We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's just the little things”
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's just the little things”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

On the positive side a nicely located hotel close to the Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall and public transport. Also a very nice view if you are up high enough and good sized balcony. The reception staff were very helpful and pleasant. Nice little kitchen with full fridge/freezer, oven, cooktops and dishwasher. They have parking at $18 per day and you need to book as the spots are limited (there is a parking garage nearby if you miss out). Now the little things. The "river" room only has glimpses of the Torrens river as there are several buildings in between. The TV remote was missing and the bluray player remote battery was dead. The safe is battery powered (!!) and that was dead too (the maintenance guy was up in about 20 min to fix that). There are about 12 Foxtel channels but no listing as to what they were. Reception said it changed to often for them to make a list in the rooms so I made one myself. Shower screen was way too small for the shower over bath setup resulting in puddles on the floor. Finally a day before arriving I checked the rates and found them to be $25 per day lower than my booking rate. Called the hotel who passed me on to "central reservations" who then advised as I was within my no cancellation period they wouldn't do anything (effectively they had me). Most hotels around with the world would match that cheaper price offer as an act of goodwill but not this lot. According to a front desk person if I had not booked on the website but rung the hotel directly they might have been able to do something. Something to be wary of! I would consider staying here again but would look around at other options first.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHorizons, Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons Apartments. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment lovely and spacious.

All communication from our guests is appreciated and shared amongst staff for training and development purposes.

Its nice to hear that you enjoyed Adelaide and you found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    209
    60
    30
    18
See reviews for
98
133
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Normally I stay at the oaks embassy, but as that was booked out, I opted to stay here instead.

Great location, great rooms, great service!

This hotel is great value for your money and you get an apartment, not just a room!

Unfortunately, it is more of a budget room compared to the oaks embassy, however still nice at the same time!

Would recommend for someone on a smaller budget, however if you want more for your money, pay the extra and stay at oaks embassy!

Great hotel all the same! Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHorizons, Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons Apartments. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment lovely and spacious. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed Adelaide. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I spend a lot of long working holidays in Adelaide (usually 5 to 6 wks) at a time. This is the first time I have stayed here and wont be the last. Huge comfy bed. But most importantly to me, I love how quiet and peaceful my stay was. There was one occasion where some youngens thought they would throw a loud party on the floor, however, that was swiftly dealt with my security.

I do have a couple of negatives.

1. The shower and bath are a universal switch. Therefore you have to run the bath on full bore then pull the universal switch out to transfer it over to shower...and ye, you get saturated in the meantime (really bad idea that one)

2. Theres no cupboard space in the kitchen. Every cupboard is already full with cups, plate. So there is nowhere to put shopping items etc except to leave them out on the bench.

However these are minor negatives and I will stay again as will I recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Mich3110, Thanks for writing about your trip to Oaks Horizons and letting me know it was pleasant and peaceful. The beds that we purchase are very comfortable and are used throughout the group, same as the furniture in general. I am glad that security are doing what they are paid to. Sometimes the design of apartments are not quite thought through properly, hence why the shower over bath scenario has a fancy tap design and I know they weer thinking to get more space in the living room when they built the kitchens. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is very central, offers free parking which was a big bonus and well priced. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it would have been better if it had a second bathroom but overall, nice apartment, spacious, river "glimpses" and a laundry in the bathroom.

Room Tip: We requested a river view and higher level but the view of the river wasn't that good - only a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Bowsider, By the look of things you have travelled a good distance to visit Adelaide and I am pleased that you chose Oaks Horizons as your home away from home. With the refurbishment of the Convention Centre this has added a bit of height to their building and this was unexpected. We are in the process of changing some of our room types as a result of this however the river view aspect of the apartment is available in certain rooms. The majoirty of the 2 bedroom apartments were designed with only 1 bathroom however we do have a few 2 bedroom executive apartments offering the second bathroom. Next time you are down in Adelaide call ahead to check on their availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Oaks Horizons and staff for a very pleasant stay in Adelaide. Great position for the Conference Centre. My wife and l enjoyed the extra space of an apartment and the kitchen area for meals. Great views and close to Rundle Mall and Restaurants.
Having a laundry also was a bonus.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear David, Our properites on North Terrace are well located as you mentioned; opposite the Convention Centre. The Convention Centre is currently going through a refurbishment and when completed will be a wonderful addition to Adelaide CBD. Having a fully self contained apartment is generally the best type of accommodation, particularly if you are after a full kitchen, laundry and open plan living. Don't forgeet about us when you return to Adelaide. Thanks for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

clean , great service very central location, public transport , convention centre and casino at front door. Good resturants in walking distance.
In the CDB close to the shopping precinct and a tram ride fom Glenelg beach, this is an overall well priced good apartment to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Michelle G, The Oaks Horizons is well located in the CBD and I would agree that it is very central. Hindley Street backs onto us and this is the location of restaurants favoured by all generations. The housekeeping team have a responsibility to ensure that the apartment is clean and I am pleased to see that's what you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Horizons in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stay often in excellent Oaks apartments and Oaks Horizons was also a wonderful place.Reception staff very nice and helpful and Service staff professional.Everything to explore is close by and easy.Taxi from airport $21.There is a Tram at door with 3 stops to Central Market or to end the beach of Glenelg and the Entertainment Centre the other way.Bus at door to Sunday Fishermen's Wharf Market in North Adelaide or 4 stops to Botanic Gardens. Walk 100 mtr to Train Station or Casino.Walk 200 mtr to the new walkway towards new Football Stadion and river.Walk 300 mtr to Rundle Mall for shopping.We are back very soon.Thank you Oaks people,we love Adelaide

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edward E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Edward,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Oaks Horizons. Adelaide is a great city and well laid out to get around. There is a lot to do here and I am pleased that you had the opportunity to get about. I am pleased that you enjoy the Oaks product and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#33 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Property: Oaks Horizons
Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#23 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing