We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff,good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for a total of three nights, with an overnight stay on Kangaroo Island between our second and third nights. The hotel is really well placed both to get to the parks, museums ,river and zoo, but also right next to the main shopping street and restaurant area.We found the desk staff really helpful in looking after our luggage and helping with travel arrangements. Our room for the first two nights was on the fourth floor at the back- no view but very quiet and spacious.For our final night we were on the first floor at the front and right over the entrance doors- which was not so good as they could be heard right through the night as people came and went- so avoid the first floor front!.
Only other comment is that there is no bar on the famous roof garden!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor centre rooms.The executive rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We love this hotel and stayed with them again on the weekend. For $175 we got room, self parking and breakfast. King size bed, bath, balcony all beautifully clean and comfortable and it is only a four star place! We had an alley side room which was almost silent in comparison to Frome road room last time which was a little street noisey (we live in the hills on acerage). Free WiFi was a bonus. We also love the breakfast in the restaurant, there really is nothing missing from the buffet!!! cute but don't expect too much (my husband is a landscaper and we chose this hotel initially to check out the garden) although it is nicer than other roof tops around the area.Roof top garden is Staff are lovely and helpful and we look forward to our next night away from the kids!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fine hotel with excellent rooms and facilities. Spacious lobby and a very welcoming and friendly, personal reception. I was staying apparently longer than most guests - 5 nights - and was upgraded to a marvelous suite. Equipped with anything one might need: really very good. And everything was spic-and-span clean. Just one small issue: the window could not be opened.
Nice firm bed; more towels than you need...
Good internet connections.
And moreover, the hotel is very centrally located within easy walking distance of all the sights. Near as well to the very fine Botanic Garden.
Highly recommended!
The restaurant serves fine food at very reasonable prices, and there's a great Rooftop Terrace as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Any hotel in Australia that provides free wifi deserves a 5* rating!
This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly throughout my stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. The roof top garden is a lovely space to relax.
My only criticism is their fitness centre, which is simply 2 treadmills and some free weights. But that is still better than nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Location of the hotel was excellent. Short walk to everything. Nice restaurants near by. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Room was clean and quiet. Bed comfy but I'm yet to find a hotel that has a decent pillow! Nice big shower and tub. Buffett Breakfast in the morning was good, although food not always hot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasonedcampaigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Yes, all the staff a really friendly and helpful, especially Gino… thanks Gino for all your running around!!

Great sized rooms, even though there is no view. I was placed at the rear of the hotel which I was happy with, no noise from Frome St.

Bathroom was big with a massive bath (which I requested). Great idea with the mini bar of using locally made/sourced items.

Two options for parking, self park or valet park. I went with the cheaper $18 per night self parking option just behind the hotel. There is a rear entrance to the hotel so you don’t have to walk all the way round to the Frome St entry.

The only thing I didn’t like about the hotel was the hardness of the bed. Love how big the bed was, however it was just a little hard for my liking. This is a personal preference; I know you can’t make a bed to please everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel the room excellent size clean & well furnished.nice bathroom with separate large shower
the location was great Breakfast a bit disappointing had run out of most hot items & took ages to replenish
Would stay here again

Room Tip: We asked for a room with balcony but you couldn't use it other than open up for fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $97 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing