We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe I just had the one bad room...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Richmond
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Maybe I just had the one bad room...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was assigned room 44 which didn't match the descriptions given online or over the phone. "We have marble bathrooms" obviously didn't mean "all" rooms have marble bathrooms and the furnishings were also in very poor shape. The curtains didn't provide privacy, which I only noticed after changing clothes which would have given anyone in the multi-story carpark immediately opposite the windows an eyeful. The room size was fair but 44 is right next to the lift so I got little sleep due to the electrical and mechanical noises. Also, the room smelled of the "conditioner" used to cover up smoking. Breakfast had no hot foods and the bar closed at 9pm. Staff was friendly but overall, the experience was not worth the price. Perhaps rooms which do not face the inner courtyard are better... But I'll never know!

Room Tip: Perhaps room 45, or any facing the Mall instead of an internal lightwell, would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KangarooQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear KangarooQueen, Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at the Hotel Richmond recently. I am sorry to read that you had some displeasure, but happily you were pleased with our staff.

Our rooms have a variety of designs and configurations and obviously some will be near stairwells and lifts. We try to always pass on the most pleasing and less noisy rooms in the first instance, but unfortunately, when the hotel is heavily booked, we need to allocate all rooms. With regards to your comments about about curtaining and privacy, this is something that we will address.

As we are a boutique hotel, only continental breakfast is offered as we only have a small clientele and likewise with bar hours. The Hotel Richmond is situated in Rundle Mall and is surrounded by cafes, bars and shopping where one can relax and enjoy a full breakfast, lunch & dinner, indulge in a nightcap or even go 'clubbing'.
Kind regards,
Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    97
    36
    18
    17
See reviews for
16
78
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great Value with friendly staff. Downstairs is out of the way and a nice place for a quick refreshment. The Staff were amasing and couldnt be more helpful ... Would go again

Located in the heart of Rundle mall this is as central as it gets . Great for tourist as its not far from any venue. Ideal for Shoppers or Sightseeing

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Cat A, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the service and location of our property. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back with us in the very near future.
Kind Regards, Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Walking distance to art gallery ,botanic gardens and zoo,close to cafes and shopping.although there is a bar in the first floor room was very
Room good but common areas a bit tired.breakfast plenty but limited variety.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor as there is a bar on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear 600carmen, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards, Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to my night in Adelaide after a long work trip, so much so in fact that I moved from the Stamford to the Richmond as I am more a boutique hotel fan than multi-chain hotels.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the past 12 months and this was the biggest let down of them all, my room looks nothing like the images online, it's a decent size don't get me wrong but I'm in the back corner of the hotel for sure!

I have to say the staff were lovely, couldn't have asked for a better greeting/welcome.

The general facilities are good but it could be so much better with a few little improvements - the furnishings and bathroom were clean but need to be refreshed - my biggest disappointment is the 'king bed' that is in truth 2 singles pushed together with a very uncomfortable ridge all the way down the middle!

An iPod dock would be useful and is pretty standard in most boutique hotels now rather than the very cheap little alarm clock.

Possibly my biggest disappointment was the general cleanliness of the room, the blind was not only ripped and tatty but dirty and the line of dust around the edges of the carpet initially is so thick that I initially thought it was paint! They are easy things to fix that don't cost a lot but for me cleanliness is a dealbreaker.

In summary I travel to SA a lot for work and am sorry to say I will be going back to the Majestic should I stay the weekend again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sparrow F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Sparrow F, Thank you for your comments and feedback. We do appreciate knowing how our guests feel and do take 'on board' all comments, good and bad. Whilst we were very pleased to know that our staff were lovely and that you received warm welcome we are disappointed to know that our rooms were not up to your expectations. Two single beds together to form a king size bed is a common occurence, even on ships, but Im sorry you found it very uncomfortable. Your iPod dock is something that would certainly have been useful and worth considering in future.

We are very displeased to know that you found the room unclean. Your comments will certainly be discussed with management and staff and thank you for taking the time to advise us of your feelings. We are very sorry to hear that you will not be returning to stay with us again, but we will look at all your concerns and hope that these will be made right very soon.
Kind regards, Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Self-described as Adelaide's leading boutique hotel, this establishment has all it would take to make a really special place. Great location on the pedestrian Rundle Mall, evocative architecture, high ceilings and grand sized rooms. The common areas are a bit shabby, like a standard Australian hotel/pub but the rooms we saw (our own and that of friends') were spacious and well-appointed. And the staff were friendly. Shame about the management. Inattention to detail was the norm. In our room and our friends', dirty towels were not always changed, tea not replenished, floors not vacuumed. Breakfast choice was limited and quality mediocre, fruit ran out long before the appointed time. One morning coffee was finished by 9.30 (breakfast ran till 11). The excuse, that there were no more filters, seemed hardly relevant with a branch of Wooworths less than 100 metres away. Sorry guys, this just isn't good enough to justify your 4* rating.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not at the front - lots of noise from Rundle Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear NiceMartin. Firstly, let me thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Richmond and we are pleased you were happy with the great location, architecture, and well appointed rooms.

Secondly, we are saddened to hear that several things have disappointed you and that your stay was affected by the set backs you report. We do like to pride ourselves on keeping our guests happy as we strive to make holidays memorable and fun filled.

Lastly, we do thank you for your constructive criticism and sincerely apologise that our Hotel was not up to your expectation. Your comments will certainly be brought to the attention of the people responsible and we hope that should you choose to visit us again in the near future we will delight you once more with our Hotel and our service.

Kind Regards,
Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just got to say what a great location so stay staff where very friendly and very helpfully we loved our room very clean nice big shower room better then most place we have stayed in great bed very comfy air con works very well we where very happy with our stay and we will be staying there again the food was all so very good in the bar well done to the Richmond hotel good job guys keep up the good work

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Steve W, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and for providing us with outstanding feedback. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future!
Kind Regards,
Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, qld
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Chose this hotel for its great location and price. It was just a hop to Elder Hall where I was going to a couple of concerts, and it is at the end of the mall where it was close to the taxi rank and the restaurant end of Rundle St. The front desk staff were all very friendly but if you like a hotel to have a bit of sparkle and polish, and look clean and airy then this is not the place. Here you really only get what you pay for in terms of quality. It is a hotel first and foremost, so the carpet in the lift and stairwell is stained with booze. The vase of gladioli on the front desk looked like they were breeding something illegal in it - surely this could have been tossed out by one of the staff as it created a shabby and grimy first impression. The whole place is dimly lit - and the corridors are reminiscent of those cheap American boarding houses in movies where you expect to hear gunshots and screaming going on! The canvas painting next to the lift on my floor had been ripped or slashed, but for some reason just left there. If nothing else is done surely they could get some blinds that actually fit the windows instead of the tacky oversized bamboo creations that line the walls leading to your room. I breathed an incredible sigh of relief however when I opened my room door. It was cool, clean and blissfully quiet. The king size bed was comfortable if I stayed to one side but my dream of spreading out was thwarted by this hotel's odd way of not covering up of the join of the 2 singles pushed together as most other hotels seem to be able to do effectively. I cannot complain about the other general comfort or size or cleanliness of the room and bathroom. There was the usual tea and coffee facilities, mini bar fridge, and toiletries. None of these were replaced or topped up however the next day, but the bed was made and the room vacuumed. This hotel could be really lovely and carry its 'boutique' title with some pride if it is cleaned up. The location is fabulous, but I'll be looking to stay at the Crowne Plaza next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter than those closer to the mall and restaurant / bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louka63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResManagerHR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Richmond, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Louka63, Thank you for staying at the Hotel Richmond recently and for your constructive criticism. Whilst every endeavour is made to make our patrons feel welcomed and comfortable we sometimes overlook the obvious. We appreciate the time and effort made in voicing your comments and we will certainly "take on board" your thoughts. We are very pleased you were happy with our staff and with your room overall. We appreciate your custom and hope that perhaps in time you may change your mind and visit us again and our very conveniently located city boutique hotel.
Kind Regards,
Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansions on Pulteney
Mansions on Pulteney
#40 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richmond

Property: Hotel Richmond
Address: 128 Rundle Mall, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#26 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the business and shopping district, Hotel Richmond is Adelaide's premier boutique hotel. The effortlessly chic 30 guestrooms and suites feature individual climate control, all about me amenities, en-suite bathrooms and flat-screen televisions. The glamorous restaurant and bar, "first", is a magnet for the cool party crowd. Spherical wire-ball chandeliers cast twinkling light over artwork by local and international artists. The contemporary Australian menu, offers modern dining in chic surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing