We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Three of us stayed in the hotel for work and had three different rooms, each room was absolutely amazing, very comfortable, had a beautiful tub you could literally watch t.v whilst laying in it.
The location was brilliant, walking distance from the shops and restaurants couldnt fault the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Deena P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to see that your stay was comfortable and that you made use of our luxurious bath tubs to relax and watch some television. I trust your colleagues also enjoyed their experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    641
    99
    28
    9
See reviews for
124
917
122
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This was booked for me and it is a quiet hotel mainly. The food and wine are fairly limited but lots to eat nearby.

Why have a roof garden that is really a small open verandah with no bar ? It's just.. weird. It's not like anything in Charleston SC, and I was hoping it was.

Should be 'Majestic Hotel Adelaide'. Or 'Majestic Hotel with an Elevatorand a Reception Desk Adelaide'. They are just as remarkable a feature.

The Rooftop Garden is really a few planters and an open space. Sorry, just disappointed. Good location and not glitzy. That's a good thing.

Sure I would stay again but not be fooled by the name. It's in a good location, but there is nothing special about the garden or the rooftop. Except that there is no bar and the rooftop area is well... small and largely peripheral. Maybe I missed a secret door...

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear anecessaryevil,

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. I am happy to see that you have rated our Hotel well in the Summary area of your review including sleep quality, our rooms, location and service.I am more than happy to take your feedback regarding our Roof Garden on board including any suggestions from Charleston SC that you may wish to share with us.

You may be interested to know that we have planned renovations of this area of our Hotel in the near future that will ensure the space becomes a focal point of our venue. I hope that these renovations will meet your expectations on your next stay if you decided to return to us.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I spent 5 nights at this hotel. Clean and comfortable but the staff were detached. The restaurant was average but expensive considering there were few staff to assist. I wasn't offered a newspaper, only a small thing but an indicator to me of how much they are aware of their customers. Yes, I'd stay again but would try many of the cafes that are in this part of Adelaide rather than the restaurant's dining rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Eastern side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Leo F,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel however I am disappointed to read that our service levels were below your expectations. I would be more than happy to discuss this further with you if you have the time to contact me directly.

I look forward to hearing from you soon and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Michael Collis
michael@majestichotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Great location, so close to the main shopping mall and street.

Room was spacious, but the aircon didn't seem to be working properly. It kept at 26deg despite adjusting it to 18deg, had to endure overnight. The internet was not VPN friendly as well, so if you have a business laptop with VPN access, you will probably be frustrated.

Breakfast was simple and sufficient.


Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank australia_garage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear australia_garage,

I apologise for any inconvenience or discomfort the air conditioning system caused during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly if you are returning to Adelaide so that I can personally ensure that your next stay is more comfortable for you.

Regards,
Michael Collis
michael@majestichotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Nz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Majestic and were very happy with accommodation. Lovely room and friendly helpful staff.
Located in centre of city easy walking to many restaurants and excellent shopping in Rundle Mall.
Hotel restaurant also very good and reasonable price.
Adelaide is a lovely city and the Majestic an excellent choice to stay

Room Tip: Our room was excellent and presume all are but you can have a balcony with some
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieNelsonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear WillieNelsonNZ,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel. I am delighted to read that your stay was comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of our location in the centre of Adelaide's CBD. As South Australian's, we take great pride in our city and it is fatastic to see that you found your time in Adelaide to be excellent!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Everything was there and worked ok but there was nothing special. Roof terrace was nice but just tables on the roof - no bar but you could BYO.

Bathrooms nice with big baths and separate, good showers. Gym is a tiny room with 2 treadmills & a bike.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Englishtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Englishtraveller75,

I am sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I hope that if you return to Adelaide in the future that you can contact me directly to allow me an opportunity to improve your perception of our Hotel.

Regards,
Michael Collis
michael@majestichotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

City centre hotel in an excellent position within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, museums and art galleries.
Our room(suite) was spacious particularly for city centre with a small balcony and represented very good value for money which included a buffet breakfast.
All staff were always helpful and friendly.
An excellent base for a stay in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Suites at the rear of the hotel are spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear armart,

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. I am happy to see that overall, you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us during your visit to Adelaide.

I trust that if you return to Adelaide in the future that you will chose to stay with us!

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing