We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Adelaide Paringa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelaide Paringa
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose to stay at the Paringa in late November mainly due to its convenient location.
It was not a good experience.
Undoubtedly the worst hotel we have every stayed in Australia - even rivalled the shockers we were subjected to in a group tour in Italy in 2011.

What renovations???? After being supposedly "upgraded" after a sewage smell apparently from the street got into the air con to our room during the night, the condition of the second room was little better. On a very hot day, the staff had not turned on the air con, and it was 33° inside the room. It took 6 hours to lower the temperature to 24° - still definitely the old and very noisy air conditioning, worn out, frayed towels, cracked hand basins, blackened grout, broken drawers....the list goes on.

Even more upsetting was the arrival off the street of an almost incoherent alcoholic with no luggage, keen to get to the pub across the laneway, who was offered a "deluxe room" at an least 25% cheaper rate than we had paid.

The only satisfatory features - friendly and (they needed to be!) very patient staff, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margilouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for what appears to be a disappointing stay.
We take on board your comments, although I do admit to being a little surprised that you did not mention anything to us both when we called you in your room not long after you arrived, and then also when you happily returned to the hotel for your second stay. The odour you mention is important for us to know, and we are following up with the building owner as I am somewhat baffled by this smell and thank you for letting us know.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and beds, and I am sorry you have not joined our large and ever expanding group of loyal return guests.
Safe travels and all the best
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    136
    110
    40
    27
See reviews for
60
123
61
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It wasnt my first choice (my first choice was booked out) but it is in the area that my companions wanted to stay in and convenient to the cricket. I can only compare it to the last time I stayed so please bear that in mind.
Good : rooms are better furnished. Beds are more comfortable, AC is new and working well, Linen on beds is of better quality. Rooms are comfortable and fine for a few days. Staff are friendly, courteous and willing to help.
Bad : there was some mixups regarding getting clean towels and it was fixed. I can put it down to it being a very busy weekend and the hotel seemed full.

This is a reasonable priced if booked in advance and adequate hotel. The recent upgrades have helped and make it worth the while staying here.

Room Tip: Keep windows closed at night as it is on Hindley street and the weekend crowds are very noisy. Choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us at Adelaide Paringa and also for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
It is most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay, and you appreciated the upgrades that are taking place in the hotel (new comfy lounge chairs, art work, bed heads, cushions, painting etc).
We really are an excellently located hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

the only issue what we had was noise from the street they were starting around 5.30 :/
but room was nice and tidy a bit oldfashion but well still ok :)
if u want to walk around adelaide that motel is perfect :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience at Adelaide Paringa on Trip Advisor and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Adelaide Paringa on two occasions for business. The location is PERFECT for anyone needing to be in a very central location. Its an old style hotel with limited facilities BUT it has absolutely everything I need. If you require a secure building, with helpful reception staff, clean rooms, working showers, good sized rooms with aircon you can alter in a fantastic location surrounding by eating and shopping options that is VERY reasonably priced then this is the place. Its not swank but its great value for anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: Even thought the rooms have some double glazing if you are a light sleeper then ask to be put in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucindaarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest
I think you have summarised our hotel offering perfectly. We offer the best location in Adelaide, in a safe, warm and welcoming environment!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Thank you again and safe travels
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this hotel to be in a perfect spot... double glazing meant we didn't hear the street below despite it being on the main road - Hindley Street. It is just a short walk to the mall. There are lots of food shops close by: all different kinds from nice restaurants to McDonalds etc. The room was great.... a huge queen bed and single, shower, electric kettle with coffee, tea, milk, sugar, fridge and the stuff you can buy from it. The only thing I didn't know was we would pay for local calls made from our room! There were no notices and nothing was said when I enquired for the number to dial out.
No problems really so recommend this place. They have a sister hotel across the road which I don't remember the name of but it looks like it's more up market, but really I couldn't think what more you'd want.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenak0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very kind comments on your stay with us at Adelaide Paringa. Yes, our location is perfect, and we offer a clean, comfortable and friendly option at a competitive price.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

On Friday night I stayed at the Adelaide Paringa is located on Hindley Street, Adelaide. The taxi driver dropping me at the hotel warned me not to be in HIndley street after 9pm and he was right. What a nightmare! The hotel was OK, but the noise of people partying in the street ALL night was unbearable. Many were still raging at 6am when I was headed to the airport. If anyone is visiting Adelaide be careful where you stay and keep well away from Hindley Street if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Hindley Street, if there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Adelaide Paringa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a revew of Adelaide Paringa. It does appear that aside from the noise you were satisfied with our hotel facilities. It is a shame that you have chosen such a tite for your review! Being such a central location menas that on some weekends there can be some outside noise, however you would be pleased to know that we have soundproofed the first two floors of the hotel, and working on the other floors. We also have quieter rooms at the back of the hotel which we can often make available to some guests like yourselves.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so you can experience the service, cleanliness and room facilities at Adelaide Paringa that offer excellent value for money.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Paringa. I was a bit put off instantly at having to park over the road and walk across Hindley street, in the rain, with our luggage. Then we went up to our room (the elevator smelled like cigarette smoke?) and found a large outdated room with very little furniture. Oddly laid out, the TV would be much better positioned on the wall adjacent the bed instead of above the Wardrobe/coffee cupboard on the left. About three of the vanity mirror lights were blown, but this was no issue. The bathroom (with spa as we thought we would enjoy one) was clean but looked dirty. Chipped tiles around the tub were a put off, and I didn't fancy sitting in a grimy looking spa, so it went unused. The next day we went out and returned to find our blind opened (we had do not disturb on door) so high that we had to stand on the table to pull it down, and noticed that the blown lights had been replaced on the mirror, however one had clearly been dropped as there was BROKEN GLASS left on the bench! I reported this to the clerk on checkout the next morning, and all I got was "That's no good". We certainly won't be staying there again, even though the location is convenient, I would rather spend a few extra $ for quality and comfort, and free parking on the actual premises.

Room Tip: Choose a different Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoStoppingUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Paringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Paringa

Property: Adelaide Paringa
Address: 15 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Paringa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 1/2 star nationally accredited motel and are members of the Golden Chain Group of properties. All rooms offer en-suite bathroom, radio, phone, broadband internet access, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We are located in the heart of the city, central to the cities premier dining strips, shopping, pubs and entertainment venues. We also offer flexible check-in times and can store luggage for late departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adelaide Paringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Paringa Hotel Adelaide
Paringa Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing