We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

"Thank you, your staff works meticulously and efficiently. ... "I just wanted to let you know we're very happy with Vanessa, she did a terrific job, so sweet, so helpful, so charming and wonderful. every day my room was so clean, and it feels warm and welcoming, thanks to the extra touches.
Restaurant food is very good
so nice to come back ...
i love this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear maria k,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    479
    159
    40
    24
See reviews for
294
226
56
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ME
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nicely located close to CBD and shopping area. Rooms are adequate, bit lacking in storage. Bedding slides around a lot. Bathroom fine with plenty of hot water. Kitchenette pretty pointless but well equipped. Internet very expensive and download limited - is the the new ripoff? Restaurant surprisingly good. Service very good, cheerful and efficient. Laundry service good. Breakfast quirky with third degree form filling every morning. Room cleaning not so hot, TV remote worn out as always. When will hotel management ever check these things actually work?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toomanybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear toomanybeds,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. The issues you raised have been addressed with the respective departmental managers and additional training implemented accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Everything that was advertised was there and it was nice and modern.

The bedroom was tight and the sitting room was not much better. A desk, table and two chairs, a lounge and coffee table and a TV were all comfortable and working.

Negatives were building work going on down the hall, a slight stale or drain smell and no opening windows or balcony. The property was recommended by aircrew and I wasn't disappointed but probably would not recommend it to businesses colleagues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear AussieStrategist,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at the Mantra for 12 nights.

The good:
Hotel is in a good location, with restaurants nearby and within walking distance of shops and businesses.

The 'apartment' was a decent size. You get a bedroom without much room other than for the bed, with a medium sized flat TV and a small wardrobe. The bathroom is arranged nicely and is roomy. The shower is a glass cubicle, designed well and doesn't leak onto the floor. The living room includes a stove and mini-fridge, also a desk, a table for two, and a sofa. There is enough room in there to spread out a bit. The furnishings were nice and in good condition. The laundry service was good and prompt, if expensive.

Staff is very friendly, effiicient and professional.

The restaurant is excellent--especially good steaks and good buffet breakfast. Room Service was good also. I got the Wagyu burger and it was a decent size, tasty, hot and cooked correctly.

The adequate:
The desk chair is a normal chair with arms, so not adjustable and cannot pull it up to the desk to work.
The internet is expensive ($60 for 5 days). The wireless signal was good and the speed was good also.
I noticed that several small pieces of debris were remaining on the floor on the carpet and in the bathroom for multiple days. When I inquired about the frequency of vacuuming, the staff apologized and it was clean the next day. The carpet is OK, but starting to show its age.
The walls are apparently rather thin. Although I did not hear much noise from the neighbors, on the last night there a baby was crying next door and I could hear it very clearly. Didn't bother me, but I may have been lucky it wasn't worse.
The bed was just adequate. I wish they would use fitted sheets as the mattress pad and the sheets easily untuck and slide around. The mattress was OK.

All together a good business hotel that could be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Warings,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Made the booking Thursday 12th dec, was not told they have a 24 hour cancellation policy, so when I realised I made the reservation at the wrong hotel and tryed to cancel it I was not very impressed. Check inn no problems but no one to help with bags got our own trolley only two people on the desk so we waited round 15 minutes, $25 extra to get my car parked. Two room apartment very clean but don't go near the mini bar you would be paying that off in installments very $$, orderd room service at 3.30pm a club sandwich 4.20pm we were still waiting turns out they forgot about the order, everything was pleasant enough but very $$ considering the Majestic on Frome had king size B&B summer special $165 and $11 for car park.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Julia W,

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you. Phone 08 8412 3386 or email tim.rees-jones@mantra.com.au.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Myself and 2 other friends stayed here for 7 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment. Rooms were presented well and overall the hotel was of a very high standard. Room service is pricey and the portion sizes were on the small side so don't rely on it if you are hungry. The location is perfect for city stays as it is a 5 minute walk to the Rundle Mall but far enough away to not be busy. There is a plethora of cafe's around for you to get coffee/meals as we found the hotel restaurant to be very overpriced. Staff were exceptional and very friendly! I would highly recommend this hotel for business as well as holiday stays! Great place to stay..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJLandsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear SJLandsberg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at the mantra last weekend, and was very impressed with everything, staff and room were beyond my expectations. But sadly our stay was ruined due to very loud music and noisy party like behaviour coming from our neighbours, the music got so loud we had to complain to reception, This behaviour continued for our entire stay, I understand staff cannot be held accountable for who they let into the rooms, But if a noise compaint is made i feel they need to be evicted, Hotel rooms are not for hosting parties, And as seen in the lift there was copious amounts of alcohol being taken up to rooms, By loads of younger guests who showed no respect to the others staying in the hotel, why is this tolerated ????.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Rees-Jones, General Manager at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Daryl N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the noise levels at the hotel were at an un-acceptable level. We have a strict policy in regards to noise at the hotel and excessive levels of noise are not tolerated. The issues you raised have been addressed with the duty management team and additional training implemented accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Hindmarsh Square again soon.

Regards,

Tim Rees-Jones
General Manager
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Hindmarsh Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Property: Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Address: 55 - 67 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Hindmarsh Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Hindmarsh Square offers premier apartment style accommodation in Adelaide’s bustling CBD. Boasting a city centre location, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is only a short stroll from the Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle Street dining precinct and minutes away from the Adelaide Convention Centre, Sky City Casino, Festival and Entertainment Centres. Combining convenience with style, the hotel offers a range of studios, one and two bedroom air-conditioned suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes, bathroom and laundry facilities. Some suites also offer private balconies with views across Adelaide city or out across the majestic Adelaide Hills. There are a wide range of guest facilities, including 24 hour room service and reception desk, gymnasium and tour desk for your convenience. Sq Restaurant, lounge bar & street side cafe offers creative cuisine featuring the best of local South Australian produce and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for overnight, short-term or long-term stays, Mantra Hindmarsh Square is centrally located, offering stylish accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Hindmarsh Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Mantra Hindmarsh Square Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Mantra Hindmarsh Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing