We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princes Lodge Motel
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2010

The location of this place is great. It's a lovely, quiet area. We had a car and there was adequate parking at the rear of the building. But without a car I think this location would be a nuisance as it's a bit far out of town.

It is a lovely big old house, but the rooms are dated. The small bathroom had a shower, mirror & toilet. But the hand basin was in the bedroom! This was really annoying! And the toilet was tucked alongside the shower, with not very much room either side. So I don't think larger people would be able to use the toilet comfortably. There was a desk & chairs in the room, which were adequate.

We stayed two nights and only dealt with one staff member. He was courteous and helpful. The continental breakfast was lovely.

Our room was equipped with a very old air conditioner. It really wasn't adequate for Adelaide's hot summers.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tristesse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2009

Nice place, helpful desk, decent location (need a car). Pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seththegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The Princes Lodge Motel (more like a B&B than a motel) is, I concede, budget accommodation. However, I paid the bargain basement price of $AU63.00 per night for a basic room with simple continental breakfast! Sure the rooms are old, pokey and rather Spartan. But, the PL was clean, the staff pleasant and the location superb. The Princes Lodge is located in the heritage area of North Adelaide. The main building would have been a stylish house in its’ day. The ‘Coach House’ is also converted to several guestrooms. The Princes Lodge is only a 5-10 minute walk to the restaurant and pub strip in O’Connell Street. You would need to arrive by taxi or private vehicle as the PL is located a couple of blocks from public transport. In summary, the PL is far from 5 stars – but it is no Backpackers either. If you want to stay in a really nice area of Adelaide at a cheap price and are not expecting too much, the PL is worth a try.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprintlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Princes Lodge is an old converted house on the far north end of Adelaide. If you don't have a car (which we did not), I'd stay closer in to town because it's a longish walk especially with luggage and buses aren't running all that frequently. The place is shabby, rundown, it could do with some new or reupholstered furniture. It's like the owners just don't care that the stuffing is coming out. It's just tacky and gives an overall unkempt, unclean feeling. Also, the owners/front desk people are persnickety to deal with--we made one local call, and tried to make another but it did not go through, but they charged us for both. It's a little thing--but it didn't set well. The people tending the front desk are a string of characters--friends or relatives of the owners?--and they are not really helpful or dilligent in their duties. Not a great value for the price. Next time, I'll definitely stay someplace else.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MaggieP6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2006

Location, location, location! I urge anyone visiting Adelaide to stay in the charming North Adelaide area. There is a free shuttle bus that goes downtown on the half hour and a long street of restaurants, banks, etc. for evening dining. This is not the only place to stay in the area, in fact, it's a bit downmarket, but I can't recommend the area enough.
As for Princes Lodge, the room had a tiny kitchen and eating area and a small bathroom (which wasn't remarkably clean). No cable TV--for that matter, only the large downtown hotels I stayed in had cable and that was very limited--not at all what we have come to expect in the US. The price was right, breakfast was decent, and the staff was most helpful. Also, most tours would pick me up at the door.

4  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
110
Reviewed January 5, 2005

I recently stayed at the Princes Lodge Motel in Adelaide. I chose the motel as it was in the budget end of the market and it was close to Adelaide's Womens and Childrens Hospital.

I was pleasantly surprised at the standard of fit of my room, which had been renovated recently. The manager was friendly and she made me feel welcome.

I would recommend this motel as great value, particularly for the person who wants a personal atmosphere and a pleasant setting for their stay.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pour plus de calme chambre sur le jardin
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Maryse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
581 reviews
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#27 of 56 in Adelaide
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Lodge Motel

Address: 73 Lefevre Tce | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $68 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Princes Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a grand private residence converted to motel style accommodation The Princes Lodge Motel is a unique place to stay. We offer clean and comfortable rooms for single travellers, couples and families. All room rates include a modest buffet style continental breakfast in the dining room and we have space to park vehicles free of charge. We are only 2 kilometres from the CBD with many transport options to get you there including the free commuter bus that leaves from a stop only 300 meters from the front door. If you choose to walk you will pass historic homes and can take in the vista of the city and Lake Torrens that the elevation of North Adelaide offers.The main house is two stories accessed by an impressive staircase rising from reception. A balcony on the first floor has views across parklands to the Adelaide Hills. Our guest lounge offers a place to relax with a good book or one of our many magazines. During summer our rose garden is in bloom and our rear garden offers a shady spot to relax.Your Hosts David and Andrew look forward to welcoming you when you are next in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Princes Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing