We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, reliable 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed at the Mercure in August as part of a work trip, and chose a standard room, rate was very favorable at $125 a night.
Check in was smooth, and the lobby stylish and welcoming, room itself was spacious, and somewhat strangely shaped, with the bed in an alcove, then a desk and foyer area on the otherside of the bathroom which is in the middle of the room.
Old tiny CRT TV was the only downfall.
Not a bad choice of hotel, given the location, but I wouldn't expect any luxury, this is stock standard 3 star.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 2,337 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

We were very happy with front desk service.We were able to check in at 11 am which was good because we only had 1 day in Adelaide.The hotel was conveniently located close to tram stops and Rundle Mall.The main restaurant served good quality meals and a good full buffet breakfast.The staff in the restaurant and in the hotel generally were friendly and helpful.
While the hotel 's rooms are old they represent good value and are quite adequate for a short stay especially if you are out and about during the day and don't intend to spend lots of time in the room.
We will happily return to the Grosvenor on our next trip to Adelaide.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groberts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay at the Mercure Grosvenor hotel.

We were please to read you had received such friendly service from the hotels staff, and were able to check in at 11am.
Our staff pride themselves on the service they provide, and feedback such as yours serves as great encouragement.

I agree the hotel is centrally located, close to Rundle street mall, Adelaide Casino, Adelaide Oval, and the Tram which runs through the center of Adelaide city on its way the Glenelg.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide SA
1
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I needed somewhere to stay after a work Xmas Dinner in the city as I didn't want to drink & drive. The Economy room suited my budget & was exactly what I expected from the description on the net - excellent value clean & tidy. The staff were friendly & quick checking me in & out. A great location opposite the railway station & casino close to Hindley St, Rundle Mall & Elder Park Self car parking below hotel very convenient & reasonbly priced. I would have no hesitation staying there again

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed in Melbourne for three weeks and took a side trip to Adelaide . Stayed in this hotel for three nights. Check in was friendly and room was clean and had all the basics, althoug we could have done with a bath. Dinig was expensive but there is an Italian restaurant just along the road, to the right as you exit the hotel, which serves good breakfasts. Only down side to our room was the noise of the main Aircon units outside between the wings of the hotel. Double glazing would be very beneficial. Position was great--right on North Terrace, and only five minutes walk from the Botanic gardens and Rundle Mall. Sky bus stops right outside as do all the tours.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsleOfWightCaulkhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback on your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that most of your comments were positive regarding the location and service you experienced.

I was concerned to read you had noise issues with our air conditioning systme and this is being investigated with our Maintenance team. Please also note we do have some rooms with baths and these can be requested at any time during the reservation or check in.

Thank you again and I hope we get the opportunity to host you again at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide.

Sincerely,

Grant Parnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
11
Reviewed November 24, 2011

love the services great staff very frendly lovely brealfast will come again central in the city hoping to come over next year with a few guest for a family reuion hope to try one of your other rooms

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

On a business trip, one night stopover you don't need much, but to enter a room with two small windows which have been frosted over to obscure whatever was outside and bolted shut, a fan system form the 70's (aircon ??) and have to pay what I did - never again, rather a backpackers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding you recent stay at the Mercure Grosvenor Hotel.

We were sorry to read your disappointment with the frosted windows, unfortunately we have had to frost these window for your own privacy as some of the hotel rooms look in to light wells, and there is a potential other guest would be able to look into your room. We decided that the frosting was the better option to ensure guest privacy, please accept our sincere apologies.

We also took note of your comments regarding the opening of windows, the windows have been limited to the height they can be opened in the interest of safety to our guest, we are again sorry for any disappointment this has caused you.

We appreciate and thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My elderly mother and I stayed at the Mercure Grosvenor which is located about a 10 minute walk to the Mall in the CBD. We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable although staying on the top floor, during a heat wave the air conditioning was not effective. The staff were helpful with directions and offered suggestions for sight seeing. One downside was the in house restaurant was located up a flight of stairs with no lift access, impossible for elderly mother to get to, but the staff served us in the downstairs bar, which was fine but not as nice as the surroundings in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyenough55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 55 in Adelaide
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 55 in Adelaide
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#19 of 55 in Adelaide
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $79 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing