We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had a good stay in a 1 bedroom apartment which was spacious and comfortable. The curtains and furniture is very dated and needs to be updated but the room was clean and serviceable. We also found the traffic noise was quite loud at times.City shops, buses and trams are a few steps from the hotel. There is a very reasonably priced laundry in the hotel, also an indoor pool and gym. Parking is provided for $15 per night in a nearby parking station but we were able to find street parking in nearby Weymouth Street.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Taraterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Taraterrific,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I was very pleased to hear that the One Bedroom Suite was spacious and comfortable during your stay. We are in the process of refurbishing the all accommodation rooms and should see this completed by the end of November 2013. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 765 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Easy access to CBD. Parking close with reasonable rates. Rooms clean covering the basics with excellent beds & linen. Restaurant open for all meals. Excellent selection of magazines & daily papers available for no extra cost. Really great rate for executive room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planettracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Planettracey

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is well located and the staff were ok. But our room was small and dingy, the bathroom was mouldy, and the furnishings badly stained. The air conditioner was noisy and didn't really do much, the internet didn't work, and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was a real downer. Overall, awful. Cant believe it has the gall to give itself 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Alex B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. I appreciate the comments you have made and I will ensure that these are passed on. The hotel is currently undergoing a soft refurbishment and is covering all this issues that you have raised. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights when we passed through Adelaide. The rooms looked outdated with older furniture and older curtains/bedspreads. The internet was not free and the food was costly. The air conditioner/heater made a loud, screeching noise which made it hard to sleep. There was excellent customer service though! As we were falling asleep, we heard loud kicking and yelling next door. I called the front desk and they immediately investigated the situation. Apparently the person had a mental disorder and was upset. We were immediately moved to a room on another floor so that we could sleep. The next night we were upgraded to a suite with a hot tub for the inconvenience. This hotel also held our luggage for one night for free while we went on a tour to Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Jamie M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding the staff, I will ensure that these are passed on. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Prime location close to food, markets, shops, buses, train station, river, parks and tram. Lovely big rooms with big bathroom. Room spa is nice. Didnt use the pool or spa at basement nor the restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff who held our bags as we were early and the room wasn't ready. Only negative is a noisy air con/heater once it is off and no views out of our top floor room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttons81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear buttons81

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding our staff and facilities. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great customer service at the front desk. As there is no internet terminal in the lobby, the front desk was very kind to check-in on-line for my flight, saving me the trouble to seek an internet cafe. The room was spacious with high ceiling and clean. The front desk accommodated my request for a room with walk-in shower. The flat screen television was great with many choices of digital channels. The daily papers are available free at the lobby right next to the two elevators. The hotel quality is consistently high standard and value for money during my two stays over the last two years. Unfortunately, I didn't get time to use the swimming pool and spa at the lower ground level.

It is a one minute walk to the major retailers in Rundle Mall along King William Street on one side and a five minutes walk in the opposite direction towards the must visit Central Markets and Chinatown, where there is a great collection of restaurants of various cuisines. There is a newly remodelled shopping plaza called Rundle Place in the mall, housing many boutique stores as well as the Adelaide iconic retailer Harris Scarfe, freshly re-merchandised . There is a great food court, supermarket and a major pharmacy group at the basement level.

The tram stop to Glenelg is just a few steps out from the hotel from Currie Street onto King William Street spanning from North Terrace to Glenelg Beach.

Room Tip: All the walls of the room are quite solid and insular from noise. Mine was one level 1 and had a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Always Food

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our stay and will continue to stay at the hotel.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I regularly stay at either this Chancellor, or its sister in Hindley St. Whilst I prefer Hindley St for the shorter walk to restaurants, Currie St is really no more than 3 minutes further away. I regularly ask for and receive one of the club floor rooms as they are slightly larger and quieter. i and am always well received and the hotel has everything that I need for my business trips. It is close to transport luckily, as there is no in house parking. (Something the Hindley property does have)

The food at their restaurant has always been excellent!!! I recommend the Smoked Salmon Bruschetta, delicious.
The staff have always been friendly and happy to assist .

It is my next preference when the other Grand is booked out..

I will be back

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mirgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mirgy

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we will be able to welcome you back to both our properties in Adelaide.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Address: 18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: $80 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a nearly 100 year old Neo-Georgian style building, The Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie stands proud as a beacon of Adelaide’s culture and history. Located in the heart of the CBD, our guests have the pleasure of immersing themselves into the food and wine renaissance our vibrant city is experiencing. With a doorstep on the emerging cosmopolitan laneway that is Gilbert Place, a short walk from our 4 star hotel will take you to attractions like Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, The Festival Theatre, The Convention Centre, Adelaide Central Markets and Adelaide Casino. Our knowledgeable and dedicated front office team are available 24 hours a day to help you tailor your stay to suit your needs perfectly. The Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie is committed to providing top quality guest services in a peaceful, homely setting, with all the conveniences of being located in a world class destination. With Leigh Street, Peel Street and Gilbert Place on our doorstep, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie sits at the focal point of Adelaide’s great food and wine renaissance. With an emerging sense of community and a focus on local produce, the city of Adelaide has become a smorgasbord of art and culture for even the most discerning guest. With South Australia recently being named in the top tourist spots of the world, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie is in the prefect location to take advantage of everything this great state has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing