We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay at the Adelaide Paringa”
Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't stay at the Adelaide Paringa”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The host checking us in and checking us out tried to add an additional cost of $60 + to the price of our stay. If I wasn't concentrating, they would have got away with it. I had to speak with the manager each time. Room was old and smelly. Electric cords exposed on jug. Air Con old, noisy and ineffective. Bed hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. Makeup.\ Mascara stains on sheets. Lipstick stains on curtain. I have travelled extensively around the world and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melinda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Melindaf,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn of the shortfalls of our service and amenities, and we are in the process of assessing these.

There are also plans to undertake a thorough refurbishment of the property in the near future, and we would invite you to stay again once completed.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    143
    116
    43
    27
See reviews for
61
129
66
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My room was basic but clean and comfortable. The staff were fantastic and went over and above what was required. Were very helpful with bus timetables and even helped me with my flight check in! The location is fantastic. Close to all forms of public transport and they arranged discounted parking when I needed it too. As a female travelling solo I felt completely at ease even late at night. Police station right opposite and there is a visible prescence. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WonderThirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear WonderThirst,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed it and its encouraging to learn that our staff attended to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I paid $350 for a normal room for 1 night. The price was so high because of the great demand for rooms because of a Cricket event. I got a very poor room for my money, very noisy because of machines for cooling , which were outside the window. The window-glas was intransparent, so you feel,you are in a cave. I felt, the room was renovated 20 years ago

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guenter_W1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guenter_W1170,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We appreciate your honesty and sincerely apologise for the noise disturbance which I can assure you has been attended too. Yes, some of our windows are frosted to maximise guests privacy whilst still allowing natural light.

I thank you for your understanding and even though the rate was high for this stay we trust you found our location to be perfect for your visit to Adelaide.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The room was tired but had all the expected facilities except a reasonable view - we looked out on the rear wall of the next door building. The location was very central and also within easy walking distance of the Adelaide Oval. Staff were friendly enough and efficient enough. We were only there for 2 nights and I think any longer would have been too long. Ok for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Cliff B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We certainly are lucky to be in such a central and convenient location and we appreciate that you understand that we offer clean and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price.

We trust you enjoyed your stay in Adelaide and hope to have you back next time.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The window in our room allowed the noise from the pub next door to disturb us until the small hours of the morning( yes the window was shut). Street cleaning and garbage collection noise then took over. The room was poorly maintained and, despite being there for 3 nights, face washers and hand towels were not replaced. Only 1 wine glass in the room and bed not fully made on the second day.


Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and for your honest comments about our hotel. I do apologise for the level of Housekeeping service you received. This is disappointing to hear as we usually receive such positive comments about the cleanliness and amenities in our rooms.

I would like to add that, like our sister hotel across the road (Miller Apartments), Adelaide Paringa will be undergoing a refurbishment mid-2014 which is very exciting for us all. This will include full soundproofing of all our rooms. We will be building a sample room early next year, and perhaps you might like to trial it for us if you are back in Adelaide in the near future?

Thank you again for your review and feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Trang and Pete UK.
We recently stayed for a month with a young toddler. The first day was as good as the last. The staff couldn't be more helpful. This is a basic hotel but everything is clean and works. The city centre location saves so much time because you can walk or use the free tram. Lots of cheap noodle stalls nearby for food and the customer laundromat at the motel is a big help. We had a back room which was quiet for the baby. They go the extra mile here, for instance they will heat up the baby's food or give you extra towels. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter if you have young children. Kid's activities and swimming pool com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

What a lovely review of our hotel! Thank you so much, and we are glad that Adelaide Paringa delivered for you this stay. We are so proud of our staff and that overall value of our hotel offering.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at Paringa for a week. Room was clean, staff were polite, location was right in the main part of the city with lots of food outlets close by. The room was dated but with what I paid I cant complain. Room was cleaned daily. So overall quite happy with my stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausduo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Ausduo12,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property!
You have pinpointed our aim at Adelaide Paringa - to offer clean, comfortable and affordable inner-city accommodation.

I am pleased to announce that refurbishments of the property are in the pipeline so watch this space!

We look forward to welcoming you again, and again

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#29 of 57 in Adelaide
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Property: Adelaide Paringa
Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing