We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful staff - great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful staff - great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I was upgraded to a lovely spacious room when I found my allocated room had a stale smell - Roshit was the manager on duty and was only too happy to move me - the new room was lovely and quiet, my in room dinner was prompt, hot and delicious - staff on reception were attentive and really friendly - yes this is an older style hotel but the location is perfect and the staff beautiful - thank you

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmet-food-lover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Gourmet-foodlover-1

Thank you for your post on TA. I am glad that Rosh looked after you and I appreciate your feedback.

I will share this with the team.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    707
    720
    356
    226
See reviews for
286
852
307
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Augusta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The room was very expensive $175 and small, not good value for money .
The room was clean but needed some lights replaced that were not working.
I found the room very noisy with someone close watching a movie at full volume, and lots of other noises. The staff were friendly and provided good service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Steven N

Thank you for your post on TA. I am sorry that you didn't feel that the room was good value for money. We have had some events on here in Adelaide including Tour Down Under and the International Cricket and prices are a little higher than normal. I take on board your comments with regard to the lights and noise and will personally look into this.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Mecure Grosvenor was good value for money, but price is about all it has going for it!

We were in a "centre" room so our windows didn't open as they were towards the internals and other rooms. The room was small but extremely clean and recently refurbished, which always makes it more comfortable. We also had a lovely bed.

Like others, terrible air conditioning and no in room controls. It was terribly hot and we both woke up dehydrated.

The bathroom was also small however immaculate! Requires more hooks for towels, toiletries and clothes to make it more useable for guests, the vanity was tiny, we had no where to put anything! Like others, the door in was very narrow and involved a large step so wouldn't be practical or comfortable for some elderly or overweight guests.

Some staff were extremely helpful, thanks for organising the pedastool fan! However there was always a queue at reception which could time consuming and frustrating.

Car parking wasn't ideal, when you pull up the "driveway" only has space for two cars so we had to cut a lap... Then to find out, after we'd pulled in and driven around their car park, they had no spaces we had to cut another lap to get to the preferred car park. It was clear they didn't have nearly enough parks for the number of rooms. This was a real hassle and meant our check-in took around an hour as we lapped twice and waited in queue's!

Room Tip: We were in 423, the air conditioning was poor so not this one (but was very quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Ade-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Travel-Ade-Australia

Thank you for your detailed and balanced post on Trip Advisor.

From your post I can see that we actually have a lot 'going for us' including clean, refurbished rooms, immaculate bathrooms and great staff.

As you also note Adelaide has been experiencing unprecedented heatwave conditions and we have struggled to 'keep up.' We have taken all possible precautions and actions to assist our guests during this very difficult time. I am sorry that you were uncomfortable but I can assure you that minus the long spells of 40 degree + temperature we offer a great hotel at a great price.

Hopefully you'll stay with us again outside of heatwaves.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.0 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing