We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We travelled for the Tour Down Under with two bikes and 4 adults. We had a 2b apartment which in honesty was a little tired looking but had everything we needed. What made the hotel stay for us was their superior service as they let us check in at 9.00am which made a huge difference as we had the bikes with us. We also had a late checkout which also was great as the riders were able to shower and pack the bikes after their morning ride. Breakfast was nothing to rave over - but we would definately stay here again - especially when the TDU is on. Within close walking distance to the Bike Village and the Crit course too.

Room Tip: 2 brm was more than enough for 4 adults..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n_P2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Shar0n_P2014,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    478
    159
    40
    24
See reviews for
294
226
56
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had checked into the Contry Comfort but on seeing the condition of two of the rooms quickly rang around Adelaide hotels and found Mantra to be the most willing to help us out. the service was excellent and they simply organised things for us, made suggestions on how to get around and generally made our stay hassle free.
The rooms were excellent as were the cleaners, we had our 19 month old baby with us so it was a bit messy but we would go out then return to an organised clean room.
We will definately stay again on our next trip to Adelaide!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Chris R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Booked through Wotif, arrived 30mins later only to be advised by reception (Julie) that we could not be booked into a room as the Wotif booking hadn't 'dropped into their system' and she didn't want to 'make a second booking'. This was despite the Wotif booking being both prepayed and non refundable and us having it on hand to show her. The only solution Julie offered was for us to wait in the lobby with our bags for an unspecified amount of time til the booking 'dropped in' whatever that meant. We called Wotif customer service who advised the booking had indeed been prepayed and confirmed but that Mantra (Julie) we're refusing to let us into a room until some sort of magic email appeared in their system. Wotif then sent the email directly to Julie. Who advised that yes, she had now received the email but still couldn't give us a room due to some mysterious 'other company' who were part of the booking process who still had to 'send something'. Eventually Julie's supervisor relented and programmed keys for us. When we got to our room the hallway was littered with dirty room service trays (at 3pm!) and $189/night room had a bathroom appropriate to a three star motel. Shower curtains, no bath, worn fittings. Ugh. There are lots of lovely hotels with great customer service in Adelaide. This isn't one of them.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear mCait,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantragroup.com.au.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed over Xmas to visit the family. Had a two bedroom apartment which was big enough for the three of us. Room was well set out and comfortable and the bathroom had a proper shower, not a shower over a bath. Check in and check out were both quick and the staff at the Mantra are very friendly.

The Mantra has 24 hour room service and the restaurant was open on Xmas day which was a plus for me as I like brewed coffee, which I thought would be hard to find on the holiday. The breakfast selection was quite large and if hungry enough, you'd come close to getting your moneys worth.

After the two days I spent here, I would stay again, rooms were very reasonably priced and service was what you should expect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bannedspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear bannedspencer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
899 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Well located, with good service and very spacious rooms. All up a very good place to stay.

The rooms ware very spacious and well appointed.

Checkout can be slow, as often there are limited folks behind the counter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear CocoTampa123,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The apartment had everything you could want for either a short or long stay and had a great view overlooking parkland, city and hills. Location is great and close to city attractions within walking distance. Check in and out service was uncomplicated and swift with personable staff. Parking could have been a problem as hourly public ticketed parking only option besides the valet service, fortunate to get a public park so wasn't a problem in the end. Took advantage of the restaurant onsite with staff and service equally as good as the food and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Nicholas007,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during the Ashes cricket in Adelaide - consequently this hotel was very full.

My room was large, comfortable and fairly modern in decor. I did experience quite a bit of external road noise - particularly in the early morning when rubbish/bottles were being collected.

The bathroom was a bit of let down, the sink was a very basic metal design, off centre which made it difficult to use. The shower tended to flood slightly due to a strange design and wasn't the most powerful. But overall it was fine.

Broadband was expensive, but quick meaning that Skype etc could be used properly.

Overall the property was more than adequate for my needs. Where I consistently found it lacked was the service. I found the service from the staff purely functional, sometimes a bit grumpy and no one made any real effort or came across especially service orientated. I put this down to the hotel being very busy due to the cricket event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear richardlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. I have shared your feedback with the hotel team and additional training will be implemented accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square again.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Property: Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Hindmarsh Square offers premier apartment style accommodation in Adelaide’s bustling CBD. Boasting a city centre location, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and reception desk, gymnasium and tour desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for overnight, short-term or long-term stays, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is centrally located, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing