We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value/Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Value/Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

As other reviews for this hotel, it is in an excellent location right off Rundle Mall and is in a spot where you don't get all the noise from the street below. Great staff, breakfast, rooms, including a nice bathroom. Staff was attentive and responsive when the power went out to my room so I felt that I was looked after. I agree that the rooftop garden hotel is more of a roof with tables and chairs, not so much a garden but this may be the only critique of the hotel.
Lots to do in Adelaide, which seems to be a secret city for travellers as it seems that it does not rank high on people's list of places to visit but it should be.

Make sure you visit Glenelg, do a wine tour, go to the zoo, and enjoy the food when in Adelaide!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    596
    97
    27
    9
See reviews for
109
863
113
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is perfect, good location, good value, beautiful clean and well decorated. I would recommend it to anyone. The only confusion is the lack of the roof garden, there was a couple of chairs and tables crammed agains the balcony up there but not much else, I was hoping for a botanical wonderland...
Lovely staff too

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juvmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very well located central hotel of 4 stars. Don't be fooled by the roof garden, it is uninviting, there is no on roof bar, orders need to be place by intercom...from 7 floors below! Décor is non existent.
Breakfast very good, reception helpful. The room OK for size, no bath...average lighting, good aircon. No porter service. would stay again, but with a 4 star expectation.

Room Tip: Would not bother with non premium....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights here and were very happy with the room and service, the bathroom was spotless and had a nice deep bath, a rarity these days.
As other reviews have stated it is close to the main Rundle st mall and a good selection of places to eat and drink nearby.
The price we got was fantastic when we compare it with our home town (Perth) hotel prices.
All in all very good value and would recommend it as a place to stay in Adelaide.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kazandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here twice in April, for one night in an Executive room before a trip to Kangaroo Island, and for three nights afterwards in a Spa Suite. The location is very good since it's in the centre of town close to Rundle Mall and the Museums, Arts Centre and Art Galleries of Northern Terrace, and its close to a large number of cafes and restaurants, particularly in Rundle St. Several main shopping areas are also close by. There is free WiFi in both the rooms and public areas, which worked well, and the option of Valet parking in the hotel, or self parking at the car park just across the road for slightly less (much less than the normal car park charges!) The hotel is modern (less than 10 years old) and it feels new, the beds were very comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The executive room was large and clean, and very comfortable, and the bathroom had toilet, wash basin, and separate shower, and a Spa bath between the bathroom and bedroom, but which could be closed off by shutters for privacy. But the room was at the back of the hotel so it looked out onto the Multi-Storey car park mentioned above. Not very pleasant, but it didn't bother us - what does it matter and this is a city centre hotel after all!
For our second stay, the Spa Suite was enormous with a separate kitchen area and large sitting room completely separated from the bedroom and bathroom by double doors. TVs in both sitting room and bedroom. This room was at the front corner so the view was better, with a private open balcony.
We didn't experience any noise problem in either room.
This would be our first choice to stay next time we are in Adelaide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent the Saturday night in Adelaide staying at this well located hotel. It was clean, well-priced and well managed. The room was quite spacious with a balcony. The staff were very courteous and prompt. The hotel is right next door to Rundle Street with a large range of restaurants and other nightlife including cinemas. In retrospect I probably would have put the car in the Wilson's car park across the road rather than valet parking (and saved a few bucks). But it was good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSpratandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in late April. Couldn't fault it. Excellent bed , fantastic walk in shower and a spacious room although we did take the executive king option which is a little larger than the standard room. The hotel isn't too large so everything works well and quickly. Parking arrangement really good and only $18 day - wish you could do that in Sydney or Melbourne.
We took the breakfast deal - it was OK but fairly bland after a day or two so I wouldn't bother next time.
Staff at the front desk are great, courteous and really helpful.
Many nearby restaurants around Rundle St and not that far to walk to Hutt St as well for perhaps some more up market options.
Proximity to shopping in Rundle St is good and North Terrace with the gallery and museum is nearby.
All in all we had a great stay and recommend the hotel highly.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing