We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but noisy”
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
cairns
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice but noisy”
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Very good location, good priced very nicely decorated in modern style big windws with balcony and view. great location fro confernce centre and handy to restaurnats.

i has some problems dishwasher that kept turning itself on at 2am in the morning!! But worse was the street noise i did stay from wednesday to a monday and it was noisy every night with people walking the streets to at least 3or 4am it drove me crazy i just coudl not sleep the car noise was bad but drunken screaming all night made it very uncomfortable!!.

  • Liked — modern decor great kitchen
  • Disliked — drunken street noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    216
    62
    32
    18
See reviews for
102
141
24
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in 2006 whilst attending a conference in Adelaide. Booked well in advance and secured a 1 bedroom apartment for the bargain rate of $99.00 per night (opening special).

At the time I was pretty impressed with the place. Decor was modern, crisp & clean. Pool & fitness area were especially nice with the added bonus of a steam room.

I'm sure the normal rate would be far higher than $99.00 so I guess I'd probably pay up to $130-40 without complaining (then again Adelaide is pretty cheap with accomodation - it has to be!).

Staff were friendly enough and provided all the info I needed. Location is OK, but a little removed from the Rundle mall hub and a decent hike on foot. There is a free bus system for those who like waiting at bus stops. It is, however, close to the Arts centre, central train station and casino.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foxy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2008

I stayed here, wanting a secure, clean well located hotel, all of which I received!

I did book a 1 bedroom but was given a 2 bedroom (nothing wrong with that) with a view over the carpark & into the surrounding offices. So, if you are booking I would definately request a room with a view, if that matters to you. I did ask to be shifted but was told it wasn't possible. One other thing, there were no towels and the room hadn't been properly made up, no pillows on beds etc. However, I contacted the reception and they were very quick in bringing up the extra bedlinen.

The location is brilliant & I would recommend this to anyone as being clean, neat & secure. The carpark was very small but I never had a problem finding a park.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Terrible View
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ADL075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed at the hotel in early to mid 2007. Had a good stay, got the request we wanted. The secure carpark is good. The room was clean and modern, with good facilities overall. One problem being when we rang for room service, they said they were too busy and to call back in 15 minutes, which we did ring back 15 minutes later, but when we did they said they were about to close so sorry we can't bring your breakfast up, when i complained and said i rang up 15 minutes ago, she went and asked someone who finally said it was ok to order and it all worked out fine, but its not very professional. The other bad thing was that we checked out and paid our account at the time as we always do before we leave a hotel but about 7 or so months later i got an eftpos transaction in the mail saying that the hotel removed money from my account, which they had no authority to do and no warning given to me. The hotel say they have no record i ever paid. So why did i get my bond back? And why did i never get an overdue account warning? I didn't even know a hotel would let you leave without settling your account in one way or another i.e cash or credit card/debit card. My advice, if you stay here, always keep your receipts, because i threw mine out at tax time(3 months after the stay), and now they're saying i never paid. SO always keep your receipts for at least a year or two as clerical errors happen all the time like this (is what my bank said). And be careful with your bank details.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lolala_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney - Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Was a pretty good 2 bedroom apartment. Nice and clean with good facilities. In a pretty good spot, especially if you're keen on the casino.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

Good location, nice wee pool and sauna, albeit with a dodgy steam vent and unstable wooden bench. Good room and facilities,.Unfortunately through no fault of the hotel we ended up close to neighbours who wanted to play music till 5am, but when we phoned reception they sorted it very quickly. Unfortunately another neighbour seemed to get up at 5am everyday and played base guitar music. Take your earplugs and its fine.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyDayAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

I wrote a review and just realised that it should have been Oaks Horizons Adelaide NOT Oaks Embassy. So I'll try again.

Recently stayed at Oaks Horizons on North Terrace. The location is pretty good about 5 min walk from Rundle Mall and across the street from a free tram that travels around the city.
If you are staying here and you have small children and they like to channel surf just be aware of the cable channel that has a 24 hour soft porn TV show. It did get a bit noisy at night (there's a pub just nearby). Our room didn't have much of a view so maybe if booking via phone you could ask for a view of something, other than a carpark.

When it comes to transport I recommend you purchase an all day ticket ($7.50) and this allows you to travel on trains, trams and buses up until midnight. We took advantage of this and did a day trip to Harndorf where I had for lunch the biggest Kransky hot dog I have ever seen (about 1 foot long), took the tram to Glenelg beach and had dinner in North Adelaide on the restaurant strip. If you are looking for a good meal also head to Gouger Street where there are plenty of restaurants (especially Thai and Asian). The Central Markets is worth a visit especially if you are looking for some yummy picnic food.

We did a Murray River tour with a company called Prime Mini Tours to the Murray River (cost $95) It collects you from the hotel stopping for some photos at the Mt Lofty summit then heads to Mannum for a 3 hour cruise. The tour includes simple but very nice lunch (glass of wine or soft drink included) morning tea and fresh fruit, great commentary, a stop at the Mannum Museaum and to top it off a stop at Melba chocolates.

When we arrived at the airport we asked what the best way to get to the city was by taxi or by coach and were told that the taxi should cost between $15 and $20 and the coach would cost $7.50 per person. We decided on the taxi. We got a very talkative driver who upon arrival at the hotel said 'oh look I forgot to put the meter on' and said that'll be $27.00...We didn't question it but it's a good lesson..make sure the meter is on especially if you are travelling to a city when the driver knows its your first time.

All in all we have a lovely time in Adelaide.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#33 of 57 in Adelaide
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 57 in Adelaide
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Property: Oaks Horizons
Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#23 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing