We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nghi Ngan Quan - CLOSED

Nghi Ngan Quan
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We just keep on going back.
Food is fantastic and authentic , we have been to Vietnam 4 times and its as good as you would find at reasonably upmarket restaurants.
Service is really good
Selection extensive
Serving sizes generous
Pricing good
Try the 7 beef banquet which is a self cook on your table. Fantastic !
Really worth the short drive from the city.
Currently it's our favourite Vietnamese Resturant in Adelaide.
The family appear very hands on with good attention to detail, may it continue !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A delicious lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We took my 92 year old grandmother here when we visited Adelaide last month. She had never tried Vietnamese food before, but definitely enjoyed it, especially the large servings!

I can vouch for the authenticity of the food, having lived in Vietnam for two years. The morning glory and chilli beef were the highlights for me, and soft shell crab seemed to be a hit with my parents. The beef salad was good, but not great and the fresh spring rolls were a little bland. But overall, we really enjoyed our meal and found it great value for money considering the sheer amount of food we ordered.

We will definitely be back next time we are in Adelaide.

Helpful?
Thank Zipporah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“We just keep coming back...and you will too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

NNQ continues to serve delicious Vietnamese food at ridiculously low prices.

It is located in a block of shops in suburbia and is good honest food without any bells or whistles but if you are like us and are pining for a reminder of the amazing food you ate in Vietnam, then look no further - NNQ is the place for you.

And yes. It may be a drive but it is still closer than HCMC....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RafKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, generous serves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local Vietnamese friend and I can't believe we haven't discovered this gem before! Hidden in the backstreets, NNQ is a lively place full of Vietnamese and other local families and couples. The service is really good considering how busy they are. Our group shrunk since making the booking so they moved us onto a smaller table, which was fine. They quickly brought out drinks and were ready to take our food order. Having said that, I never felt that they wanted to serve us and get rid of us.
The menu has a lot of choices! Our favourite dish was a slow cooked pork in special sauce - it was so delicious we were scrambling over the leftover sauce. Salt n pepper whole flounder was also good, as was the rice hot pot. We had 5 dishes, a bottle of wine and 4 Viet beers and it was $28 a head?! Excellent value as the serves are very generous. Other people were having the steamboat which looked large and fresh (for me, why go out and cook?).
Overall, I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Vietnamese food or wants to try it. It's worth the find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KazzaRazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Heard about this restaurant many times and finally visited it. We had the claypot rice and it was really good and big serve, probably enough for two people. Had the pho as well, it was good but not the best we have had in that area. Definitely will be back to try other dishes.
Loved the fact it is fully licensed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 456brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nghi Ngan Quan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing