We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room and en suite were really in need of refurbishment. Arrived after 19 hours of intercontinental flights at 11.00 simply to be told that the room wasn't ready and to get back in 1.5 hours. OK, the official check-in isn't until 2 pm, but when this happens in China, they make every effort to accommodate with refreshments and help. Broadband access on the day I arrived was at appallingly low speeds: took many mins to download a simply PDF. Asked at Reception, and apperently no-one else complained. However, the next day the speeds were better. The saving graces are that this is centrally-located, and that the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Dale S

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.

Given your feedback I am pleased to inform you that we begin a complete bathroom refurbishment program in October which will signficantly improve our en-suites. These works will also include key improvements in the guest bedrooms to further enhance our product.

I apologize that we weren't able to check you in early (presumably because we had been full the night before) however our staff should have provided better assistance.

I hope that you will allow us to better assist you in the future.


Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    714
    724
    358
    229
See reviews for
290
863
308
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

For the price I have had better accomodation at a backpackers. We stayed here on the recommendation of Captain Cook cruises because we were on the Murray River. There was blood on the bathroom floor, the shower doors were broker and the hair dryer didn't work. Our second visit on our return we had to upgrade to another room. Room wasn't cleaned by 3 in the afternoon, and we had to complain to get it done! Airconditioning was bad, as well, overpriced for what I would term a 2 star hotel, not the four they have suggested... I could go on but only 200 words allowed!

Room Tip: Dont stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Wendy

Thank you for your time on the phone earlier and again allow me to apologize for your experience during your trip to South Australia.

I have taken all of your feedback on board and we will continune to improve our offering based on your suggestions. Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The one positive is the great location a couple of blocks from Rundle Mall.

I paid $175 p/n through a conference which was about $100 too much for the standard of this old and tired hotel.

My room was just ok standard (my colleagues had rooms that were less quality). The bed was comfortable, but that was about it. Shower door was broken and TV was old box set. Breakfast was reasonable.

In summary, this hotel is definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Lozross

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and I apologize that the experience did not meet your expectations.

You are correct the hotel has a wonderful location close to all of Adelaide's facilities including Rundle Mall.

I am pleased to inform you that we begin a bathroom refurbishment in October which will significantly improve our bathrooms and key elements in the guest bedrooms.
TV's are also included with all rooms to receive 32" flat screen LCD sets beginning next month.

I hope that you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a convenient value for money hotel. Its seemed busy with small groups and lots of people but perhaps it because the reception area is small. The hotel is old but the room I stayed in was spacious and had new furnishings and the public areas were reasonably contemporary. Only other comments are that the windows in room were high up with shutters on outside and this made the room seem a little closed in and the walls to next door seemed a little thin but all in all an acceptable hotel.

The other handy thing is if you are having night out on the town their is a hairdresser right off hotel entrance offering great deals to hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear KJAD

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor.

I note that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the facilities met your needs.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Adelaide in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

the rooms were not bad the only thing is that the bathrooms were very tiny and were not designed pratically. sound proofing is required as the loud music from night clubs could be heard clearly till 5 am in the morning not good for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdciccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mdciccio

Thank you for your Trip Advisor post.

I appreciate your feedback and we definitely improving! We have an extensive rooms refurbishment beginning in October which wil improve the quality of our bathrooms in particular.

I will investigate which room you stayed in so we can assess the noise and if possible make contact with proprietor of the nightclub you refer too.

I hope to welcome you back to Adelaide in the future.


Warm Regards,

Ben Patten
General Manager
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#22 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing