We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
BUNBURY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly service”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed two nights during Easter and wished we could have stayed longer. We received a warm, friendly greeting from two happy young reception staff as soon as we entered the hotel. They were knowledgeable, explained all the features and were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was excellent - quiet, well serviced, modern and clean. The restaurant was closed for one evening while we were there but we enjoyed a beautiful meal with good selection of food and drinks on the other night when we dined there. Located near the main shopping street in Adelaide (Rundle Mall), we found it well located. We have no complaints and can recommend it to anyone for either pleasure or business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear DAVID H,

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience during your recent stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. I am glad that you were able to dine with us and I trust that you enjoyed your meal in Culshaw’s Restaurant.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    677
    106
    29
    9
See reviews for
133
980
138
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived on the night the Fringe started. Whilst the staff on the front desk were very pleasant they stayed behind the counter so there was no help in unloading the car. Our room seemed fine but because of the Fringe the hotel dining room was fully booked and it took some time before we could find table in a restaurant. The next day we noticed problems with the electric sockets and couldn't make tea or use the hair drier. when we reported this to reception we were sent back to our room to "inserl the key card fully into the electric master slot". This didn't work so we went back to reception where after a debate it was decided that perhaps a fuse had gone and this would be looked at by a member of staff. Having wasted some of our limited time in Adelaide on this we went out only to find on return that there was a fault and we would have to move rooms. Having gone to do this I couldn't get into our old room to transfer our luggage as the key had been cancelled. Finally one of the staff came out from behind the counter to help. Worst service we experienced in a month touring Australia.

Room Tip: Although in the centre of activity, rooms on the street and rear are quiet. Ask staff to help unlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Ken P,

I am terribly sorry to read of this poor experience during your stay with us and I apologise for the poor service you encountered. I will certainly be reviewing your feedback with our Front Office Manager to ensure our performance improves.

Should you be returning to Adelaide in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally ensure your expectations are exceeded.

Regards,
Michael Collis
michael@majestichotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent 3 nights here before Ghan trip. Good location, right near Rundle street and a block from the Mall. Many restaurants in surrounding streets. We had an executive room at rear of hotel, looking at multi-storey car park. But if you are at the front of the hotel, it faces another car park, so not much difference. The room had a balcony with sliding window and fly screen, so we could have fresh air, which was nice. When you closed the window and the balcony sliding door, it made for a very effective sound barrier, making the room very quiet at night. A pleasant surprise was a decent size bar fridge, not crammed full of bottles, plenty of room for our own cold stuff. One thing to note, the hotel advertises its roof garden but we found nothing up there but some tables and chairs (and a view) but the adjacent rooms are used for conferences and functions, so these were in continual use while we were there, making it difficult to use.
We did not eat in downstairs restaurant for breakfast, so many other places around to choose from. Directly opposite hotel is Ebenezer Place (down side of carpark), this leads into a new development of the old Eastern Market. It has a lot of trendy shops and cafes, we can recommend Nano's, for good breakfast and coffee.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel face multi-storey car parks, the higher floors may have some views but the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killara23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear killara23,

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. I trust you enjoyed your Ghan trip and I am glad to see that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. As we are a City Hotel, unfortunately we do have limited views across the surrounding buildings however we do believe our great location compensates for this. I would recommend that if you chose to stay with us again, you request a higher floor as they do have some views of the Adelaide Hills.

We will be making some significant improvements to our signature Roof Garden this year and I am confident that should you return to us, you will enjoy this area and all it will have to offer.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east anglia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is an excellent central hotel for visiting Adelaide. The rooms are very large and clean all the normal facilities were available. The friendly and accommodating staff looked after our luggage while we took trips to Uluru and Kangaroo Island.
The location is great for Adelaide as it is in the middle of all the shops and restaurants, could not ask more
We never tried the restuarant but it looked very interesting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exfarmersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear exfarmersteve,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel. I am always pleased to read that we have been able to provide a positive experience for our many guests and provide them with a central location to enjoy the sights of Adelaide or South Australia.

I hope you enjoyed Kangaroo Island and Uluru as much as you enjoyed Adelaide and I hope that next time you stay with us you are able to enjoy our unique dining experience in Culshaw's Restaurant.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is without doubt one of the finest I've ever stayed in. Firstly the location is perfect. There are so many terrific restaurants and shops literally just around the corner, and the city centre is only a short 5-10 minute walk. From the moment I arrived the staff were friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. They were more than happy to offer advise on activities and willfully book them on your behalf. The rooms were spacious and presented in immaculate condition. The bonus of free internet was very welcome, with speeds more than capable for browsing and streaming videos. I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay here, and shall be recommending it to anyone who decides to visit Adelaide in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramlux84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear ramlux84,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback about your recent stay with us. I am excited to read that we were able to provide you with such a positive experience and that our staff and facilities were above your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and I will be sure to share this with our team.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent two nights here, separated by a trip to Kangaroo Island, and was impressed by the professionalism, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - both front desk and restaurant. They happily stored our luggage in-between, and arranged for it to be waiting in our room on return, and they offered great advice and went to the trouble of printing out directions and maps without even being asked. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Perhaps look a little on the tired side and the aircon was the noisiest I've ever heard, but ruthlessly efficient! Great breakfast, and dinner at the restaurant was also superb, though I should have kept to 2 courses - the portions are huge!

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have baths - specify if you'd like on (may cost more - not sure)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear underw00d,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and I am pleased to read that you found our team members to be professional and helpful and that they were able to assist you during your stay.

I do take your comments regarding our rooms on board and will certainly consider this for upcoming projects. I also apologise for any inconvenience the air conditioning unit caused during your stay.

And finally, I am delighted that you had a positive dining experience for breakfast and dinner as we have recently made some significant enhancements to this aspect of our product. Our team have worked tirelessly to enhance our menus and offerings and I trust that next time you stay, you will notice some further improvements.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I tried this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadviser and wasn't disappointed.

The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and all the amenities are there. The hotel is well-located, a short walk from the centre of the city and the east end restaurants.

My only (minor) gripe was the speed of the free internet which is described in the room as "high speed broadband". It was fast enough for email and basic functions but slow to download business files with graphics. (Speed was 1.5 Mbps down and 0.27 up.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear AussieStrategist,

Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback on our Hotel. It is pleasing to read that your stay with us lived up to your fellow traveller's feedback and exceeded your expectations in the process.

I have taken note on your feedback regarding the internet and will have our team review the speeds to ensure it is up to our customer's expectations.

We certainly hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,077 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing