We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it's flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Has it's flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

Our stay did not start off too great at this hotel. Without wanting to say too much, the laneway next to the hotel (where the carparking is) was blocked of by police as it was a crime scene. Now please note, that (once we found out why) our safety was never at risk, nor did we ever feel unsafe.

Anyway, while this commotion was going on, I was trying to check in. The girl at the desk checking me in was easily the worst staff member we encountered. She was on the phone the whole time while checking me in, and barely said a word to me. She palmed me off to another staff member in the middle of checking in, who I am pleased to say was much friendlier and more helpful.

The actual building is fairly modern in design, but is very worn. The hallway where our room was had lots of patch marks, and everything just seemed very worn down.

This also continued into our 2 bedroom apt. Scratches/dents on the wall, broken furniture, the couch had tears and holes in it, and a couple of the blinds were jammed so they wouldn't go down (a problem seemingly not confined to our room, as friends in another room reported). The marble top coffee table was not stuck down, so if you tried to move it (like we did to make room for the rollaway) the top came off. Rusted blind cords, and chipped tiles in the bathroom. I am really not a fussy person but all of these little things compound into something you really cannot ignore.

I had volunteered to sleep on a rollaway in the lounge/dining/kitchen area. Firsly the rollaway was one of the most comfortable I had ever seen. It was practically the same size as a single bed and seemed to have a proper matress on it.
However as our apt was at the back of the hotel (facing Hindley St) I could hear the noise from the clubs on the Fri/Sat night we were there. My travel companions reported hearing no noise in their bedrooms, so it is probably only in the lounge area- something to be aware of.

Now to room itself. It had nice touches, like a full size fridge, a small diswasher, marble table tops (I think they were real marble), but I think the lack of maintenence far outweighed these perks.

Also, one last thing to note, it probably says this in the terms & conditions, but silly enough we didn't read it. They freeze money on your credit card for your stay, not just simply taking an imprint. It was $200, for our 2 night stay. Not illegal, but just something to be aware of when you stay.

  • Liked — Great location with a tram stop right out front
  • Disliked — The total lack of maintenance
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Steph1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    209
    59
    30
    18
See reviews for
98
131
23
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

We stayed at the Oaks Horizons as a base for seeing Adelaide. It is within walking distance of the Conference Centre and the main shopping area. The apartment was spacious, clean and well equipped. Reception staff are young, friendly and helpful. Ask for an upper floor. The higher you are the less street noise you get. We had breakfast in the Aroma Cafe which is part of the hotel. A bit 'clattery' but a good breakfast.

There are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance. We tried the Bistro in the Confernce Centre one evening which was very good. For something very different try Saldechin, a short walk from the hotel in King William Street. Lovely food in an old banking hall - lots of marble etc. Live music of Friday evenings.

The free inner city trams and others for longer journeys stop right outside the hotel.

  • Liked — well equipped apartment
  • Disliked — noisy cafe (but the food was good)
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

Would not recommend this hotel! Booked online 3 months in advance, but on arrival to the hotel the person said that the hotel had been overbooked and they could not offer us our room, so they put us in the oaks plaza pier which was 20min drive from this hotel! We were very disappointed at this because the main reason we wanted to stay here was for the casino which was just down the road...

After convincing the person at check in, we got them to give us a room at the oaks embassy which was just next door, which was a very nice hotel. They also provided us a complimetary breakfast. We stayed at embassy for 1 night and then went to the pier plaza which was ok too and was right on the beach..

Overall if you want to stay here i would suggest confirming your booking before going there. Oaks embassy is better in my opinion anyway as the front desk had much better customer service skills as compared to oaks horizons.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank drazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed here two nights during our trip to Australia earlier this month.

We arrived after 10 pm at the hotel (as we had indicated in our on-line booking) and our reception was less then warm. The room/ apartment was quite large, but the third bed we had booked turned out to be a fold away bed, still folded against the wall instead of turned down. Then we discovered that the sheets of the remaining two beds had not been changed and were covered in hairs of the previous occupants of this room! Ugghh! Upon ringing housekeeping with this complaint we were brought fresh sheets, but were left to change them our selves. Although the rest of the rooms looked clean, the next morning we also found that the shower was filled with fungus. I wonder whether housekeeping had even bothered to look at this room!

The next morning we complained about the linen and the reception clerk didn't react at all. When we asked if we could be given a refund on account of our complaint we were offered a free breakfast, but no discount nor an apology for the inconvenience.

If after this review you are still willing to stay at this hotel, please be aware of the fact that your bedroom window is only two meters away from the office building next to it, so do not forget to close the curtains during weekdays, as you will have quite an audience if you leave them open.

  • Liked — Space
  • Disliked — Unclean beds and showers
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

The facilities at this hotel are excellent with washer / dryer and dishwasher. We had a good view over Adelaide from a balcony. The apartment had a separate lounge/kitchen and bedroom and was sportlessly clean.
Whilst there we had a problem with a tour and the hotel staff sorted everything so we did not miss our tour.The hotel has a cafe, but nearby there are excellent eating places and a wonderful happy hour at the Sebel.
Close to all the (historical) sites and on the free bus route, this is a good place to stay in Adelaide.

  • Liked — Postion. Room facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

Very good location, good priced very nicely decorated in modern style big windws with balcony and view. great location fro confernce centre and handy to restaurnats.

i has some problems dishwasher that kept turning itself on at 2am in the morning!! But worse was the street noise i did stay from wednesday to a monday and it was noisy every night with people walking the streets to at least 3or 4am it drove me crazy i just coudl not sleep the car noise was bad but drunken screaming all night made it very uncomfortable!!.

  • Liked — modern decor great kitchen
  • Disliked — drunken street noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in 2006 whilst attending a conference in Adelaide. Booked well in advance and secured a 1 bedroom apartment for the bargain rate of $99.00 per night (opening special).

At the time I was pretty impressed with the place. Decor was modern, crisp & clean. Pool & fitness area were especially nice with the added bonus of a steam room.

I'm sure the normal rate would be far higher than $99.00 so I guess I'd probably pay up to $130-40 without complaining (then again Adelaide is pretty cheap with accomodation - it has to be!).

Staff were friendly enough and provided all the info I needed. Location is OK, but a little removed from the Rundle mall hub and a decent hike on foot. There is a free bus system for those who like waiting at bus stops. It is, however, close to the Arts centre, central train station and casino.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foxy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#33 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Property: Oaks Horizons
Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing