We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and comfortable, but some noise issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basic and comfortable, but some noise issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure Grosvenor for two nights in April 2013. The room was very small, the bathroom minute, but it was well-appointed, comfortable and did all it needed to do. It seemed that the room had been recently renovated as the bathroom fittings were very modern.

The restuarant was good and they do room service within limited hours. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The big negative issue I encountered was noise. I was there on Saturday and Sunday night, staying in a room on the fourth floor at the very back of the building. This overlooked a ground-level carpark surrounded by a number of buildings, one of which was used to house a very (and I mean very) loud bar/party/dance event of some kind on the Saturday night.

The noise from this went on until 3 or 4 am and was pretty awful.

The lesson is, I guess, that you need to ask for a room well away from the back of the building. It's a big hotel and there would have been many rooms quite far away from the noise (although I can't help thinking lots of rooms would have been affected). This is such a shame because in all other respects I would not hesitate to recommend this much-loved Adelaide establishment.

The noise did not occur on the Sunday night, so it might have been a one-off event, or it might only happen on some nights and not others. It'd be worth checking the location of your room, anyway.

Room Tip: Avoid the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
To Grahaminmelbourne

Thanks for your post on TA.

I am glad that you enjoyed our food and beverage outlets and the newly renovated bathrooms.

I am sorry that your noise was disturbed by external noise, our city location means that this happens on occasion although we do work with local venues and Council to limit this to midnight. Unfortunately this is not always achievable.

Given how positive the rest of your stay was I hope you'll give us another opportunity next time you need accommodation in Adelaide.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    714
    724
    358
    229
See reviews for
290
863
308
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Tha room was fine - bathroom very small. Hard to find things, e.g. jug in cupboard beside the ironing board.

Internet did not work properly (and could not get ehlp becuase I was alos on the phone). Fortunately, the hotel did not charge for the internet - much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank squirty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived hotel at 10am and the room was ready! What a good start! I booked the superior room wuth two queen beds. Room is big enough with sofas and table. Washroom is with basic amenities.

The spotlight is the great location of the hotel. It sits in the heart of the city. 1 mins walk from train station and tram station. The free tram rude bringsyou to rundle street and victoria square.

Internet is a bit expensive. $30 per day but with connection up to three devices.

Overall, i enjoy the stay in this hotel with the money i paid. Since i booked with the promotion price, i might not go with this hotel if the rate is higher.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Comfortable hotel with history and character. The location is close to public transport and the heart of Adelaide. This makes it ideally situated for both business and pleasure.
Check in was efficient and friendly. However, if you are looking for the modern glass and glitz I suggest another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bill4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Yes, the rooms have had some work done but the corridors are very institutional and needs a very good scrub! Its a place for the convenience of public transport and access to the arts and shopping precinct.Value only if the rooms are discounted otherwise the rack rates are far too high for what its worth.Good for business overnighters,short trips or stopovers....family,no.Rooms are comfortable for 1 and if there are 2 of you,you'd only want to be there for sleeping!
Mixed experience with staff,1 who thinks she was doing me a huge favour when checking me in but also had another who was more then helpful with my queries the next day.

Room Tip: Not much of a choice if you can't have the North Terrace facing rooms ...but I'd rather face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were coming down from central Australia to Melbourne. Booked a free night while on the road, at around 4 pm. It said King bed, but in the booking I explained that we needed two queen beds. This is what we got. Good room, excellent location, staff good. The carpark was full but we were directed to one nearby, no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The room was well appointed, clean, comfortable and absolutely fine. The hotel appeared to be in a great location on North Terrace, very handy for bars, clubs and eateries. Unfortunately, it turned out to be bit too handy! After dark, the surrounding area becomes very rowdy, with music from the nearby disco blasting out until the wee small hours of the morning, resulting in a fitful night's sleep of only a few hours. A real pity that the noise marred the stay as otherwise, it would have rated top marks all round.

Room Tip: I was in a room at the rear of the hotel which turned out to be closest to the late night clubs, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotfree53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing