We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stay 2 nights at Mercure Grosvenor. The location is the best, just opposite casino and railway station, walk distance restaurants, pubs, bars, shoppings. Very friendly staff. The room was very nice, clean and big bathroom. The only negative thing is the aircon, its not cool enough and very old system. If u coming to Adelaide I really recommend u stay here, specially for the location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2014

Thank you Rodrigo for your review,

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Adelaide. We hope it is not too long before we get to see you again.

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,287)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel was ok, the staff were friendly but the airconditioning didn't work. It had only been a 28 degree celcius day however the hotel was so hot that I had to sleep under a wet towel and barely slept. We asked for a fan but there were none available as they had all been lent out. It was much hotter inside than outside and because we were on the 5th floor the windows didn't open. The internet was not free and quite expensive to use. It also costs for car parking. It was very noisy and I could hear thumping from a night club through my ear plugs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babysitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2014

Thank you for your review,

Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. I will get our Maintenance team to take a look at the air conditioning in the room you were in as I ma sure there are ways we can make the airflow a little better.

Hope you come back to visit us again sometime soon and you have a more comfortable stay.

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The service was very good, but I found the rooms to be a little small if you were staying for anything longer than the 3 nights. The décor and carpet are a bit old, however the hotel is clean and reasonably priced. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Michael P

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We are an older style hotel with all the amenities that you could need at a great price. I'm glad you'd recommend our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice - first time - for one night, then we went to Kangoroo Island and on our return spent two more nights in Mercure Grosvenor. It was good, especially the first time.
We arrived a little earlier and got the early check in, which was very appreciated, and the lady at the reception was very nice and explained us all that we should know. The room was spacy, the hotel looked very good, the only thing i didn't like was the view in the room. The window faced а wall and the window itself was covered with thin dark film. But it was not a big problem. The bathroom was big. In the room there were free facilities for tea and coffee, and ironing facilities.
For the second time we were given the room twice as small as our first room, but the window and the view were better.
We had a silver accor card, that's why wi-fi was free for us, but normally it's very expensive.
Overall i liked the hotel, especially the personnel and the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlyaKotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear OlyaKotik

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, our rooms do vary a little in size (due to our historic building) and views are hard to come by in the CBD.

Le Club Members that are silver level and above receive free internet which is a great benefit considering the program is free to sign up for!

I look forward to welcoming you back to South Australia in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice enough hotel, very friendly staff. Don't stay here if you're claustrophobic though! Had a mini panic attack walking down the extremely narrow hallways and into our tiny room with a small window that opened up to a brick wall. We are a young couple, and noticed that most guests were about 50+... If we come to Adelaide again (which we highly doubt, unless we all of a sudden acquire an interest in strippers and gambling) then we will probably stay at the hotel across the road...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Astridmagnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Astridmagnea

Thank you for your post. Our hotel offers great value and a comfortable option for travellers of all ages. I'm sorry that you weren't impressed by the size of our rooms (or Adelaide for that matter!) but I can assure you as someone who has lived in Adelaide twice now there is more to it than strippers and gambling.

Hopefully we get a chance to change your mind in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel rooms seems rather tired and in need of updating. Should no longer have to pay for Wifi - always free overseas. Also should not have to pay a surcharge for using a visa card for payment. Breakfast dreadfull and overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank margieforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Margieforsyth

Thank you for your post on TA.

As a historic mid-market hotel we have done and continue to do improvements on our product. I understand your feedback in relation to WIFI but note that you highlight 'overseas' - Australia is still some way from offering 'free' WIFI to all. Silver and above Accor Le Club members receive free internet at all Accor hotels which is a great benefit to being a Le Club Member.

Surcharges are not uncommon and Accor (at 1.5%) is much lower than other chains and service providers such as airlines. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your breakfast I will speak to the team members involved.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

One of the first times we have felt valued guests, all staff did everything to make your stay a pleasure. Food was excellent and reception staff most helpful, even called a cab as part of checkout without having to be asked. We would certainly make this our next stop in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stevej7448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Member

Thank you for your post, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share your positive experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#23 of 56 in Adelaide
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 56 in Adelaide
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 56 in Adelaide
2,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $102 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing