We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location,old hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location,old hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is in a great location - across the road is the railway and the Glenelg/Entertainment Centre tram stops right outside. Its a short walk to Rundl Mall and the entertrainment district of Rundle Street. The room was a Standard, which was small and it was easy to see that the hotel is old and become dated compared its neighbours. We stayed here for sentimental reasons, being our wedding night hotel. But after 27 years it didn't appear to have been updated. We're not sure it falls into budget accommodation, but that's what it feels like. Staff were friendly at the front desk. Underground carpark, although small is bonus, but cost $18 a night. The hotel seemed to have a lot of guests and was pretty busy with "retirees" at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank world_trip_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide. We would also like to which you a Happy Anniversary and appologise if the room let you down.
We agree the hotels location is conveniently located with the tram stopping almost on our door step, we are also a short walk to Adelaide oval.
We last refurbished the hotel rooms in 2007 and our economy sections refurbishment was just completed in September of this year. We continue to work with our maintenance team to improve the quality and ambience of the entire hotel.
Thank you again for sharing your experience we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    707
    720
    356
    226
See reviews for
286
852
307
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Grosvenor in Adelaide's North Terrace is an old-style hotel with old-style rooms. Very good location, close to shops and train and tram stations.. Reasonable value for money. Front desk staff at check-in not very friendly however staff at check out were more pleasant

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide, we were very disappointed to read the greeting you received on arrival was so poor. Here at the Mercure our front desk staff pride themselves on the service they provide our valued guests, the poor guest service you received is not to our normal high standards.
We were very happy to read you received better service on departure and hope this in some way made up for the poor start.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Nice enough, comfortable but could do with a bit of a makeover. Shower screen fell apart.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel was very very noisy. The walls are paper thin and there is an air-conditioner/ liftwell that you can hear all night. I called reception because I thought there was drilling downstairs! I am usually a very deep sleeper but still couldn't get in any sleep here.

On the upside though - at least I went for a run because I couldn't sleep! :)

I'm sure this hotel will be fine if you have some good noise cancellation head phones.

Oh and also, there are big pillars which run down the corridoors, so it feels like a bit of a prison (not that I have ever stayed in prison).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Grosvenor. It was disappointing to read your sleep was disrupted by noise from the hotels air-conditioning system. Our maintenance team are investigating some form of barrier to alleviate any noise caused be the air conditioning.
I have also noted your comments about the pillars and agree they do take up some space in the hallways. Unfortunately the pillars are a vital part of the hotels structure and cannot be removed, we like to think they add some character on the journey to your room.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Horrible noise-proofing in the economic room even with closed window. The bathroom window should have easier access instead o using a chair in the wet shower to reach it, it is kind o dangerous. Aside Horrible noise-proofing in the economic room even with closed window. The bathroom window should have easier access instead o using a chair in the wet shower to reach it, it is kind o dangerous. Even though the price is cheap for a neat little room or a night or so, I will not stay in the economic rooms unless I have no other options or they have fixed the above problems.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghadelaide, Front Office Manager at Mercure Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We appreciate the feedback you have supplied to us from your recent stay at the Mercure Grosvenor Hotel Adelaide.
We are sorry to hear noise from outside disrupted your sleep, we are actively trying to find a solution to minimize the disruption.
We acknowledge the placement of the windows in the economy rooms bathrooms could be better however to rectify this a great deal of structural work will be required, please rest assured however of maintenance team are trying to find an easier solution to the problem.
We sincerely appologise for any discomfort caused, and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

A great place to stay. v The hotel is very central to the cbd and opposite the railway station. The staff were always helpful and nice. The room was comfortable and clean and I was very pleased with my choice to stay at this hotel. It was value all round.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HugMcMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Reception staff excellent. Service excellent. Good bed and clean room, decor a bit dated. Parking adequate but cheap. Location central. Would stay there again. it is stupid to put a minimum limit on the length of a review. Try changing to a maximum.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.0 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Mercure Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 125 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located opposite Adelaide Casino in the heart of the cultural boulevard of North Terrace. Offering a wide variety of room types that fits the needs and budgets of all travellers. All rooms have fluffy feather duvets and pillows, modern and stylish furniture, slim lined LCD televisions in most rooms and broadband internet throughout. Hotel facilities also include the Federal Restaurant and Bar, 24-hour reception and room service, parking and internet kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grosvenor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing