We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as good as you might expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Backpack OZ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Backpack OZ
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not as good as you might expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Ok facilities and cleanliness are great. fast internet, spotless kitchen, clean toilets, handy lockers, generous breakfast.
But honestly... the main reason why I pay an hostel for is the sleep. and I had a terrible one in this place !
being put in a 12 beds dorm - called the cave - I was waken up all night so many times. people coming in and out of the room all the time. all the time! people making noise, opening the door, opening their lockers, opening their luggage, people waking up at odd times (like 1 am! - well, guess it's not that odd if you can't catch much sleep in the night time! ) , people coming back from pub crawls, people ringing with their phone, people ringing with their alarm clock, people waking up at 8 to catch breakast (no brekkie after 9) and then going back to bed.....
basically constant movement and noise all the time except between 3 and 7 am. that were prolly the only hours I actually slept in this place.

the funny thing is that 12 dorm has the same price of 6 beds dorms. any sense in this ?
12 bed dorm should be half the price !

I suppose if you're a kid and look only for fun and and hangin out this can be a good place but if you look for some good sleep then just go somewhere else. for me sleep quality is basically the only reason why I pay an hostel. if I have to be waken up every 15 mins then I can just sleep in a park and spare myself 30 bucks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
35
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stopped here for a week at the end of November.Very near to the city center, the owner is kind and helpful, and free BBQ in Wednesday night is good.

They also provided bread, spreads, cereal, coffee, tea, and milk for breakfast. The common room was large and offered plenty of places to sit and relax. There is also a pool table(and there is always someone playing on it), TV with movies, books, magazines, and a bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xinhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is not a nice hostel. They just put as many beds as possible in crowded spaces, my room was basically in the living room, on the other side of the tv so it was really loud. It should have been a 6 dorm but there was another bed on the floor so you could hardly move. If you want to spend your time in Adelaide wasted, then this is the place to meet people and crash in an uncomfortable bed, otherwise there are plenty of much nicer places for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaDennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stopped here for a week at the beginning of October. First impressions weren't so great as the place looked very much in need of a refurb and was a little run down. Sam, the owner greeted us nicely and was very helpful, we couldn't check in till 2, so he told us where to go fora bit, but were also allowed to use the hostels facilities. Unfortunately there isn't any proper luggage storage, it's just a little area in the reception, but if you have any valuable items that need locking up they can get put in the small storage room that's always locked. We managed to check in at 1, there's no lift for the top floor, so it was a bit of a struggle. The room on first impressions was good. In was larger than some hostels I'd been in, we stopped in a 4 bed and then could have fitted another bunk bed in. There was a hanger with shells and lockers under the bed. I was quite happy to see there was a sink and mirror also. Everything was clean, and I found my bed and pillow comfy. There wasn't any air con, though other rooms do have some. The room looked out over the road, so if your wanting something quiet ask for a back room. The bathrooms and toilets are very clean, again just dated. I've been in much more modern and up to style hostels, and they have mostly been dirtier and grubby compared to backpack oz. The showers upstairs are all good, there's a couple of showers downstairs that aren't so great, the shower heads very low, but then one very good one called 'the dump'. If you can get to use this one, do. The kitchens reasonably sized for the size of the hostel, and with all the facilities needed. They have washing machines and tumble driers, $3 for each, and an ironing board. There's two outside Areas, one downstairs for smoking and a balcony upstairs for non smoking and a place to hang your washing. The common rooms comfy and light, with a large flat screen tv, pool table and bar. They offer up to date films and have a film night on Sundays with free popcorn. On Wednesday there's a free BBQ, chicken, sausage, salad, potatoes, doughnuts and a vegetarian option if asked for. It's very delicious and brings all the hostel down, including the people from the guest Ouse (the sister hostel down the road). Afterwards they play killer pool, with a prize of a crate of beer, and other things, depending on what Sams bought. It's a quid to enter Nd half way through they stop for a game of spin the wheel. We won a bottle of red wine, an ice cream and a can of coke. But there's other things such as a free nights stay, a meal out, or cinema tickets. They have happy hours and the alcohol is reasonably priced. It's not much of a party hostel though, so there's not the offers that you'll get in a nomads or base. But it has a lovely chilled out vibe, which is very enjoyable to stop in. We went away for a few days and when we came back, it was like coming home. It's small, but that's good, you've at to know everyone, all the staff know your names. With the price you get all the above as well a free tea and coffee and free cereal and toast in the morning. I wouldn't say it's an amazing hostel, and if our wanting something more up to date, or a party hostel there's better places to go. But it's just a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Book through the actual website. If you have 7 nights you get 1 free. Ask for a room away from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent two nights at this hostel (a Wednesday and a Monday). The free BBQ on Wednesday night was delicious and there was more than enough to go around. I even had leftovers for breakfast the next day. They also provided bread, spreads, cereal, coffee, tea, and milk for breakfast. I found most, but not all, of the staff to be friendly and helpful. The common room was large and offered plenty of places to sit and relax. There is also a pool table, TV with movies, books, magazines, and a bar. The bar closes at 10pm though so don't worry about the noise. I was in room 1 which is a female only dorm with 6 beds. The door doesn't close properly unless you really pull/push it. As you can't trust everyone in the room to do this, it was a bit of a safety issue. I didn't have anything worth stealing though, so it didn't bother me. There are lockers in the rooms so bring a lock for anything valuable. I made a friend at the hostel and we booked a wine tour with them. The staff were helpful in picking our tour and we got some free goodies for booking with them too. If ever in Adelaide again, I will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbeanjean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was there for 4 days and it was perfect! free breakfast, free transfer from and to, free bike hire, friendly staff, free bbq on wednesday night, near the city center and not too big....so you will be friend with all the guests =)
it's sad the don't have a lift and some room too small =(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr_romina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, was a shame I only stayed for 2 nights.
There was a small problem at check, they didn't have me booked in but it was quickly rectified! I asked to stay in a private room, because of availability I had to change rooms after the first night which did not bother me as I got to view both sides of the hostel, the guest house and the hostel its-self, the guest House was clean with a 24 hour kitchen lovely and quiet. The room was large and had a small TV, I I had a very good nights sleep. One thing to note is the Guest House does not have any Internet facilities.
The hostel private room was smaller but just as clean and welcoming, this room was without a TV. Luckily the room was ready first thing in morning so I have much waiting around to do and could get on with my day. This side had wifi just wasn't very strong in the rooms.
The communal areas were all clean and I have never seen such a clean kitchen! It had all the equipment you would need right on hand including an oven! In the mornings there is continental breakfast offered free of charge, tea, coffee and bread with condiments.
The staff at the hostel were lovely and very accommodating. I would love to stay at this hostel again!
The Hostel, I thought was in a good location and is a nice walk into the city and not far from sightseeing buildings.

Room Tip: Guest house is quieter with a 24 hour kitchen but doesn't have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpack OZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpack OZ

Property: Backpack OZ
Address: 144 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpack OZ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart and don't just got for a hostel with the lowest rate - you get what you pay for! Are you looking for a hostel where you feel welcome to relax and just hang out if you want a break? Where there are activities so you can meet people and make new friends? Where you don't feel as though you are putting your hand in your pocket every 5 minutes? Where the staff are happy to give you free advice about what to do in Adelaide (not just sell you an expensive tour)? Backpack Oz is a family owned and operated business that enjoys a great reputation - and not just because of the free Tuesday night BBQ dinner and daily Happy Hour ($3.50 beers)! All rooms and common areas have A/C, and kitchens and bathrooms are cleaned daily (and we mean really clean - check the ratings)! We have a fantastic city location - walk to cafe/pub districts, Central Market and CBD! Our free WiFi is super fast and we have a light & bright dining & common room with big screen TV. Free pick ups and drop offs to bus and train stations are available (not airport and conditions apply). Our staff are super well trained and really want you to enjoy your stay and make the most of Adelaide! We hope you choose to stay with us and leave with fond memories of both Adelaide and Backpack Oz. Cheers! Sam, Penny & Tom Twelftree *Reception is open from 6.00am till 10.00pm. You must check in prior to 10.00pm or we can not accept your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backpack OZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing