We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for the duration of the Adelaide Ashes test match. All staff we dealt with on reception and the bar were excellent. Relaxed, friendly and helpful. The fittings, furniture and carpeting were all in great condition, we didn't notice one scuff or worn bit of carpet at all! Nice eating out in the courtyard in the evening were we found the food really good. Only gripe was the cost of wifi which seemed rather steep. The hotel in Melbourne we'd stayed in, it was included in the cost of the room, here it most definitely was not. However, I paid it.
It surprised us that there was no bar/food available on the Sunday. We thought this odd in a good hotel in a major city.
Handy for the cricket, and the shopping district. If we returned to Adelaide, we'd have no hesitation in staying again, although not on a Sunday.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear S997,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be helpful.

I have taken on board your comments regarding the WI-Fi, something we are constantly in discussions regarding, with our Head Office team in Sydney. Yes, unfortunately, the Treasury Restaurant is closed on a Sunday but you can order food from a local Italian Bistro direct to your Apartment.

On behalf of all the Adina team, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you have a very Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Adelaide.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    557
    104
    36
    14
See reviews for
272
762
79
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We live locally and for a treat stayed at the Adina on a special overnight package. The old Treasury building has been restored beautifully and still maintains some of its original historic features with brickwork exposed and many photos along the passages. The former Cabinet Room is still used for conferences and you can ask to see the room when not in use. There is a large lap pool and spa in the basement which we didn't use but looked most acceptable.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with balcony overlooking the pretty courtyard. Every facility and utensil you could possibly require is provided. The full kitchen has large oven and cooktop, microwave, large fridge - you could easily stay for a month very comfortably and provide for yourself if you wish, especially as the Central Market is quite close by, an easy walk.

Transport is also just outside the door.

The entire apartment was very roomy with two televisions, dining table and lounge as well as other chairs. Another benefit we appreciated was that we could open the window for fresh air and not rely on airconditioning. The bed was exceptionally comfortable with good quality linen and feather pillows.

Even though the hotel is opposite the Town Hall where the clock strikes regularly we didn't hear it through the night unless we stepped onto the balcony. Generally it was very quiet considering the hotel is located in the heart of the city.

Breakfast in the courtyard beside the fountain and amongst the pretty blue agapanthas was a delight and the hot breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. In every case, the staff were not only efficient but friendly and obliging.

We've stayed in all sorts of places all around the world and yet how nice it was to discover this gem in our own backyard! Anyone visiting Adelaide is recommended to stay at Adina.

Room Tip: I think any room would be good but first floor was good. A room overlooking the courtyard is good, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear HelenG724,

Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding your recent stay.

I am so pleased that you came to stay with us, there is nothing better than having a mini-getaway in the city that you live in. I am so pleased you chose Adina.

Thrilled to hear that you saw the Cabinet Room. Did you know the decision to give women the right to vote in South Australia was made in that room in 1895? First state in Australia to pass the vote.

The Adina team and I all wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next feel like a mini-getaway in your back yard.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a fair few hotels and apartments but in this price range, the Adina hits the mark on every point. You could argue that internet could be free, but I don't use the wifi internet anyway.

Parking is no big deal and is typical of city hotels.

The rooms are nice, comfortable and very well maintained. Feels like home, not like a hotel.

I've stayed at the Adina in a few cities, and I've been convinced enough to be a return customer - and I am picky.

Great location with everything within a short walking distance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mellies_world01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear mellies_world01,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I am so pleased that your dounf your apartment to be comfortable and well maintained. Our Executive Housekeeper and her team take great pride in their work.

The Adina team and I hope you have a wonderful Festive period and we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Adelaide soon.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Adina Hotel has it all. The service is impeccable, the rooms are large and well-appointed, and the amenities phenomenal.This is a beautiful hotel! There's a lap pool, gym, and excellent restaurant all on the premises. This historic property has been completely renovated to meet the needs of the modern traveler. The suites include a full kitchen, washer/dryer, and two TVs. All the rooms have plenty of natural light. The hotel cafe is in a beautiful and quiet courtyard that's a pleasant escape from the urban environment. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Fernando0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Fernando D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is my personal goal to always exceed our guests expectations and I am hoping I have succeeded in your case.

I hope you have a wonderful Festive Period and a very Happy New Year and the Adina team and I really look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Adelaide.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I do not know how this hotel got the rating it has on Trip advisor. I was booked in for 6 nights and after 2 checked out and moved to Glenelg. Parking is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel maybe 3 minutes if you walk like marathon walker. . The internet is terrible but it has nothing to do with hotel so i was told to turn my machine of for 10 minutes and everything would work no surprise find it was just the same. Breakfast was not edible but again no issue of the hotel as it has nothing to do with them !!. I had a fat arrive calling it English breakfast when i all the food apart from one slice of toast and the egg yolk no body said was it all oK they just charged me for 3 coffees and only had one . Lastly i arrived back at the hotel after a lovely day in the Adelaide hills to have a relaxing drink in the courtyard but could not get out the door!! They forgot to tell us the bar and restaurant is not open on a sunday !!

I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and have never been treated so badly

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigman58090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear bigman58090,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay.

As I mentioned in my e-mail to you, I would very much like to have the opportunity to discuss your experience further as it is my personal goal to always exceed our guests expectations at Adina and I have clearly failed in this case.

I have taken your comments on board and have implemented strategies to ensure we learn from this.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at end of test match. Location is fantastic. 15 mins walk to 100s of bar and restaurants, and the Oval.
Self catered for brekkie by shopping at the market across Victoria Square. Fruit and nuts everywhere.
We had a studio apartment. Huge room. No noise as old walls retained when converted from treasury so slept well.
If in Adelaide - stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenbpfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear kenbpfell,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The Adina team and I are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and embraced the excitement of the city during the Ashes test.

We hope you have a wonderful Festive Period and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Adina when your travels next bring you back to Adelaide.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at the Adina Treasury on our wedding night. We found no request we made was too hard for staff, we were upgraded to a king size room overlooking the courtyard, with complimentary late checkout.

The hotel itself is beautiful, steeped in character and history, yet luxuriously modern as well!

Our one bedroom apartment was beautiful, it had a full kitchen, large bathroom and a hidden laundry which would make it a perfect place to stay on an extended holiday!

Staff went above and beyond for us, waiting for us in our room was a bottle of sparkling wine, chocolates and best wishes from hotel staff.

Can't wait to return on my first anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooners_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Honeymooners_AU,

Wow, what a wonderful review. First and foremost, Congratulations once again on your wedding. The team at Adina and I are so thrilled you decided to spend your wedding night with us in our beautiful Treasury Building.

For you to let us know that you will be back for your anniversary means a lot to us and we are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The Adina Team and I wish you both a very Merry Christmas and a Happy and Prosperous New Year. We are all really looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Address: 2 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the stunning elegance of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, superbly located in the heart of Adelaide in the historic, heritage-listed former Treasury. Your stay in this friendly city can only be enhanced by the historic charm of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, situated at the true heart of the city's CBD, overlooking Victoria Square and adjacent to the Town Hall. Originally the offices for the State Treasury, Medina has completely restored and rejuvenated its heritage features making it one of the country's most appealing boutique hotels. Andrew Harper’s Hideaway Report, the most respected publication in luxury travel, announced in its March 2011 issue the recommendation of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. All of Andrew Harper’s recommended properties possess exceptional character, a commitment to classic hospitality and a profound sense of place. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury is delighted to be among the best of the best properties worldwide to receive his recommendation. Whether your plans call for back-to-back business meetings or picnics in the park - you are within an easy stroll of all the action at Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. The Botanic Gardens, major Art Galleries, the Adelaide Casino, the shopping, restaurants and cafes of Rundle Mall, and the superb fresh produce from Adelaide Central Market: are all a five minute walk away. Choose from 80 one and two bedroom apartments, all with in-house movies and Foxtel. Enjoy the sophisticated decor and the mood-enhancing ambiance of your hotel apartment, with fully-equipped kitchen and laundry, climate control and fast broadband. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury can be your "home office" in the "City of Churches". Our dedicated staff will move mountains to make your stay a enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing