We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying to sleep.”
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Woombye, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trying to sleep.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

It's 1:00 am and we fly back home today and the walls are shaking from the party on the balcony being held down stairs.

So far I have been unable to sleep well a single night we have been here. It would have been nice to have been given some warning about the load noise we could expect most every night.

We were told as we checked in that we were given a free upgrade to "the best room in the house" if this is the case we would hate to see anything else here. The best is so noisy that sleep is nearly impossible.

The other big issue is the air conditioning does nothing. We have it down at 18 and we are still sweating through our shirts.

Now some good things. The staff in the lobby are friendly and accommodating and we have enjoyed being close to everything.

And a personal note to the person who might reply to this review:
I have also noticed after reading some other reviews that the hotel takes our feedback seriously, but does not do anything about it. So to the PR person writing them, you really need find someone to act on the feedback or you will find your credibility lacking.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xaiofang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your comment, both negative and positive. We do appreciate constructive criticism together with knowing our staff are helpful and obliging.

We are very sorry to know that you slept so badly and that the noise was so invasive. We do endeavour to avoid such problems, albeit sometimes without success. We do try to select rooms that may be less noisy if and when we have a function on site. Obviously your room was not not best suited unfortunately.

With regards to the aircondtioning, we are currently having this repaired and have tried to do this with haste and professionalism. We regret that this also caused discomfort to your stay.

We do strive to give our guests a welcoming and happy memory of their time with us and we do apologise that in this instance we did not fulfil your expectations. We hope we have the opportunity to rectify this in the future.

Best wishes, The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    98
    37
    19
    17
See reviews for
16
81
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wanting a place close to the Film Festival cinema and quiet, we selected this hotel. Location is excellent. Reception staff friendly and apologetic when we complained about a dirty bathroom with residue on the floor and a pillowcase with blood on it! Yuk!
The room was spacious but the furniture is old and tatty and tired. The room was bright enough from the two windows but the frosted glass meant you had no view and no idea what the weather was outside.
The halls were being painted white which will help the dark brown feeling of the place.
I agree with another reviewer about the poor continental breakfast and we had to ask for the loud tv to be turned down. Who wants loud tv at breakfast?
Very ordinary accommodation in a nice location

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback Rob F,
We take all guests comments seriously and we thank you for providing the information below.
The Hotel Richmond are pleased to be now in the process of a Refurbishment; all of the rooms at the hotel are being painted, the décor updated and the bathrooms are all being refreshed.
We have taken on board all guests comments, and we are soon to start our long awaited fabulous Hot Breakfast in First.
We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the refurbished Hotel Richmond in the coming months.
Kind regards,
Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Large room with a comfortable King Bed, even though its 2 x singles joined. Ducted A/C is great, 32" LCD TV is good size to watch from "sun lounge". Large bathroom with above standard size shower. Bar menu is inviting and eating on the first floor balcony is great if your on your own. The bad bits are that whilst the mini bar is well stocked, the thermostat on the fridge can't be changed and I didn't think drinks were cold enough. Parking is in a parking lot where it costs $18 each time you want to leave or $23 for valet, thus a bit pricey. Other than that its a well priced hotel right in the mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Brad290, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and providing us with positive feedback. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with your overall stay, the location of the hotel and that you found the room very comfortable. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future!
Kind Regards,
Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Richmond Hotel is located slap bang along Rundle Mall, which is the main shopping centre in Adelaide! A couple of days prior to our departure I received a call from the Manager of the hotel to inform me that the hotel had a band playing on Saturday night and although we are to be located on the 5th floor, we might hear some music. It is a courtesy call and he said that they inform all the guests. I thanked him for the information and on the night, found that it was quiet as the sound did not carry to our room.
There are plenty of places to choose from for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Although the hotel is older, our room was very neat and clean! A new place does not mean that it is better as it is only cosmetic! The location is absolutely fantastic! A downside is that there is no private car park for the hotel and a special deal is organised with the adjacent multi storey car park. It can cost $18 per day (if you use your car daily) or if you park your car there for the duration of your stay and not take it out of the car park (like we did), it only cost us $18 for our entire 3 day stay. The $18 is paid at reception when checking out. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed out stay at the Richmond Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Michael N, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and providing us with excellent feedback. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with your overall stay with us and that you were delighted with the location of our property. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future!
Kind Regards,
Hotel Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
214 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had occasion to fly into Adelaide for a business and social combined mini break. It meant we would be without a vehicle and needed to be fairly central. Hotel Richmond is situated right in Rundle Mall which is the main shopping precinct of Adelaide CBD - in fact the entrance is so narrow I never noticed the hotel in all the years I had paced the shopping area! There is a convenient taxi rank at the Pulteney St end of the Mall which makes access very easy. Once inside, we found quite a nicely renovated older building and spacious rooms. Reception staff were very obliging.
The rooms have clearly been done-up and look quite nice but there are a few tell-tale signs such as ageing tiles in the bathroom which don't exactly let the place down, but just take the shine off it a little. The shower cubicle was bizarrely shaped so that one could only stand parallel with the wall or be constantly knocking one's elbow on the wall. Oh and the shower door didn't close off properly so the floor floods with water which is always annoying.
The continental breakfast was the most disappointing offering I have seen in a long time and, seriously, management should be embarrassed to offer it and charge money for it. Do not on any account waste your time eating breakfast at this hotel -there are plenty of other cafes along the Mall and surrounding streets which will give you a far better start to the day.
This place ranks very well for location and helpful staff, nicely for the quality of the rooms and sleep comfort, and terribly for breakfast arrangements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear CoolMum64, Thank you very much for your detailed comment on trip...... we are happy that you find our location very handy in Rundle Mall, our renovated rooms pleasing and especially our staff obliging and friendly.

We were disappointed though to note that you had some problems with the shower door and that our breakfast was not satisfactory. We are sorry that it was not to your liking as we always aim to please our guests. We encourage our clients to discuss any issues they may experience during their stay, so that where possible, we can overcome these.

We hope that you will return to The Hotel Richmond in the future and that your stay will be without incident. We certainly appreciate your custom and feedback as this helps us to help you.

Kind Regards, Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great location.
Very tired and dirty.
Needs renovating or at least cleaning and fresh paint.
Refused access to First bar because there was a function on. Told by Eddy the bar manager to [--]off somewhere else! The party had paid much more than we had to stay there for 2 nights!!!
Spoilt a weekend that was to celebrate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzywr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Lizzywr1, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently. We have read your recent comments on trip advisor and would like to respond accordingly. We are a small boutique and heritage hotel that is very conveniently located in the mall with a 4-star rating. Our new and repeated guests believe that we offer good value for money, our decor and overall cleanliness is to their satisfaction.

We occassionally hold private functions in our bar area and obviously when these are held we need to respect the privacy our these paying guests. We also have very strict laws in South Australia with regards to the serving of alcohol.

Because of our great location in the Rundle Mall we are surrounded by many bars, restaurants and the like in the mall and the ever popular Rundle Street pubs and cafes should we be holding a private function.

Best wishes, The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Terrible terrible service, I have stayed here a couple of times and will never stay here again and never recommend this hotel to anyone. I celebrated my 49th birthday and 27th wedding anniversary with 2 nights at this hotel. We were refused entry to the advertised trendy bar Saturday night because...........it was a private party.......no wait we were too drunk.........no wait according to reception we are not drunk at all and we are allowed to go in..........wwit.......no we are too drunk (for god sake I am 50 next year).......no wait changed again its now private party AGAIN and no one else knew about it! FFS just give this place a miss, spend the extra $30 a night and go to somewhere worth staying where the staff WANT to look after you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWR1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Paul W, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently. We are sorry to read your review on trip advisor and your unhappiness with your recent stay with us. There was obviously some confusion with your request for entry to our bar area by perhaps both our team and yourselves also. We do at times hold private functions in this area and of course need to respect the privacy of the people hiring and paying for this area exclusively. We also have to be mindful of our licencing laws and the sale of alcohol to our guests. With these conditions in mind we have to act accordingly and unfortunately we were unable to let you gain access. We do however regret that you were inconvenienced as our main aim is always to please and hope that we satisfy our clients.

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansions on Pulteney
Mansions on Pulteney
#41 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#15 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 128 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#26 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the business and shopping district, Hotel Richmond is Adelaide's premier boutique hotel. The effortlessly chic 30 guestrooms and suites feature individual climate control, all about me amenities, en-suite bathrooms and flat-screen televisions. The glamorous restaurant and bar, "first", is a magnet for the cool party crowd. Spherical wire-ball chandeliers cast twinkling light over artwork by local and international artists. The contemporary Australian menu, offers modern dining in chic surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing