We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy with a budget”
Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Paringa is very strategically located, right across the street from Rundle Mall. Chinese take-away, Nandos and Subway at the front, Malaysian cuisine at the back of the block and 24/7 pancake house, so finding food is not a problem.

Room was just sufficient for us albeit looking old. Beds were comfy but the air-conditioning went cuckoo most of the time. Bathroom was very small, basic utilities were provided. During our week stay the housekeeping did not change the sheets or vacuum the floor. That was a problem for us as we had young toddlers with us.

If you have many luggage, get the taxi to drive to the entrance (the hotel is located at a dead-end street), most taxis will just drop passengers at the roadside. The hotel does not provide any trolley, and receptionist has their noses stuck high in the air.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not facing the pub. Gets rowdy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Adelaide Paringa and also for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
I will certainly be following up on your housekeeping and maintenance issues, apologies for this, but clearly we need to know when we let ourselves, and our guests, down in these areas.
But I was also very disappointed to read about your experience with our reception staff. We are very proud of our reception team, and receive consistently good comments about them. Your experience concerns me, and if you could take the time to contact me at "gm@millerapartments.com.au" or at 08 8113 1984, I would like to understand more about where we have let you down.
Thank you again, and I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Being so close to Rundle Mall is a big plus! However, as far as hygiene is concerned we found a piece of hair rolled up in our face washer... Bit gross... Also had a big of arrogance from the reception. Overall if its location your looking for on a tight budget without a simple smile you've found the right place

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review and apologies for what appears to be a disappointing stay with us. I have followed up with our Housekeeping Team on what appears to be an unacceptable error on our behalf, but just as concerning was your comment about our reception staff. If you had the time to contact me at 08 8113 1984, or to "gm@millerapartments.com.au" I would early appreciate the chance to understand your comments a little better, so I can take whatever action may be needed to ensure this does not happen again. Generally, we receive excellent comments about our staff, so I am keen to learn more.
Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I booked a spa upgrade room for just one night while staying in Adelaide. Chose the hotel because I needed somewhere reasonably priced, right in the middle of the city. Reception staff at check-in were very helpful and the secure parking was a god-send! Our only complaint was that the spa did not work in the room (we enjoyed a nice hot bath instead!). We didn't discover this until after reception had closed, so could not inform them until we checked out the following morning. To be honest, it didn't detract too much from our stay - we were in the city to catch up with friends and to shop our tails off! Would highly recommend the hotel, the rooms were spacious and very clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thanks for your review, and kind comments about our staff and hotel rooms. Apologies for the spa! We do have a 24 hour reception across the road at Miller Apartments, our sister hotel, that could have assisted. You simply need to dial this number from your room and you are connected to the manager who is responsible for both hotels. It appears that we could have communicated this better to you. Apologies.
Good to know that you "shopped your tails off" and we hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked into Paringa for 5 nights - nothing fancy here but a great location opposite the Rundle Mall. Rooms are old fashion - large and bathroom small however very comfortable. Had a front room for 2 nights - lots of noise from Hindley St below in the early hours of the morning as had a window that wouldn't close. 2nd room at side - no problems.Did not have a vehicle so unsure re parking but public transport was extremely close and worked well (I used trams and buses and was able to work to the regional bus station as well) Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Rooms were clean and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review, and comments on our staff and hotel facilities. I'm glad that you enjoyed our good value for money accommodation in a very central location. Yes, at times on the weekend this can be noisy, but we are continuing to soundproof many of our rooms, and we also have many rooms at the back of the hotel that are extremely quiet.
Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Room was not as they were pictured in the Internet, had a room that had no windows on the first floor, on the first night there was a terrible sewage smell throughout the foyer and rooms. Staff couldn't find where it was conning from and didn't offer any assistance. Rooms were far from clean and very dated. Aircon didn't work.. Lucky to be a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review, and I apologize for your disappointment with our hotel. I will look into your comments, which I find very disappointing, however I will say that we are a recently rated AAA 3.5 star hotel, which is a thorough and highly credible review rating scheme.
I do apologize again however, and hope we may have in the future the chance to redeem ourselves.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for a single night stay, for the price, everything was more than I would have expected, rooms was a bit old and daggy but was very clean, air conditioned and in a good spot. Staff were really friendly too...would definitely recommend for a short term no frills stay and would stay here again. Thanks for having me :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeyb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Not looking for luxury from this stay and pleased with the location close to North Terrace and Rundle Mall etc. We didn't come by car so were not concerned with parking. V small room which wouldn't usually be a problem but it was ridiculously over stuffed with unnecessary furniture which was annoying and painful on the toes. Linen/ towels clean but tired, thin and with old shadows of stains. Bathroom tired but functional and clean. Most bizarre was that any hotel would only have transparent gauze curtains so that we were woken up by the sun streaming into the room early in the morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful which was a plus. However probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mesayingthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review, and for your constructive feedback on the hotel. I have certainly taken these on board, and we have already tweaked a few items in the rooms as a result.
I am glad that you found our staff were friendly and helpful, and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.3 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#11 of 55 in Adelaide
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.2 mi away
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
#40 of 55 in Adelaide
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: $54 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing