We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel and dimed for everything here. Noisy. No wireless. Never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nickel and dimed for everything here. Noisy. No wireless. Never again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Forget free wireless; this hotel doesn't have wireless at all! They do have a broadband connection available in the room, but it is wired and quite pricey at $26.95 per day! If you don't want to pay that much for internet service, you'll be happy to know that the hotel proudly announces that dial-up internet service is available and billed at their phone rates - $1.00 if it's a local call, or much, much more if it's not. Seriously? No wireless in 2011? This is the only hotel I've stayed at in years that doesn't offer wireless.

Forgot your toothpaste? Well, not a problem...as long as you don't mind spending $7 for a miniature replacement out of the mini bar! Yes, even discount motel chains provide free toothpaste to guests who have forgotten it, but the Majestic doesn't...

The room itself looked quite nice on the surface, but the stylish bath opening into the bedroom was less appealing when my partner had to get up early for work and I wanted to sleep. The light shines right through the window onto the bed where I was sleeping, meaning my day started much earlier than I would have liked.

Of course, I couldn't sleep all that well to start with as the pillows on the bed were well past their prime and had become quite hard with age and overuse. I think they were once perhaps fluffy poly fiberfill, but that was years ago, and the ones on our bed were lumpy and hard. At a price point that rivaled that of a nice hotel in Paris or London, I was surprised to find such poor quality bedding.

Soundproofing to the exterior was adequate for sleep with earplugs. The hall posed more of a problem, and the close to 2-inch gap between the bottom of our door and the floor did not help with that issue.

Then there's cleanliness, or the lack of it. Hair on the back of the toilet always makes me cringe a bit. I did appreciate that the duvet cover was white sheeting and looks as if it is probably washed between guests - or at least I hope so!

All in all, we'll be staying elsewhere when we next return to Adelaide. I really can't understand why this hotel is rated so highly on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Meredithonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    619
    98
    27
    9
See reviews for
116
888
117
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

First, the cons, of which there were many: no bellman or concierge in evidence on check-in or check-out, very limited hot water in shower (but abundant cold), very hard bed with heated mattress pad that made the bed surface lumpy with its large wires (this perhaps could have been a plus in winter, but it was late summer and quite warm when we stayed), no drinking glasses in room (though I finally found lipstick-marked mug in a drawer), the smallest and lowest window I've ever seen in a hotel, blackout curtains that were hung poorly with missing hooks so that the morning light streamed in through the gaps. Then, despite paying $395 for this small room, reception did not have complimentary toiletries available. If one forgets toothpaste or a toothbrush, be prepared to spend $6 or so for a small replacement from the minibar.

Despite reserving a room for two adults and a child, there was no bed ready for the child and the staff argued with us about what we had reserved (we still had the confirmation confirming our details).

The room was clean (other than the soiled mug), and we appreciated that.

All in all, though, we were quite disappointed. We were paying a rate higher than that of the Shangri-La or Hilton in Sydney, so we expected a commensurate level of quality. If we had payed $150, we would have been fairly content.

Next time we are in Adelaide, we will stay at the Crowne Plaza (which is where we ended up having to walk to get a cab--and the bellman there was much nicer than any staff we encountered at the Majestic).

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancouverwanderer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Our 'executive' room on the first floor was a good size with a swish marble bathroom boasting a bath and smart shower cubicle. The beds were comfortable and the aircon very efficient (we arrived in a heatwave with temp over 40C). However there was only one chair (at the desk) so to watch the smart flat screen TV, one of us had to sit either on the end of a bed or on a little bench with no back rest.

The in room safe didn't work so we had to put passports & valuables in the safe down in Reception. Also the 'designer' bathroom fittings weren't as successful functionally as aesthetically - the soap dish kept tipping the soap off and the tap on the washbasin was so low you couldn't fill the kettle from it. Also the power sockets were very inconveniently positioned - we had a job to find one where we could plug the kettle in.

The roof garden was disappointing - just a few plants in pots and some whacky metal sculptures. However the location was ideal, close to shops and restaurants. Also the staff were very helpful during our 5 day stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed here in January - four nights, but spread over a week with overnight trips elsewhere in between. This involved checking in and out several times and having to have luggage stored for a stay on Kangaroo Island. It's a lovely hotel - very comfortable, well designed and in a good location. However, the striking thing about the hotel is the efficiency of the staff. Every aspect of our stay was handled promptly and on several occasions they anticipated what we needed in advance - and all with a smile and a genuine willingness. The only downside is having to pay for an internet connection - when will this end?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights in Fen 2011. The hotel is generally excellent - very nice modern rooms; excellent air con; large bathrooms; very quiet at night despite the location. My only complaint is the breakfast. The room is too small and the food is very moderate. The most bizarre aspect is the difficulty in getting a cup of coffee - the staff just don't seem to realise that they should be serving a drink when guests arrive for breakfast, and topping up cups thereafter. It is immensely frustrating.

Shame really as this aspect really detracts from a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Close to Rundle Mall and all central activities (think Haigs Chocolates and the Zoo) this is a well priced A1 place to stay. Though travelling on my own this time, the room would suit couples and they have many room types. WiFi in room and staff extremely helpful. A+++++

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed in an Executive Deluxe King room at this hotel for five nights. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Any requests to reception were attended to promptly. The room although a little on the small size was nicely presented, very clean and quiet. The bed was also very comfortable. We liked being able to individually control and adjust the air-conditioning settings to suit us. We could even turn it off if we so wished. The bathroom looked new and echoed the cleanliness of the room. It included a double-sized bath and an enormous shower recess surrounded by clear frameless glass. The only thing that could be greatly improved upon is the breakfast. Quite frankly we have had better quality food and presentation of buffet breakfasts in YHA hostels. Arrive towards the end of the breakfast time at your peril. The cut fruit pieces have been picked through and scattered over other food trays, the staff seemed oblivious to the mess. The hot selection comprised (every day) of under cooked bacon, drying up at the edges from sitting in the bain marie all morning, watery baked beans, scrambled egg, sausages and tomatoes. Most of this was luke warm at best. The staff did bring a nice hot cup of tea to the table but you had to try and catch their eye to ask for a second cup. Until I mentioned this to one of the staff members then the service standard did pick up, but not the quality of the food unfortunately. It is the standard of the breakfast food that let's this hotel down. Improve on that and our stay their would have been faultless. Something that is hard to match these days when choosing accommodation can be a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oberonrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing