We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient and Friendly”

The Grand Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Apartments
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am fortunate enough to have a long-stay apartment in The Grand Apartments which is so convenient for shopping in the city, eating out and walking in the parks. There is a nice pool, gym, spa and sauna and the grounds are generally well kept and clean.

My apartment is much the same as all the others with a few additional home touches such as extra furniture and new carpet - but all in all they are all clean, tidy, fully self contained in an ideal location.

There is plenty of hot water, good kitchen facilities, washer/dryer.

The apartments are two bedroom (mostly) and sleep 4 adults comfortably - we have had a couple of extras sleep in the couch for a night but it was a but cramped with 6 people.

I would recommend if you are staying in Adelaide and looking for self-contained apartment accommodation that this is an ideal choice.

Room Tip: Just pack you clothes and pick up some food - your sorted!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aprila070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2009

The unit we stayed in was very clean, decor very tasteful, washing machine tumble dryer, air conditioned, there were a couple of things the downside, the unit faces the main road could not sleep with window open also the street lights directly in front of bedroom window lit the room making it difficult to sleep however it would not put me off recommending these apartments. Great location, city bus takes 10 mins if that, great places to eat on Melbourne St. Oh there was one other thing our apartment was the only one that did not have an outdoor setting on the balcony, when we mentioned it to the staff she said she would pass the information on...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We've stayed at the Grand Apartments before and enjoyed it. However sadly the property isn't so 'grand' anymore.

The apartment we stayed in was run down and had broken chairs, a missing lightbulb in the leving area as well as a broken safety chain on the entrance door. Basic but important maintenance is obviously being neglected. As well there were significant stains on the carpet.

Reporting problems didn't seem to help. Apparently the chain is opening another property and that is the priority at the moment. During our stay we also ran out of toilet paper but with the limited office hours at the Grand, we couldn't get an additional supply.

This was once a terrifci place to stay but, like so many others, it has been neglected and money is not being spent too maintain the basics.

We were very disappointed would not recommend a stay here unless you're happy to pay a premium price for a not-so-premium experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank guru_g_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Apartment style property in beautiful North Adelaide.
Spacious two bedroomed units with a good size main bedroom.
Fabulous restaurants,cafes,bars at your doorstep in a very safe location just a $5.00 taxi ride to the city centre.
All apartments have full kitchen facilites,washer and dryer.
Also ample parking.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Grand apartments are on Melbourne Street, North Adelaide about a 30 minute walk from the centre of town. There are many restaurants, cafes and boutique stores in this very pleasant suburb.

A great place to stay. However, ask for an apartment overlooking the courtyard as the front ones face onto the main road (not great to have a balcony where people on the street are directly below you!).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Blods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

Three of us shared a two-bedroomed apartment when in Adelaide for the Ashes cricket test (about which the less said the better). The apartment is about a 25 minute walk to the Adelaide Oval across beautiful parks. The apartment was excellent, modern, spacious and clean with all the equipment you might want. It is advertised as being serviced, but the servicing is only done once a week. The best thing is the location on Melbourne Street, a lively little street with loads of restaurants. A convenience store, a wine merchant and an excellent pub, the Lord Melbourne, all within a couple of hundred meters or less.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cwood1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adelaide DressCircle Apartments - Archer Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adelaide DressCircle Apartments - Sussex Street
0.2 mi away
Majestic Old Lion Apartments
0.7 mi away
Greenways Apartments
Greenways Apartments
#24 of 53 in Adelaide
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Apartments

Address: 55 Melbourne St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: $111 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Adelaide's largest suppliers of Executive, Serviced Apartments. We provide the business and leisure traveller affordable accommodation for short and long term stays in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments and 2 bedroom penthouses. Located in the heart of the cosmopolitan North Adelaide ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing