We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, service and room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment room. Located in a good position to Rundle st and North terrace, parks, museums and restuarants.
The room was clean and spacious. The kitchenette had all we required including a coffee plunger. The bedrooms were spacious and bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious, clean and modern. The balcony was small but being able to open the door for fresh air is good. The room was quiet and we didn't hear any outside noise. We enjoyed a meal at the restaurant and drinks/coffee/late desserts at the lounge/bar area. The staff were friendly and helpful. there were nearly always taxis waiting out the front of the hotel. An enjoyable stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Linarosa,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    506
    167
    42
    26
See reviews for
313
236
58
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference which was also held in the meeting room at the Mantra.
The room/apartment was large and well appointed; the bathroom too was a good size & the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style but the cooked food is all perfectly cooked and kept; I would definitely stay here again.This is the only place I know of that is able to offer perfectly cooked and good quality back bacon rather than the leather strips you get offered elsewhere. The staff were all friendly and proficient at their job. This was a booked and paid for trip for me; if I were to return to Adelaide and I had to do the booking I would definitely consider returning to the Mantra

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikkimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Rikkimca,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable conference and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location, great restaurant/bar, lovely spacious rooms BUT! The mattresses have a plastic top on them, even with air conditioning, we were All so HOT, why the plastic tops? I dont wet the bed! The linen was NOT WHITE, it was stained, i checked to make sure linen was clean, it was, it was just stained yellow. Not what you'd expect from a 4 star. I loved the location, so does qantas as airline staff stay there also, but before I book again I'd have to ask about the standard of the linen and do they still have plastic mattresses.

Room Tip: Ask about mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Kerry H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. All of our beds in the hotel are of the same quality and are manufactured by Sealy. The strip you referred to is actually part of the bed and is not additionally placed on to the bed. All our linen is provided and cleaned by one of Adelaide's most reputable Laundries.

This is not an issue we normally received and I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantra.com.au.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Only stayed here for a couple of nights. Found the staff to be very friendly and polite. Our room was quite large and well equipped. The bed was sooooo comfortable and best of all it was quiet at night. Made for the perfect nights sleep. Breakfast Buffett in the restaurant was great. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tehi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Tehi2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've been staying in Adelaide each week for work since March. Initially work put me into another hotel but it didn't work out for several reasons. I couldn't be more happier moving to the Mantra at Hindmarsh Square where it honestly feels like home (with the addition of food being cooked for you and room being cleaned!). The customer service is exceptional as they really do try to make your stay as comfortable as you like even if you are a frequent traveller to the once off. The food is exceptional and the only downside is you can't take the chef home or have the recipes! The location is in the heart of the city and I really can't complain or point out anything bad! Very happy this is my home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear VeeJ01,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with great stays and making you feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My recent stay (a Sunday - Thursday) certainly didn't dazzle. Asked for a 2br apartment & there is a single bed in second room! Yes the location was perfect for our needs. To be called an apartment I expected a full size fridge & not a tiny bar fridge that was FILLED with mini-bar items which I removed to put our items in! The 'kitchen' was very inadequate. What tipped me over the edge was on check out I asked for a porter or some help with luggage & was presented with a trolley & had to struggle wheeling it myself down to reception... unacceptable for 5 stars, wouldn't you say? The receptionist even had to leave the front desk to go & get out valet-parked car herself! They have a lack of staff I'd say.... employ some!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear jbtripper,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We are acutally not a 5 Star Hotel but a 4.5 Star AAA rate hotel as stated on our website.

The apartment you booked is correct which a 2 bedroom parkview with a king single in the second room again as noted on our website. Our fridges do contain mini bar items which can be removed on request. We also have trolleys available for guest use although we can assist when requested.

Our Front Desk Team are responsible for the Valet Parking of vehicles although the desk is never left unmanned.

I also invite you to contact me directly if you wish to discuss in more detail and then I can investigate these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantragroup.com.au.

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

In Adelaide for two weeks on business.

- My check in was seamless and I was made to feel very welcomed from the moment I stepped into the front door
- The SQ Restaurant & Lounge Bar located on the ground floor has exceptional food matched with a comprehensive wine list. The wait staff are very polite and fully versed in the menu/drink options. The daily specials add great variety to the seasonal menu. The option of outdoor dining overlooking the greener of Hindmarsh Square is a great place to have a morning coffee or a late afternoon drink
- One bedroom apartment is fully self-contained, spacious and comfortable. Kitchen facilities are a nice inclusion. A sleek large modern bathroom rounds off the well appointed room.
- Housekeeping staff have presented the room on a daily basis with meticulous care and fine attention to detail
- A very pleasant sleep each night with no street noise
- Location of the hotel is one block south of the Rundle Mall shopping strip. A great central location for business and leisure activities
- This is my second time at the hotel, and again my expectations on the professional and level of service has again been exceeded.
- This is my first and only choice for accommodation in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Hindmarsh Square have views towards the Adelaide Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Property: Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Hindmarsh Square offers premier apartment style accommodation in Adelaide’s bustling CBD. Boasting a city centre location, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and reception desk, gymnasium and tour desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for overnight, short-term or long-term stays, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is centrally located, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing