We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Princes Lodge Motel
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

For the price we paid, and central location, this provides value for money. However, I was kept awake by people on the top floor moving a lot through the night, and as we're not used to noise of aircraft, being in the direct line of flights coming into and leaving Adelaide, I found it wasn't a peaceful night's rest for us. If you're not expecting five-star accommodation (décor in our rooms very dated), this Motel has a lot going for it. The park opposite is fabulous for children. I felt like I was staying with relatives, so friendly and helpful was the stand-in manager. This place has a homely feel. Building has plenty of character, loved the staircase.

Room Tip: our room was downstairs, unfortunately we had a lot of noise from people staying on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juden69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    67
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
57
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Staying at the Princes Lodge was a real pleasure, very comfortable, and managed by helpful people. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and couldn't really find fault for the price. I would highly recommend to anybody looking for a pleasant weekend in Adelaide.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel, for the weekend we went to soundwave and couldn't have been happier with our choice, it had a very antique feel, very homey and the rooms were massive and exceptionally clean. Also it was a short bus ride into Central Adelaide, extremely good value for money, would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is unbeatable value for money. An old manor house with high ceilings and wide corridors in amongst a row of Adelaide's finest mansions. Great views of the parkland opposite from most of the rooms. The thick walls help keep the noise down at night though a small amount comes in from the street - not enough to bother me. The owners were very helpful in providing maps and directions. Highly recommend this relaxed accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerninglaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are happy to offer comfortable clean accommodation that is good value only a short distance from Adelaide CBD, the new Adelaide Oval and plenty of places to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Let's start with some features I personally enjoyed: The continental breakfast saves having to look for food on your way out, and features delicious bread, cereals and un-homogenised milk! And there's a very friendly atmosphere in the dining room: people talk to each other!

The welcome at the front desk was vigorous, friendly and helpful. Taxis were no problem. Very responsive service.

The bed is to die for. I meant to look to see what brand of mattress is in use because it is more comfortable than the mattress I have at home, and spent a lot on that because I like my comfort. This is the most comfortable hotel bed I have had anywhere, at any price!

Of course I could have done without the "No Refunds" policy, but it was my own silly fault that I booked one day more than I needed. You don't get the money back! And it would be nice if the hotel would print a receipt when you check out: makes it easier to claim back the expenses. The hotel argument is that the tax invoice you get from the booking service is sufficient, and includes the fees and charges from the booking.

This hotel bills itself as a three-star, and I am reviewing it as such. It appears expensive for a 3-star until you look at the comparable rates in Adelaide. Hotels are a little more expensive than they are in some parts of the country, and the Princess is in a very central location.

This hotel was built in 1913 and is being carefully restored. The quality of the restoration is such that I instantly felt I had walked in to an hotel from the 1950's/60's (I'm old, I remember them!). However, some compromises have been made: the lumpy bed-springs, bathroom at the end of the corridor, and lack of airconditioning are gone!

Some of the constraints of the original architecture have to be worked around: the room is "small" because Queen beds were not around in those days, and the inclusion of an ensuite bathroom has taken that space out of what was originally a generous room.

I was amused to discover that the handbasin was in the room instead of in the bathroom -- that's the way it always used to be, there was a handbasin on the room (but the bathroom used to be at the end of the corridor...)

Adelaide has one of the widest temperature variations in Australia, nearly 46 degrees, so buildings before airconditioning were designed with high ceilings to allow the heat to dissipate. In the Princess Lodge the ceilings are nearly 4 metres high (the current Australian standard is 2.4 metres).

The Princess has airconditioning: a through-the-wall unit that is noisy but effective! Speaking of noise: this hotel is EXACTLY aligned with the runway at Adelaide airport: the aircraft will go over very low. The first plane goes over about a quarter to seven, you won't need your alarm clock!

The large park with horses grazing across the road gives the area a lovely ambience.

This is a great chance to experience the way hotels used to be, with the discomforts removed {Grin!}

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if traffic noise worries you, ask for the ground floor if aircraft noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMcGhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in a massive family room at the back of the property, it was clean and comfortable and good value for the price. The owners are renovating at the moment and eventually this will be an excellent property. The main house is lovely and well renovated. Also a nice continental breakfast was included with the tariff.

Room Tip: family room sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you Trish for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are part way through our freshen up with painting of common areas nearly complete. It is an ongoing project with minimal impact on our guests. Our grand lady will look not so tired very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Motel is situated facing a park - not green when we were there as it was so hot! - but gives an air of spaciousness which one wouldn't get in a centrally situated city hotel. Our room was at the front, therefore looking out onto the park, but the downside to this was that it could be noisy with the traffic at times. There is also a shady garden at the back which is a good place to sit.
Internet availability was convenient - & worked! - although not free, the $6 for 24 hours was hardly expensive.Andrew was so helpful to us - we were most grateful for the huge help that we were given.

Room Tip: Back facing will be quieter but not such a good view - if that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GwenCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#17 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#37 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Regal Park
Comfort Inn Regal Park
#22 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Lodge Motel

Property: Princes Lodge Motel
Address: 73 Lefevre Tce | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Princes Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a grand private residence converted to motel style accommodation The Princes Lodge Motel is a unique place to stay. We offer clean and comfortable rooms for single travellers, couples and families. All room rates include a modest buffet style continental breakfast in the dining room and we have space to park vehicles free of charge. We are only 2 kilometres from the CBD with many transport options to get you there including the free commuter bus that leaves from a stop only 300 meters from the front door. If you choose to walk you will pass historic homes and can take in the vista of the city and Lake Torrens that the elevation of North Adelaide offers.The main house is two stories accessed by an impressive staircase rising from reception. A balcony on the first floor has views across parklands to the Adelaide Hills. Our guest lounge offers a place to relax with a good book or one of our many magazines. During summer our rose garden is in bloom and our rear garden offers a shady spot to relax.Your Hosts David and Andrew look forward to welcoming you when you are next in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Princes Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing