We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chancellor on Currie
Nearby Hotels
Miller Apartments Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Peppers Waymouth Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$106
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adabco Boutique Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mayfair Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$152
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$113
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$77
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$100
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$130
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$101
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveler rating
227
371
157
51
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
371
157
51
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrundle mallgreat locationpancake kitchenside streethindley stcentral locationpublic transportspa bathking william streetcar parkgood sizebusiness tripcomfortable roombars and restaurantscomfortable staystayed for nightsstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 834 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Few hotels give business travellers the space, light and comfort needed to work in your room. This is the exception.
My corner room, 1020, was exceptional. A huge desk, natural light and overhead ceiling lights, proper desk chair and easy to reach plug connection. Only shortcoming is there's no room wifi (although it is in the bar downstairs) and there is a fee based cable connection.
Otherwise this room is very large and elegant, the bathroom is huge and has a proper bath and seep rate shower. Breakfast buffet acceptable, staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, Manager at The Chancellor on Currie, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear Red263

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services. It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Adelaide and the Barossa Valley. The hotel is a short walk into town. Our room was dated but clean and well kept. The staff at the front desk was very helpful in providing directions, recommendations and helping us to co-ordinate with our party also staying in the hotel. The room was spacious for 2 people and had everything we needed for our stay, even a few free cookies :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a belated review of the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie which we stayed at while visiting Adelaide in March 2011. Overall the hotel was alright. However, one wet morning, we decided to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant. This was a big mistake. I decided to have toast and was told to help myself to it on the buffet table where the breads and jams were laid out. The breads were just supermarket sliced breads. So I toasted four slices as they were pretty flimsy. I was charged for two servings – about $18.00! This is terrible as they were not bakery type quality breads but just ordinary supermarket slices. No wonder the restaurant was empty. I will not be staying with the Hotel Grand Chancellor again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The reception staff were very helpful and always with a smile. The rooms were clean and spacious but the bathroom was very compact and didn't have any storage. The water pressure was poor. Our room had an old analogue tv. The room looked out to a service alley and more rooms. No buffet breakfast available, help yourself continental or off the menu, meals were good. Location is very good for walking to everything in the city. Parking extra $15.

Room Tip: Ask for an LCD tv.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Chose this hotel based on price and location for a short stay in Adelaide with my Mother. Very comfy (firm) beds, great water pressure in the shower and we had one of the rooms with the new LCD TVs (great for watching the All Blacks win the Rugby World Cup on!). Front desk and cleaning staff were all super friendly and helpful when we asked questions of where to go. Only niggle would be that the fridge wasn't very cold but air con worked well.

Was an easy walk to the museums, art gallery, botanical gardens and zoo. Panda's were the reason for visiting and didn't disappoint.

Free wifi is available at Internode spots throughout Adelaide - Rundle Mall (2min walk) was the closest strong signal that I could find which was great for checking email.

Thoroughly recommend Boulevard cafe at end of Gilbert lane for breakfast.

Room Tip: Price was the same when booking direct through the hotel website - seem to get a better room that way.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Possum-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews