We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chifley on South Terrace
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well located hotel not far from the city centre. You can take the free tram from about one block away its a 15 minute walk.
The staff were very friendly and helpful with tips and advice.

Rooms are ok for the price,although in need of an update. Pool is very pleasant and free parking a big plus.

The only minus is the cost of the wifi. Very expensive at $20 for a day. Why can't it be free?!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Jah13
Thanks for staying and reviewing your recent experience of our hotel.
Your comments have been shared amongst the team and we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Unfortunately we are unable to offer Free Wifi at this time as the service is contracted to a third party who set the pricing. We are currently in the process of reviewing this arrangement as this facility has changed greatly since the current contract was entered into. In the meantime however there are packages which are available in shorter time and overall useage blocks which may represent better value for our guests. Reception and the Wifi website are both able to assist guests in this regard.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Chifley on South Terrace for 5 days at the beginning of February. We were so happy with our stay, we returned for one night before leaving Adelaide. Easy ride to/from the airport. We asked for a room away from the lift as I had read on T.A. that it was noisy at night. We were given a lovely room midcorridor, no problem with the lift at all. Overlooking the parkland with lovely views. The balcony isnt a single one, it goes all the way round the hotel, so important to keep your light curtains closed when people may be having a stroll around! Lovely pool area. The bar itself is no longer open, but the Grand Chifley next door has a bar and restaurant open in the evenings. Very reasonable Fasta Pasta a few steps away with good food. 10 mins walk to Central Market, and free trams into town only minutes away on King William St.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corndolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Corndolly
Thank you for the review on your recent stays with us. I am pleased you enjoyed our property and facilities and I have commended the hotel team and passed the review on for their reading as well.
We also believe our parklands location is the ideal place from which to explore the many attractions around Adelaide and the FREE city CBD is a great way to get around.
We look forward to welcoming you back should you be returning to Australia and Adelaide in the future (possibly to escape the notorious English winter weather...)
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A throwback to the 70's - this hotel needs a complete faclift.......no bar.......no restaurant and ridiculous prices. Even the staff were apologetic about the facilities. Dirty rooms, needs a good clean and a coat of paint - the decor is right out of the 70's and 80's.Will not stay here again!

Room Tip: If you want a good room and a great hotel - stay somewhere else. Rated 4 stars but more like 2!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GPhotelstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear GPhotelstay
I am sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us.
Our Restaurant and Bar operations are clearly displayed on the hotel and other listed websites, although we do understand your comments regarding the bar and restaurant for dinner. We are currently persuing several options to facilitiate the re-opening of these areas in the near future and anticipate an announcement in this regard soon. Our sister property next door, Grand Chifley Adelaide, also has a restaurant and bar and Chifley on South Terrace guests are welcome to use these and charge the account back to their rooms.
Our guest satisfaction surveys (we encourage all guests to rate us either through the online option on our website or via the guest surveys in the room) currently show over 83% satisfaction in room cleanliness and 79% for room comfort. These scores are generally seen as a good result throughout the industry however we are also being proactive in our efforts to improve.
We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and would welcome you contacting me at the hotel to further discuss the points you have raised.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Continental breakfast only, the bar was closed all weekend - no explanation as to why.
Its quite a dark, old, tired place screaming for renovation.
Shower over bath, someones hair on towel (not ours) eeew! Toilet rust coloured at bottom - eeeew!
Foxtel instructions with remote - foxtel was a blur & unwatchable! Ch7 - unwatchable too.
Rooms were quite big, great block out curtains kept room dark in morning.
Air conditioner kept us awake first night with clunking, clicking noises. Went without air con rest of our stay - just too noisy!
Fasta Pasta next door - easy quick dinners/lunch.

Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wheretonext500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear wheretonext500
I am sorry you do not appear to have enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, our bar and restaurant are not open for dinner at the moment, as is clearly displayed on our own and other listed websites for the hotel. Guests are welcome to use the restaurant and bar facilities of our sister property next door and charge the account back to their room.
Airconditioning is currently being upgraded throughout the property with all rooms having individual reverse cycle units fitted. This program will be completed by the end of March.
We are also in the process of upgrading our television reception due to the Digital changeover happening for the Adelaide area on April 2nd 2013. We have already noticed an improvement in the free to air channels.
We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and have reminded all departments to be vigilant in their areas to ensure hotel standards are met.
I would welcome you contacting me at the hotel to further discuss your stay and thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed only one night to see a Fringe show, was the perfect location. Free parking for 2 cars only few minutes to tram. Really excellent value for money booked on Wotif last minute.
Had good air con rooms were clean, had a mini bar tea coffee making.
The only down fall was after 11PM lift was out of action so had to use stairs :-)

Room Tip: Also had a pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colette287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Colette287
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to review us for others.
How great is the Adelaide Fringe! It is absolutely unique in my experience and offers a wonderful opportunity to stay away from home for a night as you have, so thanks also for choosing our hotel to do so.
Speaking of air-conditioners, we are approximately 90% through the install which when completed will ensure all of our rooms have individual reverse cycle airconditioning. It appears you have been one of the lucky first at our property where the old "central air conditioning system" has been switched off to a particular room/floor and you have been able to control the temperature to your own liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit and also recommend checking out our own hotel website for all the latest amazing deals.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I decided last minute to book a night away for our 22nd wedding anniversary. I decided on The Chifley because it had onsite parking, pool and good value prices. I read the reviews a little apprehensively and was concerned about the lift and reported noise. We ended up in an executive room which was nice. My side of the mattress was okay my husbands was way to soft with a heavy indentation. In saying that we have slept on worse at 5 star hotels and resorts. We were in room 413 and heard no lift noise. Although when you travel in it, it is certainly a clunker. The hotel is showing its age and a bit of tlc would make it top class in my opinion. As it is we enjoyed our stay. We have 5 children and do not get timeouts very often. The pool was great as we are currently in a hot spell redecoration of the pool area, matching umbrellas and aesthetic decoration would make this pool fantastic rather than great and refreshing. the staff were extremely pleasant, not a grump amongst them. The current deal of $10 breakfasts was nice and good start to our day. We will be back with the kids they will love the pool.

Room Tip: rooms that end higher than 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daliro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Daliro
Congratulations on your 22nd Anniversary - a real milestone - and thank you for spending it with us.
I have asked housekeeping to inspect the mattress in the room you occupied and to exchange it as soon as possible. We apologise for any discomfort experienced by either you or your husband in this regard.
The pool is indeed a lovely area of our property. New umbrella's are currently being considered along with a range of other shade options for the pool area and hopefully we will have these installed in the very near future.
The $10 Deluxe Continetal Breakfast is indeed a lovely way to start the day without overloading on sausage, eggs and bacon (as I am always tempted to do when taking breakfast in hotels).
We look forward to welcoming you back with all your children when next you stay and I would suggest ringing prior to booking to make enquiry about a family room (2 x interconnecting rooms for a discounted price) to accommodate you all comfortably.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in our own city as we were off to a show at the Entertainment Centre. A short stroll (5 minutes) to the tram that takes you into the heart of Adelaide, and onto the Entertainemnt Centre made no carparks to contend with.
Parking at The Chifley was free and very easy to access. Checking in and leaving was a speedy process, and all staff were extremely polite and helpful. The pool looked very inviting, but alas, we didn't have time to use it.
Breakfast in the Kurrajong was a continental brekky, with fresh fruit cereal and toast with pancakes and danishes. The coffee machine was great, double expresso for me was a great start to the day! Will stay here again, even though I live only 30 minutes away, it was very handy to all we needed and saved a drive home after a show in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fan4collingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi fan4collingwood
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your short break at home. I am a huge fan of being a tourist in my own city and always find it so much fun. It sounds like you enjoyed your experience as well and even took a trip on the tram to really make the most of it.
Thank you for your lovely comments which I have shared with our teams whom we also feel do a marvelous job. I'm not sure about the "double" espresso to start the day, however we certainly understand the importance of having a nice coffee AND its included in the cost of your breakfast without having to dig deeper into the pocket. That also leaves a nice taste I reckon(heheh)!
With the hot weather over the last couple of days and March still in front of us, I do hope you will have the opportunity to come back again soon and experience the pool you missed out on this time.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide
#24 of 55 in Adelaide
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Soho
Clarion Hotel Soho
#36 of 55 in Adelaide
43 reviews
1 mi away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#30 of 55 in Adelaide
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.4 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley on South Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley on South Terrace

Address: 226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range: $74 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chifley on South Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Chifley on South Terrace, we have found just the right balance of convenience and comfort, never sacrificing one for the other. Just a stone's throw away are popular places like Adelaide Central Market, Victoria Square and South Parklands. And right in the comfort of your room, unlimited Wi-Fi, cable programming, minibars and room service for inroom dining if you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chifley on South Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley On South Terrace Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing