We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, quality accommodation”
Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed April 11, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel twice and not had any problems. Reservations, check in and check out are all smooth. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy, and of good size. The beds are large and comfortable. The bathroom was a little old-fashioned, but clean and everything worked. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the city.

The cost is ideal for what you get, and cheaper than many other quality hotels in the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers_Sales, Director of Sales at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2010

Thank you very much for the review, another major refurbishment on the property is in the works and it is going to look great! Would love to have you stay again and hopefully impress you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 397 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2010

Forced to stay here because of the Adelaide Fringe Festival taking up the regular hotels, I had an average stay for the price I paid.

The room I was in was very basic, bed was fairly comfy and there is a pretty large plasma TV. There is in room broadband and a mini bar. The room was a little noisy though, the air conditioning rattled a lot and I could hear the guests next door using their bathroom.

One great aspect is the location, it's literally on the intersection of Hindley Street and Rundle Mall. Plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby, and it's a 3 minute walk to the casino.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stef49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller_Management, Hotel Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2010

Thank you for your valued feedback for our property. We were glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoyed the new features such as the 32” LCD TVs with Foxtel. We regret the inconvenience and discomfort that may have been caused during your stay by the air-conditioning or neighboring guests. We are now investigating this and we will be taking the next steps required to improve these matters. We would like to sincerely apologise for not being able to meet your expectations, your business is very important to us; we take all guest feedback seriously and endeavor to continually improve our services and guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Stayed 4 nights, the room is quite spacious, furniture is simple and basic. The room I stayed was facing the alley and away from the main road (Hindley street), it was quiet at night.

Location is good - close to Randle Mall and restaurants, the Pancake Kitchen next to the hotel in the alley opens 24 hours and I had my breakfasts every morning I was there while other eateries are still closed.

The thing I did not like is that there is no free internet access, even with their computer in the common area, which made it very inconvenient.

Staff are helpful with local information and arranging transportation to the airport, they are also responsive with e-mail inquiries.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1st_Time_in_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paringa_Management, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2009

We are glad to hear that you found your room spacious and in a quiet position, and that our staff assisted you with information and your transportation needs.

Sorry to hear that you would have preferred free internet access and we will be working on bettering this in the future. Should you have required any flight boarding passes we are more than happy to process these for you free of charge at reception.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed April 13, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

It depends on what you want. We booked a twin room 6 months in advance and asked for a quiet room. That we did not get, it was a Friday night and we overlooked the alleyway from the first floor. There was noise all night from people, street cleaning machines etc. We asked for a quieter room and we got shifted to a room on the 3rd floor, it was quieter but just generally think Saturday was a bit quieter anyway. Problem also is the 24 hour pancake restaurant at end of alleyway.

We then got shifted to the 5th floor to a larger room and that was definitely quieter.

The alleyway was not scary at all. It's only short but there is no reception after 11 p.m, you have to use a swipe card to get in.

To put it simply, I would say, if you are a bad sleeper and looking for a place to stay where you will sleep and not get the humdrum of Hindley St, don't stay here. But if you are looking for cheap accommodation in an excellent location with plenty going on around you and you are a good sleeper or don't plan to sleep, then go for the Adelaide Paringa.

Staff on reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Budgetraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paringa_Management, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2008

Thank you very much for your review.

Sorry to hear that the noise was a problem, some noise is to be expected in any Hotel on a Friday and Saturday night as the city does get very busy.

It looks like our staff did their best to accommodate you in another room, our great staff always try to keep our guests comfortable and happy during their stay.

We hope to have you stay again with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Paringa for one night on a Friday night. The hotel needs a bit of a face lift as it is a bit dingy but ok if you're only there to sleep and not spend lots of time in your hotel room. The bed was reasonably comfortable - not too hard. Close to the city and mall and shops which was great. Plenty of places to eat close by so you don't have to go far. Staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back so it was reasonably quiet but I imagine the one's near the front would be a little noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoopylouBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paringa_Management, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2008

Thank you very much for the review, we have just completed a refurbishment on the property and its looking great! Would love to have you stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We arrived at about 7.30pm and walked through a back alley to get to the hotel, which I would find scary at night alone. The carpet in the lobby was filthy. Check in was quick and easy, though we were asked for a security bond which I wasn't aware of as we had pre payed.

Went up to our room (504) which was very tiny with outdated furniture. The room was very noisy and you could hear patrons at the pub at traffic all night. I didn't sleep at all the first night.

Day 2 I asked that we be moved and thankfully we were moved quickly to room 509 at the back of the hotel. What a difference this made, so much quieter and I actually got a good night sleep.

Location of hotel is good, close to shops and entertainment. (More in the dodgy part of town though)

Reception was very helpful with recomending things to do, how to get places and the best restaurants.

Not sure I would stay again, but $100 a night is very cheap. If you stay ask for a QUIET room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mallary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.3 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#11 of 55 in Adelaide
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chancellor on Currie
Chancellor on Currie
#17 of 55 in Adelaide
800 reviews
1.3 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#27 of 55 in Adelaide
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: $59 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing