We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, but full of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel has recently changed its name from the Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. My husband and I recently stayed here in an apartment for two nights, during the Tour Down Under bicycle race. The location is very convenient - opposite the GPO and next to the Adelaide Town Hall and Victoria Square. If you walk around the square (heading west) you will reach the Central Market, with quality fresh food, cafes, a wine shop and Coles supermarket. This was very convenient in terms of buying milk, cereal, water etc., to use in our small kitchen.

We were given a quiet room, as requested, which was located looking into the central courtyard of the hotel. Our room was light and bright, with three large windows, and noise was never a problem, even though drinks were served in the courtyard late in the afternoon. Our bathroom was lovely - modern and very clean.

It's very convenient staying here, especially as the apartments are fitted with kitchens including a dishwasher and large fridge. Car parking is available a short distance away at a reasonable rate (compared to other high end hotels).

We chose the Adina because it's housed in the old Treasury building - a gracious old stone building close to other historic buidlings. We were very pleased to be shown through the old Cabinet meeting room - complete with original furniture and photos of past South Australian politicians, including Don Dunstan.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, though you may have to walk further to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear fitzfloyd,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be ideal for your visit to the Tour Downunder.

I am so happy that you got a chance to see our magnificent old Cabinet meeting room. Did you know that the old Cabinet room is heritage listed and belongs to the National Trust. Everything is kept exactly as it was back when cabinet meetings took place. Its steeped in history and fascinating to spend some time in.

I am always so pleased when our guests get a chance to visit the fantastic the fantastic central markets. We are ideal with our fully equipped kitchens in our one and two bedroom apartments for our guests to taste some of the freshest produce South Australia has to offer.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to possibly welcoming you back for Tour Downunder 2014.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

terrific hotel in the centre of Adelaide ,easy access to the trams and bus's,great food from both the bar and the reasterant.my only concern would be for older people with mobility issues getting in and out of the bath/shower

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Keith C,

Thank you very much for your feedback, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I can confirm that we do have bathrooms with walk in showers and fully equipped facilities for guests with mobility issues.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury very soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were in Adelaide for a short stay and needed accommodation. We chose this one, sadly, because there was laundry facilities in the room and we were in need. Dumb luck, but this a great hotel. The rooms are very well appointed and furnished. The bed is VERY comfortable, and the bathroom is huge. We chose the suite configuration which was well worth while. The building itself is very historic and worth a trip up and down the main staircase. The staff at the desk was very helpful. Parking is not on property. It is about two blocks away in a secure garage above the police station. The only negative is that their house wifi is way too expensive ($25/day) but the good news is that there are so many coffee shops etc on the same block, that I had my choice of a couple of free wifi providers as long as I sat by the window which was not a problem. I highly recommend this hotel if you either need to be in downtown for business or you are playing tourist.

Room Tip: It does not matter. This is a real high end hotel with grat faci I ties and without the high end p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnawc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Johnawc1981,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am thrilled that you chose to come and stay with us and even more thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. So glad you found the beds comfortable, we only replaced all our beds very recently.

I am sorry that you found the internet to be too expensive but glad that you found an alternative.

Once again, on behalf of the entire team at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, thank you for choosing to stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Adelaide.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights for the Tour Down Under 2013. Location of this hotel was suberb! Very central and only a few minutes walk to the tour village, Rundle Mall, Adelaide Central Markets and restaurants on Gouger Street.

The facilities in this hotel was great! We stayed in a one bedroom premium apartment on the second floor with a small balcony. The room was very clean and well-appointed. We took advantage of the full kitchen in the apartment by buying fresh bread, pasta, cheese and fruits from the Adelaide Central Markets.

While the hotel does not have parking facilities on site, parking is available at a nearby parking lot for a discounted daily rate, which was very convenient.

Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be coming to this hotel for TDU2014.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazeek00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi krazeek001,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. I agree, the Hotel is in a perfect location to get involved in all the excitement of the Tour Downunder.

I am so pleased as well that you took advantage of purchasing the freshest produce at the Central Markets and cooking them in your fully equipped kitchen in your apartment.

We are all very excited about welcoming you back to Adelaide for TDU 2014, if I can help with any of your arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me directly: 08 8112 0000 or by e-mail: bsaxton@adinahotels.com.au

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lived in Adelaide for 5 years previously. Stayed for one night in early Jan with two young kids. Location is excellent as others have mentioned and you have a choice of buses / trams or walk to Central Market, Gouger St restaurants, Rundle Mall and some attractions on North Tce. No on site parking, so either use a commercial parking about 2 blocks away or just park on the street. Unlike bigger cities, you can still get free 1 or 2 hour parking within 100 m of the hotel. As we were checking out early, just leave it on the street from 6pm until 0930 the next morning for free.

The two bedroom apartment was big and had a kitchen, living room and two bathrooms. We paid $250 which is relatively good value. You may be able to get it for 10% cheaper from other websites. Unfortunately, there was heat wave at the time and the hotel air-conditioners could not cope and ran on 50% capacity, hence it was quite uncomfortable. Management provided small fans which helped a little and they provided a letter to apologize to all guests. I found there were a number of mosquitoes inside the apartment which is annoying and I don't think one can open the windows there. Toiletries were below average for this standard of hotel which does not help the image. The building itself has a lot of history and is more interesting than the standard hotel chains.

Breakfast is a la carte with limited selection. Quality is good and the price is expected for the hotel. The courtyard with its historic fountain makes a nice setting. If you can bother venturing a couple of blocks there are plenty of options.

Overall, it you had a family of 4 or were sharing with another couple, it is hard to beat the value of a two bedroom apartment. Provided the aircon and mosquitoes were anomalies, I would consider staying again as the property is a solid 4 star. If you're traveling as a couple you could look at other options nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Flinders St as they are quieter. King William St has trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhotoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear PhotoMD,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry that you had to endure our hardships with the Air Conditioning system, I am pleased to inform you that we got it up and running again within a week after waiting for parts to be delivered from accross the country.

I can confirm that you are able to open your apartment windows, I apologise that you experienced mosquitos in your apartment, please let us know next time, we shall be straight up to resolve the situation.

I am really pleased you enjoyed our spacious Two Bedroom Premier Apartment, as you mentioned, great value for familes, couples and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 18-21 January and chose this hotel for its proximity to the Central Market and Her Majesty's Theatre on Grote Street. The room was quite large and well appointed, but a bit expensive at $165 per night room only, with another $14 per day for car parking in Gawler Place, pay extra for daily newspapers, and a 1.5% credit card charge on everything.
The heritage building has been very tastefully updated, and is very clean and well maintained.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but the reception desk was undermanned when we checked out, and there should have been more staff on duty.

Room Tip: Room 34 has a nice balcony facing a leafy internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Stickman1,

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am glad that you were comfortable in your well appointed spacious room.

I will address your comments regarding the reception desk.

Kind Regards
Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment which was very roomy and had everything we needed. The building itself was lovely and in a great location. Unfortunately, we were woken up two nights out of five in the early hours of the morning because of fights going on outside that went for at least an hour each time. I understand that this is not the accommodations fault but it is a shame that the street alongside seems to be where a drunken gang hangs out. Another problem with sleep quality was that the bed was very hard and the pillows were awful! The staff were polite enough but did not offer any information or ever ask if we needed help, it was always up to us to get there attention and ask them direct questions (and even then some did not understand us). Another issue was that the air-con was not working for the majority of our stay, however we did get a letter under the door to apologise for this.

Room Tip: Air-con was only working on Ground floor during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimB88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear KimB88_13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately it seems there were some instances that prevented you from completely enjoying your whole experience with us.

I can assure you that there are no gangs hanging around on the streets around the Hotel, I have been here for 8 months and this was the first and only incident that we have had since I have been here. I am sorry that you did not find the bed or pillows comfortable and indeed the air conditioning was a very unfortunate incident which is all rectified now.

I am however pleased that you found the room spacious and well appointed and in a great location.

Kind Regards
Ben Saxton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury

Address: 2 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $112 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the stunning elegance of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, superbly located in the heart of Adelaide in the historic, heritage-listed former Treasury. Your stay in this friendly city can only be enhanced by the historic charm of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury, situated at the true heart of the city's CBD, overlooking Victoria Square and adjacent to the Town Hall. Originally the offices for the State Treasury, Medina has completely restored and rejuvenated its heritage features making it one of the country's most appealing boutique hotels. Andrew Harper’s Hideaway Report, the most respected publication in luxury travel, announced in its March 2011 issue the recommendation of Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. All of Andrew Harper’s recommended properties possess exceptional character, a commitment to classic hospitality and a profound sense of place. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury is delighted to be among the best of the best properties worldwide to receive his recommendation. Whether your plans call for back-to-back business meetings or picnics in the park - you are within an easy stroll of all the action at Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury. The Botanic Gardens, major Art Galleries, the Adelaide Casino, the shopping, restaurants and cafes of Rundle Mall, and the superb fresh produce from Adelaide Central Market: are all a five minute walk away. Choose from 80 one and two bedroom apartments, all with in-house movies and Foxtel. Enjoy the sophisticated decor and the mood-enhancing ambiance of your hotel apartment, with fully-equipped kitchen and laundry, climate control and fast broadband. Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury can be your "home office" in the "City of Churches". Our dedicated staff will move mountains to make your stay a enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Adelaide Treasury Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing