We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice position, excellent service and comfort”
Review of Oaks Horizons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Horizons
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I found the Oaks Horizon to be very well positioned in Adelaide, opposite the Convention centre and very close to the main railway station. A tram stop just a few metres down the road allows quick access to a modern tram system to Glenelg through the city centre or directly to the Exhibition centre in the opposite direction.
I had booked a one bedroom apartment which was clean, modern with full cooking facilities, very comfortable bed, nicely furnished and with good functional bathroom. My view was rather ordinary looking on to a car park building, but pay a little more and you could be overlooking the Torrens River. I was pleased with everything about this apartment hotel. The staff were always polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest level possible for a better view and more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Oaks Horizons. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were nice and close to all Adelaide has to offer. We hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 606 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. The hotel is conveniently located ~ about 100m to tram stop, short tram ride to Central Market/Chinatown, Rundell Mall, train station and casino down the road. In fact, you could take a slow stroll if you do not want to take the tram to Central Market and Rundell Mall. There are plenty of dining options and convenience stores within walking distance. The apartment was well furnished, a TV each in lounge and bedroom, working washing machine and dryer, dishwasher, microwave, balcony, comfortable bed. Plenty of space as well. I would highly recommend this hotel. If you are driving, do pre book with the hotel or it will be almost impossible to find a car park nearby. great value!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our Oaks Horizons Apartments. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again soon to enjoy our facilities, a beverage on the balcony or a stroll through Chinatown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe room for 3 nights.

Bed was comfortable, room was generally clean, however kitchen supplies were pretty sparse and stained and 2 cups disappeared on our second day?

On day two, our room was not serviced at all and our wet towels were waiting for us on the floor on our return to our room.

The big area where this accommodation let itself down was the customer service. On our last night, our 2 key cards stopped working completely. The staff member first of all asked when we were checking out ( was he implying that we were sneaking into the hotel for a free night?) and after fixing the cards, handed them back with no explanation or apology.

I then asked, what caused the problem with the cards and he implied that we had stored them incorrectly causing them to demagnetise. Pushing the blame onto the customer is not a good look for any business. A simple, "thats fixed up now" and "sorry" is all that is required in this instance.

Given the large choice of hotels in Adelaide, and the fact that I hold professional customer service in high regard, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 320Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

We appreciate your review of our Oaks Horizons Apartments. We apologise your cards failed to work on the last night of your stay and that your room was not serviced as often as you had desired. We have passed your feedback on to the Hotel Manager for consideration and we hope you reconsider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Arrived after a long drive, had not booked parking, therefore a bit of a shock when told they only had 10 allocated spaces and they had been booked up for ages. There is secure parking nearby at $26 per 24 hours instead of the hotel subsidised rate of $18. The moral of the tale is to book car parking at the same time as you book the hotel.
The apartment itself was really well appointed, comfortable and in the heart of the city. We were told it had only recently been redecorated. We were on the 12th floor with a balcony overlooking the conference centre. This was a bit noisy but offered super views over the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommo2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Oaks Horizons. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities but are apologetic that you were not pleased with the parking. We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Close enough to the airport and the CBD. Great apartment room with all the modern bits including a dishwasher! Nice and clean and very functional.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickhemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Many thanks for your comments on Oaks Horizons. It is great to read of your satisfaction and certainly hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed at this alleged hotel as part of a conference. We were allocated a 2 bedroom suite to accommodate 5 people. Upon checking-in to the room, it became apparent that there were only two double beds and a roll-away in the room. Nobody in the group was married or in any form of relationship, to share a double bed was highly inappropriate, especially given the cultural context. The real issue with this establishment is their unfriendliness and refusal to accede to reasonable requests.

For example, we requested additional pillows and blankets so someone could sleep on the couch. The response was that this could only be supplied subject to an extortionate fee ($50+ per night just for pillows and blankets!). Similarly, as this was a conference, all 5 of us had suits and business attire to hang. The room provided a minimal number of coathangers. When we asked for a few extra, we were rudely told by the arrogant hotel staff that they had "put plenty of coathangers in the room", and if we wanted more, it was up to us to go to a supermarket ten minutes walk away to buy extras ourselves. The need for extra towels was also rejected in the same high-handed manner, although we did manage to get the one extra we needed from an obliging housekeeper the next morning.

It was bad enough that they were completely inflexible to address our requests. What was most galling was the arrogant and high handed manner in which the staff behaved.

The gym was also a joke. It consisted of little more than a broken treadmill and a dangerous-looking exercise bike that also looked in need of repair. I have no idea how this place can be rated 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Oaks Horizons. We are sincerely concerned to hear of your experience and would like to discuss this further. Please contact our Customer Service Representative on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au at your earliest convenience.

In the meantime, your review has been passed onto the Hotel Manager and Learning & Development team for investigation. We do hope that you will consider staying with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stay at Oaks around the country and this is my first time in this one. The rooms were nice and spatious and clean and the rates through work were reasonable. The location is across the road from the convention centre and casino and there are plenty of food and drink options all around.

Room Tip: Ask for the city side of the building rather than the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Horizons, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Many thanks for your review of Oaks Horizons. We are delighted to hear that you are a repeat guest of Oaks Hotels & Resorts and very happy to read that you enjoy our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0 mi away
Oaks Embassy
Oaks Embassy
#35 of 55 in Adelaide
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#13 of 55 in Adelaide
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 55 in Adelaide
971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Horizons

Address: 104 North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#18 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#20 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $112 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Horizons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or pleasure, a trip to Adelaide is enhanced when you stay at Oaks Horizons. The hotel features spacious, modern apartments, and is conveniently located on North Terrace, opposite the Convention Centre and Skycity Casino. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments offer Adelaide accommodation which includes full kitchen and laundry facilities, and guests have access to a host of leisure amenities, as well as broadband Internet access and room service. Other facilities include an indoor heated lap pool, sauna, plunge pool, gym, steam room and a licensed cafe. Business and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Horizons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Horizons Apartment Adelaide
Hotel Oaks Horizons Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing