We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while on holiday. Picked this hotel for the location to the CBD. Did not disappoint. The rooms are old style but very comfortable, good air con and roomy bathroom.
Large beds are very comfy as well. Staff especially Carmen on reception were very helpful.
Only negative was the bar did not open until 5.30 pm but we coped. There are numerous bars and cafes close by. Would stay again definitely. good for budget conscious travelers as rates are very reasonable. Rooms are very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzzanne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear OakuraSue1

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 709 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

After 15 nights in a campervan the sight of a massive bed and all the comforts of a hotel room were a dream come true. We were on our honeymoon and the hotel staff were so welcoming and interested in our wedding (which we of course were all up for talking about!)

The room was absolutely massive. The bed was so big that it felt like you were in it alone and you could roll over about 6 times without falling out the other side!

The bathroom was spotless and there was a substantial selection of toiletries refreshed every day.

The hotel itself contained friendly staff and nothing was ever too much trouble. When we first checked in we were unexpectedly asked for a deposit to be paid in lieu of any items we would be charging to our room. As it was the end of a very long trip we didnt have the money they were asking for. If memory serves me correct they were wanting AUD$50 per night. That would have left us with nothing for the remainder of our trip as we were there for 5 nights and didnt intend on raiding the mini bar! The manager was very understanding and allowed us to just leave a lower amount. Which we were very grateful for!

Breakfasts in the hotel were yummy and they were happy to substitute things and make it how you wanted it. People seemed to come from other hotels and just stop there for the breakfasts so it was obviously well thought of.

The location was right in the city centre along a safer feeling street. There are lots of restaurants in the area. The bus to the footie is just outside the hotel and the tram leaves from a 2 minute walk away.

And downstairs in the basement is a hot tub and a pool and a gym. We went down there a couple of times and were the only people down there every time. The pool looked a bit dingy and was freeeezing but the hot tub was beautiful! The gym looked well equipped although neither of us felt the urge to use it on our honeymoon!

Would definitely recommend this hotel for your Adelaide stay

Room Tip: We had a room in a corner which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryony123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Bryony123

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

It is always a please to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay particularly as it was such as special occassion for you both.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for a night with a baby and the room was very comfortable. Room service was available and although we had to ask for a bath plug they found us one quite quickly. As it was a long weekend there were not many staff on duty on the Monday. We could have done with a porter to help with the baggage as we had luggage for an international flight.
Staff were friendly and the place had a lovely clean look. We did not try the restaurant as there were plenty of othere places close by outside the Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeGroothuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear DianeGroothuis

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

We appreciate the feedback that is received by our guests and have taken on board your comments.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed 8 nights as first time in Adelaide and going to the Clipsal 500. Perfect location for trams and buses, shopping in mall, or anything we required. Staff very friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. Bed extremely comfortable. No noise at all, very quiet. Restaurant enjoyable lovely food. Lots of other eating places handy. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Booked through flight centre travel agent good deal

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Marilyn B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read when one of our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here 1 night and booked the room via booking.com. The staff from the reception was very nice and helpfull. We wanted to have more pillows and within 5 minutes the lady from the reception came to our room with the pillows.
The room was also just fine and clean. Great hotel to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Moira13

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

It is always a pleasure to read when one of our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good location, the staff were friendly and efficient both on checkin and checkout.

The room was good value I felt, this place was priced towards the cheaper end of anything half decent in Adelaide. Big clean bathroom, very large double bed, aircon, large modern TV and a fridge.

Would stay here again if I needed a central Adelaide hotel.

It is worth considering if looking at their other hotel on Hindley that this hotel is only 2 minutes walk from Hindley street but without the same noise and disorder you get down there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hostelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear hostelhunter

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As Tonymf indicated, we took the bus to the hotel from the airport and back several days later. It was very convenient. The staff at the hotel was very helpful. There were not many places nearby to eat, but we ate at the restaurant in the hotel for most meals. The parking garage was a little scarey. The spaces seemed to be very small compared to what I am used to in the US, but it met our needs. We only rented the car for two days so we could visit the great wildlife places outside the city. We walked the rest of the time. The people in Adelaide were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmsrobesonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear hmsrobesonia

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Address: 18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: $97 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a nearly 100 year old Neo-Georgian style building, The Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie stands proud as a beacon of Adelaide’s culture and history. Located in the heart of the CBD, our guests have the pleasure of immersing themselves into the food and wine renaissance our vibrant city is experiencing. With a doorstep on the emerging cosmopolitan laneway that is Gilbert Place, a short walk from our 4 star hotel will take you to attractions like Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, The Festival Theatre, The Convention Centre, Adelaide Central Markets and Adelaide Casino. Our knowledgeable and dedicated front office team are available 24 hours a day to help you tailor your stay to suit your needs perfectly. The Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie is committed to providing top quality guest services in a peaceful, homely setting, with all the conveniences of being located in a world class destination. With Leigh Street, Peel Street and Gilbert Place on our doorstep, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie sits at the focal point of Adelaide’s great food and wine renaissance. With an emerging sense of community and a focus on local produce, the city of Adelaide has become a smorgasbord of art and culture for even the most discerning guest. With South Australia recently being named in the top tourist spots of the world, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie is in the prefect location to take advantage of everything this great state has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing