We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelaide Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelaide Central YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

the good: clean, very big kitchen and lounge, friendly staff, very good and cheap hostel activites ,5$ pizza night, your really get a great pizza for that money! good location, near the cbd, also near china town

the bad: no connection to the wireless network in some rooms,

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    145
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
47
126
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was here for a long weekend in January and loved it!
Staff were extremely friendly and able to advise on local attractions and things to see in Adelaide.
The kitchen / open plan lounge area are definitely the best part of this hostel. The biggest / most equipped kitchen I've seen in a hostel with plenty of dry and fridge storage space.
Can't explain how good the lounge area is! Such a social space. Lots of things happening as well, pub crawls, free pancakes and even a table tennis tournament (which I won :D).
Stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was ideal. Enough plug sockets and massive lockers big enough for my huge backpack and more.
Never actually went in the tv room as I was more than happy in the lounge (as I explained) but its a pretty good size.
If you're staying in Adelaide then stay here! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Greeted with a smile, always a good start. Booked in early but was allowed to use the facilities whilst I waited to be checked in. Was given a piece of paper with my room number (bonus) and the room was immaculate & un-smelly. The kitchen is large and can accommodate a lot of people and is clean (even behind the fridges etc) which was really pleasing to see. The communal lounge/games area is massive, with comfy sofas, ample tables, computer area, vending machines, table tennis, pool tables etc too much to list. Balcony area with BBQ and seating.
Tv room available with DVDs at reception. Disabled person friendly (elevator).
The whole place had a brilliant feel and I will highly recommend you stay here. It raises the bar for all other hostels! I really hope there are more like this one! People here are really nice because its a nice place to be. There's loads I've missed about the place but that's for you to find out :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Davy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed for a few nights in between day trips to vineyards, Flinders ranges and Kangaroo Island.
Clean, quiet dorm room with useful locker and big kitchen and living area. Bathrooms a little dated but very clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turophile10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good parts
==========
*Management appear to provide a clean and well run environment for guests. Bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned daily.
*The biggest hostel kitchen that i 've encounter on my travels to date. Eight cooktops(!!!) and sinks with ample fridge space to store your food. Great way to save money and eat well by preparing your own meals for the day.
*Room was well lit. Beds were clean.
*Location is convenient. Within walking distance (15-20 mins) of the central bus terminus, Chinatown and the central market. Although, may be a little out of the way, if you are looking to hang out around North Terrace and Rundle Mall area.
*Laundry room has two dedicated charity bins. Fantastic idea! Especially handy if you are looking to lighter your back pack and give your old clothes/shoes to something more useful than landfill.

Things to improve on:
=================
Showers can get a little congested at times. Installation of an extractor fan to remove some of the steam during times of high use would be of benefit to guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misoula,MT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Even though this is a much larger hostel than we are used to, it still retains a personal touch which usually goes away with size! Particularly helpful when we were there was the desk helper/checker-in person, Marissa! For Australia, this place was very reasonable pricewise and had much to offer. I would definately recommend this hostel over most others, but it helps to have YHA membership!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blunderbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was quite disappointed with this hostel. We were supposed to be booked in for a private quad share however when it came to checking in we were told that we had to be split up because someone moved around the reservation, we were offered no compensation and little apology for the inconvenience. There also seems to be a lack facilities for each floor with only three toilets and showers on our floor. What boosts this review is their very well equipped and large cooking area and also their large and plenty to do communal area, however the booking being entered incorrectly and the service received definitely ruined the stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Central YHA

Property: Adelaide Central YHA
Address: 135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW FREE AT ADELAIDE'S FAVOURITE BACKPACKER HOSTEL • Wifi Hotspot - that's right, we've got free Wifi for all of our guests • Pancakes on Monday and Friday mornings • Cool activities - ping pong competitions, city walks, pub nights and more • Lovely white linen for you bed • Luggage storage Adelaide's coolest backpacker hostel is just a short walk to the city's favourite markets, hip bars, shopping areas with easy access to the nearby hills, beaches and wine districts. Save money and make new friends in a multishare room or relax in the privacy of your own (newly renovated) private twin, double or family room - all ensuite rooms now include TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Cook for yourself in the well set up kitchen or head out and see why Adelaide has an amazing reputation for food and wine. The huge, well designed lounge, dining and social area overlooks a beautiful park making it one of the best locations in the city. Adelaide Central YHA's friendly, helpful staff are very keen to help you have the best time possible in this city known as rAdelaide and can also assist you with your tour and travel bookings beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Adelaide Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Central Yha Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing