really enjoyed.

especially, staff at concierge. because we're from Sydney to live in Adelaide for 6 months so we didn't know anything about the city. concierge helped a lot and try to help everything we needed.

furthermore, after we've checked out we had some problems with next accomodation, so we had to get a room asap, then when i called them up at 3am in the morning, they were willing to give us the room with discounted price as I got it from Wotif.com
(actually they didn't have to give us the discount but they understood our bad situation so they just gave us discount straight away.).

food and room was great as well.

I would like to recommend this hotel to Adelaide first timers!!

thanks to you all at Majestic roof top staffs.

  • Stayed: March 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank minsung_yoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

My wife and I were awakened by very loud party on the floor above. The band noise was deafening. A phone call to Reception informed us we were not the only complaint... and that the noise problem would be rectified immediately. We waited patiently for half an hour. Four more calls at various intervals did not help. It was a wedding, we were told, which would end at midnight. At 1am we were frantic and trelephoned to say we would personally invade the party and pull the power plugs from the loud speakers. Overall, the experience was a nightmare. Our first visit to the hotel some months earlier, however, had been as a reasonable experience. We will return to the Adelaide Hyatt for our next visit to the city in May.

Stayed: October 2007
5  Thank andyrambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed here for 7 nights earlier this month. The hotel is in a first class central location and the room we had was spacious and well appointed. The staff (with the exception of Matthew of whom more later) were extremely friendly and helpful and were prepared to turn their hands to anything asked of them - valet parking was particularly efficient.

The hotel suffers from the lack of a bar although it has a restaurant which closes at 09:00 p.m. On the one occasion when we had dinner there we found it expensive for what was at best a middle of the road meal. On that occasion we were looked after (?) by Matthew who, when my wife drew his attention to her wine glass being dirty, proceeded to tell her in a loud voice “I can’t see anything, madam“. He also thought that, like certain up market restaurants, the wine bottle should be left somewhere other than on the table, so that only staff could serve it, but then proceeded to forget all about it, having to be asked several times to refill the glasses.

We also had breakfast on one occasion - the standard buffet in which a hotel seems to think that lukewarm food served on to a cold plate represents a good start to the day.

On two days (one of them a Saturday) we had something which we’ve never had in a hotel anywhere in the World and that was a note pushed under the door at 08:30 a.m. saying “we’ve honoured your do not disturb sign - if you want your room serviced today please contact reception”.

Despite the “hiccups” mentioned, however, our overall experience was a good one and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank almara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $114 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing