We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beds, stay away from the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
adelaide
2 reviews
“Good beds, stay away from the food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stay at this hotel fairly frequently (a couple times a month). Its an older hotel and the rooms are all a bit quirky but generally OK - most of the beds are comfortable (a couple need replacing) and the bathrooms are adequate (a few a strange shapes though).
What I would warn against is eating there! It used to be fine, nothing special but good simple food. However last week the burger I got was a bit overly char grilled, I heard another table send their curries back because they were cold which I'd pass off as a poor night by the kitchen until I got a pizza the next night which, and while I can't be absolutely certain, made me very ill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Accor traveller

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor, I am sorry to hear that you were unwell.

Given that you stay with us regularly I would love to hear more of your feedback regarding the food that we offer and would welcome the chance to discuss whether we contributed to your being sick.

Typically food poisoning comes on within 8 hours which means guests are able to raise while they are at the hotel so we can investigate. Having recently transferred to this hotel I will check our records but we haven't had an allegation in the 3 months that I have been here.

My contact number is: 08 8407 8888 and I would welcome your call.


Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosevnor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    718
    732
    360
    232
See reviews for
292
869
309
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The economy rooms, whilst small, are fine for very short stays. However, they are incredibly noisy at night. The nearby clubs are booming and the bass just comes through the whole room. I could clearly hear what the DJs were saying and could sing along with the tunes if I wanted. I would definitely not stay here again on a weekend night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastFandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Trompette 77

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear that the room was noisy, we receive this feedback on occasion and we are trying to influence the businesses around us. Unfortunately our CBD location means that we do experience a little more noise that more regional locations however that means everything that Adelaide has to offer is on your doorstep in the morning.

I apologize for your experience and hope that we will have a better opportunity to serve you in the future.


Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosevnor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room we had was very small and cramped OK for overnight stay would not recomend for any longer periods, needs to be updated as it is old. Good points it was clean , it has a great location food and restaurant area was good other than that i could find a lot better places to stay at luckily i didn't have to pay for this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayden354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Jayden 354

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad that you liked our location, found the hotel to be clean and enjoyed the restaurant.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy our rooms but you will be pleased to hear that we are undergoing a rooms refurbishment as we speak which will dramatically improve our 4 star Mercure rooms.

I hope that you return to SA again soon and consider using the hotel.


Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosevnor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The great service at the reception desk deserves at least a four star rating as does its location at the edge of the city and walking distance to the river, places of attraction, cafes and restaurants. However, the room we stayed in, for which we paid extra for an upgrade, is more akin to a three star standard because it was older and in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLPnLBakaVOAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear MLPandLB

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the service your received at reception and also our great location close to everything that Adelaide has to offer.

Please allow me to apologize for your experience in our rooms. Pleasingly however we have begun our rooms refurbishment today which will modernise our bathrooms and improve our guest rooms. This will continue and be completed early in 2013.

I hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosevnor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Even though I am an Accor member, I would avoid coming to this hotel in future. While the rooms have been "updated" and are clean. The room I was placed in was a very odd shape which made it virtually unusable and it had very little natural light. With the TV fixed to the wall I had to lay on the bed to watch TV (very uncomfortable) or push the bed aside to get the only lounge chair down by the side of the bed. Surely the TV could be mounted on a swivel to be view from other parts of the room. The TV itself only showed programs in old standard width not wide screen and had a weak choice of channels. If you are going to offer pay TV where is the lifestyle and discovery channels. 3 channels of sport are good but don’t offer a complete package. Additionally this room was very noisy with paper thin walls. I could hear every conversation next door and in the hall way and with a number of teenagers staying that night, the conversation went on for a long time. Finally I entertained two work colleagues in the restaurant and I would have to say the menu selection was poor and then when the food came it was way too small. I ordered orange glazed chicken breast on Greek salad. I got three strips of meat and a scatter of some tiny leaves and orange segments across the plate. There was certainly more open space on the plate than food. I went back to m y room starving and my guests left unimpressed. I normally have a good experience with your hotels but this was ordinary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Kerbox

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. As a 90 year old building we do have some unusually shaped rooms which we have done our best to overcome. I note your point regarding the 'swivel' TV bracket and we will address this as we refurbish our guest rooms.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal and your guests were unimpressed. This is not typical of the feedback we receive regarding our food and I will pass this onto our Chef.

I hope that you will give us the opportuntity to better serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosevnor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing