We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I had a two night stay in April 2014, having stayed in the Hindley St area before, but not at this place. It's a nice, clean and reasonably well laid out hotel. My room is also clean with everything you would expect for a hotel - nothing much to say one way or the other.
My only (minor) gripes is that they should clean the grouting in the shower and parking. With thsi hotel, you need to park in Hindley St which is actually a couple of hundred metres away by the time you drive there although fifty or so metres if you walk it. However the reason for this arrangement is obvious and actually quite painless. I'd come here again, for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonkatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 687 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

An older style hotel, the furnishing were a bit old fashioned with slightly mismatched furniture. However I was there only to sleep so as long as it was clean and safe with a matching price, I was happy.

It had all the mod cons and which I was quite surprised, Peter Morrissey’s bath products.
The reception was very ultra friendly. It was close to a lot of shops and Rundle Mall was literally around the corner.

If you are looking for something economical but with all convenience and location and not too fuss about how the furniture looks, this would be a good stay.

The public bus to the airport (J1 and J3, I think) was literally across the hotel. So if you have time and want to save a few dollars, the bus is the way to go. Info on the bus times can be obtained from the internet or the tourist information which is also literally around the corner. I took the bus for a few dollars and enjoyed the suburbs of Adelaide. The bus dropped me off in front of the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My sister and I stayed here recently for a Spa Weekend and it was fabulous. We were pampered every day with facials, massages and treatments by their award winning spa. It was very relaxing! Every single detail in our stay was attended to with a beautiful attitude, which is hard to find in most hotels located in the downtown core of any city. Their impeccable service will set a new standard that other hotels will have a hard time emulating. The attention to small details add to the experience from the welcome tray of tea delivered to your room, to offering coffee along with your wake up call. Their staff creates a gracious welcome from beginning to end! The views on the 45th floor Bridge are unsurpassed from the Bay to the Financial District. We would recommend a stay here not just for business, but to relax and enjoy the city . Truly amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very good standard and close to the city centre of Adelaide. Very helpful people all over the hotel and very helpful for advising tours etc. The best hotel in the city centre and close to Henley street,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totte48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for two nights after staying in Glenelg for five nights. The building is a bit run down and unassuming as you enter on a side street but the room we had on the 7th floor was very spacious and had oldish but comfortable decor. It is on the corner of Currie and King William St and hence, very very convenient if you are doing things in the CBD. There is no parking on site but there is parking on Hindley St and you can hire a car there if you go with Thrifty Hire. Unfortunately, this can be somewhat confusing to get to from Currie St as there are many one way roads in the CBD. Perhaps the staff could be more well informed about the one way roads and advise guests accordingly. We ordered room service a few times and were surprised about how affordable their prices were, especially compared to Perth prices. It was really good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

spent two days here after arriving thursday 5th march without my luggage as the airline lost it the hotel staff were very helpful they chased the airline to get my suitcase delivered promptly. Pre paid for breakfast which was lovely fresh produce and again great service. we were not bothered by any noise from other guests as you so often do in some hotels would recommend again and again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkheavenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Was disappointed with quality, seamed to be a hassle, NO parking out front!!! and you cant get a park unless u park on hindley street a bad Adelaide street. Staff tried their best but their was not nearly enough to keep up a high standard of service. Thought Grand chancellor gold coast was better by far!! Wont stay again. The bill was never explained and was not agreed on but we just paid as we had had enough and you cant wait around with the restrictions on transport. They made up our room once out of a four day visit to. Large spa broken and pool unusable. Cheers

Room Tip: Check ahead about fine details and how to get around problems in advance, a holiday shouldnt cause s...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Address: 18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: $98 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a nearly 100 year old Neo-Georgian style building, The Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie stands proud as a beacon of Adelaide’s culture and history. Located in the heart of the CBD, our guests have the pleasure of immersing themselves into the food and wine renaissance our vibrant city is experiencing. With a doorstep on the emerging cosmopolitan laneway that is Gilbert Place, a short walk from our 4 star hotel will take you to attractions like Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, The Festival Theatre, The Convention Centre, Adelaide Central Markets and Adelaide Casino. Our knowledgeable and dedicated front office team are available 24 hours a day to help you tailor your stay to suit your needs perfectly. The Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie is committed to providing top quality guest services in a peaceful, homely setting, with all the conveniences of being located in a world class destination. With Leigh Street, Peel Street and Gilbert Place on our doorstep, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie sits at the focal point of Adelaide’s great food and wine renaissance. With an emerging sense of community and a focus on local produce, the city of Adelaide has become a smorgasbord of art and culture for even the most discerning guest. With South Australia recently being named in the top tourist spots of the world, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie is in the prefect location to take advantage of everything this great state has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing