We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families”
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 6 nights with our two boys. There was lots of room, the decor was very pleasant, the location near the Theatre, Galleries, Museum and Rundall Mall was very convenient and the Glenelg Tram stopped a short way up the street. Great view. We enjoyed being right near the restaurants and bars of a number of top hotels. Staff were really helpful and efficient and the pool and gym facilities are well looked after. We slept well - good linen, nice pillows, quiet heating and it seemed very well sound proofed. I was particularly impressed to see Oaks Hotels were sponsors of the South Australian Theatre Company. We attended a fantastic theatre production and noticed them listed among the sponsors on the program. We booked through Rates to Go and the price was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peripidous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and good value. We are pleased to hear that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient to your needs and were able to enjoy our facilities and the Adelaide Theatre Company. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 619 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Surprised at how spacious the apartment was when we walked in. It was very quiet, clean, the beds comfortable, pleasant kitchen. There is a work desk with desk lamp, which is always appreciated. Didn't do much cooking so I can't comment on the compact grill/oven appliance.
Very close to the casino, the glenelg tram, and a short walk from buses in Currie st or to the Rundle Mall. The view was of a car park, so we didn't sit on the balcony, but you can pay extra for a view of the park. Loved the lap pool, though it was a little chilly. Meant we had it to ourselves for doing laps! I wouldn't like to stay in the room adjacent to the pool and gym, as the door slamming could get annoying. Otherwise, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: not the room adjacent to the pool/gym on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maidmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment to be spacious, quiet and clean. We are pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the lap pool and found the location of our hotel to be convenient to all your needs. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at the Oaks Horizon for 3 nights in a one bedroom river view apartment.
The location was very convenient to the convention centre - just across the road.

The apartment was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and the gym wasn't crowded so it met my needs very well.

The staff were chatty, helpful and sympathetic about lost luggage (unlike Qantas!)

I got a Wotif cheap price, so it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view apartment on a higher floor, you get a great view to the Adelaide Oval and Nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons Apartments. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be clean with a comfortable bed and that you were able to get a good price on Wotif. We are pleased you were able to utilise the gym facilities and that our staff were helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Comfortable stay here for a couple of nights in June. Two comfortable and spacious bedrooms, one bathroom and a kitchen, dining, lounge area all-in-one. This was perfect for our needs. Close to the river, tram line, local trains. A short walk to the CBD - particularly the mall. Friendly and helpful staff too, which can be a bonus these days. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank novatotiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We are pleased to read that you found your apartment to be comfortable and spacious and close to all you need to explore Adelaide. It is great to read that you were happy with the service you received from our staff and I will pass your feedback onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We loved our stay in Adelaide in May 2012. This apartment was well appointed and reasonably priced for what we found. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room in the bedrooms, bathroom and sitting room. Everything was clean and tidy.

On the other side of the coin the kitchen space if you are intending to cook is tiny. The washer/dryer was difficult to work and I wasn't keen to ask for assistance as the staff don't go out of their way to be helpful. I don't have any direct complaints about the staff but no one was warm or friendly and it was hard to find anyone able to make eye contact. I did get assistance when I asked for directions or suggestions for public transport though and no one was actively unhelpful.

We were also lucky enough to have a wonderful view of a fireworks display on the Saturday night which was fun for our kids and completely unexpected. North Terrace is a great spot to stay if you are enjoying the city of Adelaide. We enjoyed the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, the Museum and walking along the river. The tram, which stops 50 metres away from the hotel and costs nothing in the city centre, was a lot of fun for my 4 year old.

I love Adelaide and would stay again at this hotel without another thought. It would be easy to be put off by the staff on the front desk though and I can easily imagine that if something wasn't right in the apartment it would be difficult to get it set to right.

Room Tip: Loved our view of North Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank measie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. It is wonderful to read that you were happy with your apartment and found it to be well appointed and clean. We are pleased you found the location of the hotel convenient to everything you require to enjoy Adelaide. I will however pass your feedback onto the Hotel Manager in regards to the staff for their immediate attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay here for three nights. Clean and quite room with all basic facilities, although the bath and Internet facilities were a bit dated, with no wifi.
Conveniently located near tram line and the railway station, with most city attractions and the zoo, botanical gardens and river within a short walk from hotel.
Very good value for money with friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We are pleased to hear that you found your apartment to be clean, well equipped and conveniently located close to everything you need to explore Adelaide. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the Oaks Horizon for 3 nights in June, just for a short getaway. We found the hotel on Wotif and booked it through there, working at AUD$135 per night.

The hotel is located on North Terrace, a short 5 minute walk from the Adelaide CBD. We took a taxi form the airport, a ride of about 15 minutes and $20. Check in was quick and easy and the staff very friendly.

We had two occasions to deal with the front desk staff after check in and, on both times, our enquiry was handled well and resolved quickly.

Like most hotels today, the standard room key has been replaced with a plastic swipe card. This card operates the front door afterhours, the elevator and to access your room. Be patient in the elevator though – getting the key to register to get to your floor takes some practice.

We had a river view room on level 11 (room 1104). First impressions of the room were very good, from opening the door there was a distinct ‘new’ smell, as it had been recently renovated. The room was well laid out, spacious, with new appliances (although, strangely, it had no toaster) and the all important comfortable bed. The bathroom is large with excellent water pressure in the shower. The is also a combined washer/dryer in a cupboard in the bathroom. One point in regards to the shower – as it is a combined bath/shower, there is only one water control for both. To run the water for the shower, you must pull out and hold a small knob under the main tap. Once the pressure is sufficient, the shower will run. If you hadn’t had experience with setup before (we hadn’t) running the shower could be a real mystery.

One other noticeably absent item was the standard hotel in room guide. The front desk did supply two photocopied pages that set out check in/check out times, rubbish disposal etc. Most, if not all hotels, we have stayed in have a guide that outlines not only the usual hotel information, but also contains information on local restaurants, car hire, churches, shops and city maps. Yes, these brouches were available in the foyer but it would be better if this available in each room.

As stated previously, the hotel is well located to the CBD. Walking to Rundle Mall, the city’s main shopping precinct, takes about 5-7 minutes. There is a tram and railway station just a minute or two walk from the hotel as well. Tram, which runs from the city to Glenelg, is free for a number of sections, mainly the beginning and end of the journey. If you visit the tourist information office in Rundle Mall you can get further information on tram/train travel. Adelaide Casino is also located a couple of hundred metres from the hotel.

We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Adelaide.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a high floor for the best views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney2for2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We are pleased you found the location of our hotel to be convenient and that you were able to enjoy the river views from your apartment. Your suggestions have been passed onto the Hotel Manager for consideration. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Adelaide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#34 of 55 in Adelaide
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#20 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $118 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing